SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Changing Rotary Blades

Viewed 5145 times
Posted by: Mary Stiefer
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Mary Stiefer starstarstarstar
CO USA
Member since: 2/17/03
Reviews written: 169
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 36 people
tips added: 27
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 4/17/07 11:19 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people   Very Helpful by 14 people   
Web site/URL: photo
Featured in the PR book!
I am always so leery about changing blades because those things are so sharp and you can really cut yourself. So, I take a piece of masking tape (maybe cellophane tape will work too) to remove the old blade from the cutter and to pick up the new blade. This works for me. Just thought I would pass it on.

<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


9 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Tov said...
Thank you, Mary. This is a very good idea, and one that I will use often. Viv
4/17/07 8:47 PM
aunt saidee said...
What a good idea! Thanks for sharing it.
4/18/07 5:37 AM
jbrewer said...
I share your fear! Thanks for the tip.
4/18/07 7:53 AM
SewVeryTall said...
Not only a great safety tip, but also a good way to make sure you only put one new blade on the handle [I'm guessing I'm not the only one who has installed two accidently]. Thanks Mary!
4/18/07 8:09 AM
ktsews2 said...
Great tip! I aways tape the used blade to a piece of cardboard before discarding . If possible I try to save one of the multiple containers they come in and put the used blades in and tape closed before discarding.
4/18/07 9:23 AM
Susan M said...
Some of the most simple ideas are so valuable. I had not thought of this but I will use your idea from not on.
4/18/07 1:04 PM
Imran said...
it is very clever
4/25/07 4:49 AM
AnneM said...
That's a neat idea. I don't mind changing the blade, except pulling the new blade out of the multi-pack container. I get a bit nervous about that part. (I use the containers to dispose of the blades so they aren't loose in the trash.)
4/25/07 7:59 PM
Patzee said...
Thanks!
4/26/07 7:27 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Islander Sewing Systems The Ultimate Kinsale Cloak Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems The Ultimate Kinsale Cloak Pattern

Buy Now
Take-Along Bags

Take-Along Bags

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.