SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Changing Rotary Blades

Viewed 5222 times
Posted by: Mary Stiefer
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Mary Stiefer starstarstarstar
CO USA
Member since: 2/17/03
Reviews written: 169
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 36 people
tips added: 27
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 4/17/07 11:19 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people   Very Helpful by 14 people   
Web site/URL: photo
Featured in the PR book!
I am always so leery about changing blades because those things are so sharp and you can really cut yourself. So, I take a piece of masking tape (maybe cellophane tape will work too) to remove the old blade from the cutter and to pick up the new blade. This works for me. Just thought I would pass it on.

<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


9 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Patzee said...
Thanks!
4/26/07 7:27 PM
AnneM said...
That's a neat idea. I don't mind changing the blade, except pulling the new blade out of the multi-pack container. I get a bit nervous about that part. (I use the containers to dispose of the blades so they aren't loose in the trash.)
4/25/07 7:59 PM
Imran said...
it is very clever
4/25/07 4:49 AM
Susan M said...
Some of the most simple ideas are so valuable. I had not thought of this but I will use your idea from not on.
4/18/07 1:04 PM
ktsews2 said...
Great tip! I aways tape the used blade to a piece of cardboard before discarding . If possible I try to save one of the multiple containers they come in and put the used blades in and tape closed before discarding.
4/18/07 9:23 AM
SewVeryTall said...
Not only a great safety tip, but also a good way to make sure you only put one new blade on the handle [I'm guessing I'm not the only one who has installed two accidently]. Thanks Mary!
4/18/07 8:09 AM
jbrewer said...
I share your fear! Thanks for the tip.
4/18/07 7:53 AM
aunt saidee said...
What a good idea! Thanks for sharing it.
4/18/07 5:37 AM
Tov said...
Thank you, Mary. This is a very good idea, and one that I will use often. Viv
4/17/07 8:47 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

10 inch Serrated Edge Shears

10 inch Serrated Edge Shears

Buy Now
DRESS LINES - A CD Book by Kenneth King

DRESS LINES - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.