SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Class Reviews > Sarah Veblen's Sewing Retreat

Virginia, UNITED STATES
Viewed 5443 times
Posted by: NancyGT
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About NancyGT star
USA
Member since: 1/10/05
Reviews written: 10
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
classes reviewed: 2
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 4/2/07 8:24 PM
Rating: starstarstar
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   Very Helpful by 6 people   
Web site/URL: photo
What a treat! Sewing with 8 other ladies in a casual but dedicated setting and working on what ever you want! Many ladies were very advanced: putting the final touches on sheath dress and jacket ensemble in plaid - with lots of custom touches; remaking a vintage pattern with personal changes; form fitting specific patterns. I took a fitting pattern and ended with a sloper for bodice, skirt, and pants! Thrilled. Also, a pair of slim fit pants, lots of ideas about more pants, tips on a the wrap dress; how to fit. Everyone left with a great idea about personal fit and ideas for more clothes. Sarah is a gentle, patient teacher with a great eye, gentle guiding touch, and a love of teaching. If you can take a hands on class with her, RUN straight to it!

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Sewing Class Review    Read All Sewing Class Reviews


7 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
MelissaB in WA said...
Sounds like a fun time!
4/3/07 1:03 AM
vasallese said...
Where was this class? How do you find out about others?
4/3/07 7:11 AM
krystalkaes said...
Oh, How exciting for you! Fitted slopers just for you. :-) I have been very impressed with Sarah Veblen and her teaching and work.
4/3/07 2:08 PM
Marji said...
I notice that you've listed a number of patterns for sale, since this retreat. Is this coincidental, or did you review a lot on fitting and style and pattern suitability and you are now purging?
4/3/07 3:16 PM
NancyGT said...
The class is found on Sarah's website: she offers a few classes each year and does one on one instruction which I think would be great. I listed a number of patterns which I have carried from house to house for the last 15 years thinking that I would use them. Now with the sloper, I will be able to make up my own patterns. Also, I am now a completely different size (small surprise after 15 yrs!).
4/4/07 7:14 AM
Autumn Star said...
Thanks Nancy for tking the time to write up your experience in such detail.
10/6/07 8:58 AM
Menabug said...
I very much interested in taking sewing lessons. Can you please forward me her information? I live in the VA area and having a hard time finding a sewing class. Thanks
12/3/07 3:54 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

Register

Petite Plus 604 Pattern

Petite Plus 604 Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Salsa Blouse Pattern

Sewing Workshop Salsa Blouse Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.