SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Tips & Techniques > "Gutterman" thread #s

Viewed 5497 times
Posted by: Rhonda in Montreal
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Rhonda in Montreal star
QC CANADA
Member since: 12/9/04
Reviews written: 41
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 16 people
tips added: 5
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 5/30/07 9:06 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 7 people   Very Helpful by 19 people   
Featured in the PR book!
I thought about an idea to replace the Gutterman thread stickers with colour #s on... When I "pierce" the spool on my threadholder, the little sticker gets destroyed. Gone is the colour #...
I recently bought paper reinforcements (those "O's" at the stationery store). I write the colour # on the "O" with permanent ink.
Now, no more re-buying of non-standard colour spools just 'cos I don't know WHAT I have!
HTH

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


11 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
bestgrammy said...
Hello Rhonda Perfect idea!
7/5/07 5:45 AM
Leslie in Austin said...
Very clever, Rhonda. I always just write the # on the edge of the spool in Sharpie, but of course that's next to impossible to read.... Love your idea!!
6/5/07 4:42 PM
OP Gal said...
Super idea, Rhonda. Of course, I've had the same problem, but it never occurred to me to use reinforcement rings. Very clever
6/5/07 4:28 PM
Elaray said...
The best ideas are often the simplest ones! Thanks for posting this great tip!
6/4/07 10:43 AM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
Hi FragHag! To ensure a good answer to your question, maybe you could post it in the Message Board also...
6/2/07 8:47 PM
SillyValley said...
Ahh very good idea! Question: if you use the "sews all" weight, do you find that it leaves an awful lot of lint onin your machine? I bought the 100 spool set of the "sews all" (it's 100% polyester) and some of the colors really seem to give off a lot of lint. Wondering if it's something I'm doing or if this is a normal experience?
6/2/07 8:30 PM
Doreene said...
What a wonderful tip! and we even have reinforcements on hand
6/1/07 2:00 PM
librarylady said...
Genius! Off to buy the little reinforcement thingies. Many thanks.
5/31/07 6:10 PM
Elaine Dougan said...
You are so well organized!
5/31/07 10:50 AM
vasallese said...
Thanks. That should help.
5/31/07 6:48 AM
kbcs682 said...
what a great idea! I was just thinking this weekend that I hated destoying the spool #'s. Thank you!!!
5/31/07 0:17 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Class Details

Online Class
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Class Details

Favorite Things A Safe Place Pattern

Favorite Things A Safe Place Pattern

More Info
SewBaby Easy Pieces Jumper Pattern

SewBaby Easy Pieces Jumper Pattern

More Info

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.