SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > "Post-it" pad as seam guide

Viewed 5867 times
Posted by: Everyday Sewist
photo

 
 
About Everyday Sewist star
USA
Member since: 9/14/02
Reviews written: 51
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 18 people
tips added: 3
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 2/25/03 5:22 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 6 people   Very Helpful by 43 people   
Featured in the PR book!
I found this tip on one of the sewing or quilting newsgroups (sorry, I don't remember which one.)

I have read about the benefit of using a seam guide for sewing accurate seams. But the only type I could find was a magnetic square that you place on the machine. I was concerned that placing such a strong magnet on my computerized machine would ruin it.

I've also used tape to mark seam allowances on my machine, but it left a gummy residue.

The small Post-It pad is a good alternative. It is about the same size as the magnetic guides you can purchase. The raised edge works better than tape to help you control the fabric, and the sticky surface does not leave a gummy residue.

To use the Post-It pad as a seam guide, remove the brown backing from the bottom of the pad. Stick it on your needle plate wherever it is needed. You can easily re-position it. Eventually, it loses some of its stickiness. If this happens, just peel off the bottom sheet and you have a fresh new adhesive surface.

I just made a skirt using the Post-It pad as a seam guide and it really did help keep my seams more accurate.


<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


22 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Mel.J said...
This is a great idea! Thanks for sharing the tip.
2/25/03 9:53 PM
Celeste said...
What an excellent suggestion for these wonderful little notes I would never be without!!
2/26/03 0:57 AM
Rustybobn said...
Hmm. This would work nicely for those times when I want to stitch at, say 1.25", which isn't marked on my machine. Also, some of my machines are plastic or aluminum and magnets won't stick anyway. Thanks for a great tip!
2/26/03 12:00 PM
SouthernStitch said...
You know I'd heard this tip before, but I was thinking ONE post it note. Using the book is a much better idea!
2/27/03 10:15 PM
eleda said...
Betty, I used your tip last night when I was doing hems on two LH Boat Neck Tops. The hems for the sleeves were so much easier to do with this method. Thanks for the tip.
2/28/03 1:59 AM
Koushite said...
Thanks for clarifying this great idea. I'd heard of it before, but couldn't quite see how it would be that helpful. Now that you've mentioned using the entire pad as an edge, it makes complete sense. I've always been annoyed that my computerized machine couldn't take a seam guide, since really stratight seams are must. Now that problem's solved. Thanks again.
3/3/03 5:08 PM
Lorna C. Newman said...
A pad of post its is definitely cheaper than the stick on seam guide I bought years ago. The raised edge is great too. Great for jotting down notes for your reviews too as you sew...
3/10/03 11:46 AM
MScellaneous said...
Great idea. I have a new computerized machine and was concerned about using a magnet. My old machine had a guide that screwed into the sewing table. I always used it. Thanks.
3/21/03 10:46 PM
Penny Carlson said...
I love this idea! My machine has a seam guide, but in order to use it, I have to remove my extension table. So this is easy and convenient. Thanks!
5/1/03 2:27 AM
Lucha said...
Thanks for the tip!
11/28/03 0:36 AM
Annette H said...
Brilliant tip - thanks!
3/24/04 5:23 PM
Noile said...
Great tip -- I'm currently sewing on an unfamiliar machine, and this will make life a lot easier. I gave up on tape, too -- just too messy!
9/12/04 0:00 AM
JDpenelope said...
Good tip! I'll try it instead of painters tape--the raised edge would be an advantage.
12/2/04 7:36 AM
Ying said...
Thanks for this tip. When I was in a quilting class, a fellow student gave me some cut-up sticker form core to help me sew accurate seams. The post-it pads should work the same!
5/20/05 12:12 PM
GuriFB said...
This is a great tip! thanks
11/28/05 3:14 AM
Karla Kizer said...
I'm glad that Guri brought this tip up again. I've been using a Post-it pad for this purpose quite a bit since Betty first wrote this; it's especially handy for unusual width seams and topstitching. I had some trouble getting my Post-its to cooperate until I realized that 3M has gotten very stingy with the glue. To get enough stick-em on the notes, try buying the ones that say they are extra-sticky. In fact, they seem to be just what old Post-its were....but then, look at what's happened to toilet paper rolls, too. :(
11/28/05 6:17 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
I'm so glad this came up again. I had missed it the first time. I've used individual post-its for seam allowances, but this is a GREAT idea! -Ann
11/28/05 7:19 AM
Georgene said...
Yep, one of the top 10 tips of all time! This has helped in a number of 'sticky' situations.
11/28/05 9:25 AM
OP Gal said...
I just ran across a reference to this tip. I'm going to try this one.
12/6/06 5:58 AM
Fabienne301 said...
Simple and excellent idea!
5/6/08 6:35 AM
Annette1 said...
This is a great idea! I can't wait to try it. :o) Thanks!
1/2/09 9:56 PM
Gendun said...
Very helpful! Thank you SO much. :)
3/5/13 0:47 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Petite Plus V202 VHS

Petite Plus V202 VHS

Buy Now
Favorite Things Little Sleep Well Pattern

Favorite Things Little Sleep Well Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.