SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Class Reviews > Sarah Veblen's Sewing Retreat

Virginia, UNITED STATES
Viewed 5378 times
Posted by: NancyGT
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About NancyGT star
USA
Member since: 1/10/05
Reviews written: 10
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
classes reviewed: 2
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 4/2/07 8:24 PM
Rating: starstarstar
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   Very Helpful by 6 people   
Web site/URL: photo
What a treat! Sewing with 8 other ladies in a casual but dedicated setting and working on what ever you want! Many ladies were very advanced: putting the final touches on sheath dress and jacket ensemble in plaid - with lots of custom touches; remaking a vintage pattern with personal changes; form fitting specific patterns. I took a fitting pattern and ended with a sloper for bodice, skirt, and pants! Thrilled. Also, a pair of slim fit pants, lots of ideas about more pants, tips on a the wrap dress; how to fit. Everyone left with a great idea about personal fit and ideas for more clothes. Sarah is a gentle, patient teacher with a great eye, gentle guiding touch, and a love of teaching. If you can take a hands on class with her, RUN straight to it!

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Sewing Class Review    Read All Sewing Class Reviews


7 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
MelissaB in WA said...
Sounds like a fun time!
4/3/07 1:03 AM
vasallese said...
Where was this class? How do you find out about others?
4/3/07 7:11 AM
krystalkaes said...
Oh, How exciting for you! Fitted slopers just for you. :-) I have been very impressed with Sarah Veblen and her teaching and work.
4/3/07 2:08 PM
Marji said...
I notice that you've listed a number of patterns for sale, since this retreat. Is this coincidental, or did you review a lot on fitting and style and pattern suitability and you are now purging?
4/3/07 3:16 PM
NancyGT said...
The class is found on Sarah's website: she offers a few classes each year and does one on one instruction which I think would be great. I listed a number of patterns which I have carried from house to house for the last 15 years thinking that I would use them. Now with the sloper, I will be able to make up my own patterns. Also, I am now a completely different size (small surprise after 15 yrs!).
4/4/07 7:14 AM
Autumn Star said...
Thanks Nancy for tking the time to write up your experience in such detail.
10/6/07 8:58 AM
Menabug said...
I very much interested in taking sewing lessons. Can you please forward me her information? I live in the VA area and having a hard time finding a sewing class. Thanks
12/3/07 3:54 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Candice

Candice

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Haiku Two Pattern

Sewing Workshop Haiku Two Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.