SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Metal tape measure for marking hems

Viewed 5223 times
Posted by: Karla Kizer
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Karla Kizer starstarstar
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews written: 68
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 79 people
tips added: 18
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 4/24/07 11:58 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 26 people   
Featured in the PR book!
Yes - another reason to go to Home Depot. The yardstick was MIA the other day when I wanted to mark the hem on a dress, and out of desperation, I reached for the retractable metal household tape measure - the kind that comes in different lengths - 6 feet, 12 feet, 16 feet or my DH's favorite, From Here to Eternity. They wind up into a squarish metal case and (here's the good part) they can be locked into a particular length with the flip of a plastic switch on the case. I discovered that with the dress on the dress form (or a real person), I could establish the distance above the floor that I wanted to mark the hem, lock that position into the tape measure's primitive "memory", and that little beauty would sit squarely on the floor holding that length of metal tape perfectly upright. I had two hands free to use for smoothing, pinning and rearranging. No balancing the yardstick with one hand, trying to insert pins with my lips, and having to go back and correct dips caused when the yardstick isn't held perfectly straight. The yardstick is still missing, but I no longer care. Wish I'd discovered this forty---uh---a long time ago.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


12 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
martinanne said...
How clever! Great tip!
4/25/07 0:02 AM
Barbara R said...
Clever! I will definitely use this tip in the future.
4/25/07 0:35 AM
Peggy L said...
Great idea!
4/25/07 5:50 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
Karla - you always have great ideas. I don't have a dress form but that doesn't mean I can't appreciate a great tip. Love it.
4/25/07 9:12 AM
OP Gal said...
Very clever. Turns out that little tool is a real "multi tasker," as TV chef Alton Brown would say. Kind of renders my gizmo that puffs chalk on the garment unnecessary.
4/25/07 9:26 AM
solosmocker said...
Great hint and another reason for raiding DH's toolbox.
4/25/07 10:39 PM
cindyann said...
Well isn't that the perfect tip! From Here to Eternity is my favorite length too. ;) I will be using this method on my next garment. Thanks
4/26/07 9:16 AM
frame said...
Great tip!
4/29/07 6:22 PM
brrmm said...
Necessity the Mother of Invention. Great tip!
4/29/07 8:56 PM
angeline said...
Great visual Picture!! Thank you!
5/6/07 1:32 PM
squirrellypoo said...
I just wanted to say that I tried this tonight on a dress hem and it worked perfectly!! thanks!
5/13/07 2:48 PM
ready2learn said...
I would like to know it this the correct way to hemming long evening wear?
3/24/09 0:31 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

THE COLLARS - A CD Book by Kenneth King

THE COLLARS - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Buy Now
Favorite Things Little Hip Skirts Pattern

Favorite Things Little Hip Skirts Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.