SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fabulous Fit
Fabulous Fit

Class Reviews > Peggy Sagers Personal Week Long Seminar

Viewed 5849 times
Posted by: lindrix

About lindrix star
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews: 19 (classes: 1)
Skill level:Advanced
Favored by: 1 people
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 6/11/07 11:16 AM
Rating: starstarstar
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 11 people   
Web site/URL: photo
I can't put five stars? Wow, this class was phenomenal! Peggy is a superlative teacher; patient, articulate, and willing to show you the same thing over and over again.

Her fitting techniques result in a beautiful and superior fit. I've been sewing for over 40 years and I learned simple and straightforward techniques that I hadn't seen in books or even college pattern classes.

The format is a four day intensive and informal sew-a-thon. Despite the online class description of working on two garments, the reality is that you can make as many garments or get as many fittings as you want. One of us would get fitted and the others could watch and ask questions or keep sewing. We wound up all becoming friends. Peggy is very flexible and class hours were pretty much our decision.

I started out with pants and jacket muslins. and wound up with several blouse muslins, another pant pattern, a new and easy fly front construction method and a great welt pocket procedure. Because I was a similar size with another woman in the class, I was able to trade muslins/patterns.

Peggy wore her fabulous wardrobe that included her gorgeous jackets and fantastic fitting pants and we were able to see her construction methods and fabric choices.

Finally the class was held at Denver Fabrics. Very convenient when you realize you've forgotten your thread or a zipper. A friend and I flew in from San Diego. The only downside was lugging our sewing machines as carry-on. I purchased a great little traveling case from Tutto ( ) made specifically for sewing machines. Despite the hassle of the luggage this class was well worth it.

<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History

Historical Patterns
Web site

Nature's Fabrics

Natural & Organic Fabrics

Elliott Berman Textiles

Fabrics for Greater Ideas

Add Sewing Class Review    Read All Sewing Class Reviews

Login to Add a Comment    
SaraJay said... (6/27/10 2:09 PM) Reply
Thanks, I was debating whether to take one of her seminars and this has convinced me!
Annie- oh said... (6/15/07 6:25 PM) Reply
Yes, thank you for doing this review. Next time, I WILL decide it's worth the price and travel (though I do live in Colorado). Your review made a difference.
Sewingmi said... (6/12/07 7:10 PM) Reply
Sounds like it was an excellent class & worthwhile! I wish I could go!
lindrix said... (6/12/07 3:01 PM) Reply
I don't feel comfortable quoting the exact price because Peggy may change her prices depending on the venue/time of year/etc. It was between $500 and $1000. You buy your own patterns, fabric, notions, hotel room.
Marrs said... (6/12/07 12:28 PM) Reply
I am disapointed too, wish I had known. I am on the Denver Fab e-mail list and was even at the store not too long ago and saw nothing to indicate that this was to happen.
Donna H said... (6/12/07 11:17 AM) Reply much was the class?
lindrix said... (6/12/07 10:15 AM) Reply
You can work on whatever you want so I decided to maximize my time with Peggy and got four full muslins completed, one pair of pants completed, and one pants pattern adjusted and ready to go. Since it was at Denver Fabrics, I also got quite a bit of fabric shopping in. We started between 8:30-10:00am and finished between 5:00-7:30pm. Peggy got a loaner key set from the store's owner so we could be there when the store wasn't open. The class would agree on meeting time the previous day. Peggy's web site has the seminar dates as well as her NY fabric shopping dates ( Generally, she comes to Denver Fabrics once a year. Well worth the time and money spent. p.s. The July class is held at Kay's Fabrics in Dallas. If you've never been to Kay's, doing Peggy's class here would be an excellent choice. If you want to split the cost of your hotel, email Peggy to see if she could match you up with another single.
AndreaP said... (6/12/07 8:55 AM) Reply
I live in Denver and would have loved to take this class! How did you find out about it?
Peggy L said... (6/12/07 7:40 AM) Reply
Sounds like fun! Did you complete any garments or did you just work on muslins? What were the class hours?
Patzee said... (6/12/07 7:02 AM) Reply
Thank for this review.
krystalkaes said... (6/12/07 0:16 AM) Reply
Oh I am so sad. I didn't know about this! I am sorry I missed it.
DKJ said... (6/11/07 12:36 PM) Reply
Thank you for the review. I have been tempted to sign up for this. Sounds like a great investment!
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
Online Class
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Class Details

Online Class
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Class Details

Islander Sewing Systems Renaissance Cape Pattern Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Renaissance Cape Pattern Pattern

Pattern Details
Jamie Christina Hooded Scarf Pattern (JC307HS)

Jamie Christina Hooded Scarf Pattern (JC307HS)

Pattern Details

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2015® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.