SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Tips & Techniques > "Gutterman" thread #s

Viewed 5448 times
Posted by: Rhonda in Montreal
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Rhonda in Montreal star
QC CANADA
Member since: 12/9/04
Reviews written: 41
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 15 people
tips added: 5
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 5/30/07 9:06 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 7 people   Very Helpful by 19 people   
Featured in the PR book!
I thought about an idea to replace the Gutterman thread stickers with colour #s on... When I "pierce" the spool on my threadholder, the little sticker gets destroyed. Gone is the colour #...
I recently bought paper reinforcements (those "O's" at the stationery store). I write the colour # on the "O" with permanent ink.
Now, no more re-buying of non-standard colour spools just 'cos I don't know WHAT I have!
HTH

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


11 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
kbcs682 said...
what a great idea! I was just thinking this weekend that I hated destoying the spool #'s. Thank you!!!
5/31/07 0:17 AM
vasallese said...
Thanks. That should help.
5/31/07 6:48 AM
Elaine Dougan said...
You are so well organized!
5/31/07 10:50 AM
librarylady said...
Genius! Off to buy the little reinforcement thingies. Many thanks.
5/31/07 6:10 PM
Doreene said...
What a wonderful tip! and we even have reinforcements on hand
6/1/07 2:00 PM
SillyValley said...
Ahh very good idea! Question: if you use the "sews all" weight, do you find that it leaves an awful lot of lint onin your machine? I bought the 100 spool set of the "sews all" (it's 100% polyester) and some of the colors really seem to give off a lot of lint. Wondering if it's something I'm doing or if this is a normal experience?
6/2/07 8:30 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
Hi FragHag! To ensure a good answer to your question, maybe you could post it in the Message Board also...
6/2/07 8:47 PM
Elaray said...
The best ideas are often the simplest ones! Thanks for posting this great tip!
6/4/07 10:43 AM
OP Gal said...
Super idea, Rhonda. Of course, I've had the same problem, but it never occurred to me to use reinforcement rings. Very clever
6/5/07 4:28 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
Very clever, Rhonda. I always just write the # on the edge of the spool in Sharpie, but of course that's next to impossible to read.... Love your idea!!
6/5/07 4:42 PM
bestgrammy said...
Hello Rhonda Perfect idea!
7/5/07 5:45 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Victory Lola Paper Pattern

Victory Lola Paper Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things Cute Skirts Pattern

Favorite Things Cute Skirts Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.