SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Class Reviews > Peggy Sagers Personal Week Long Seminar

Colorado, UNITED STATES
Viewed 5478 times
Posted by: lindrix
photo

 
 
About lindrix star
TX USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 19
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 1 people
classes reviewed: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 6/11/07 11:16 AM
Rating: starstarstar
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 11 people   
Web site/URL: photo
I can't put five stars? Wow, this class was phenomenal! Peggy is a superlative teacher; patient, articulate, and willing to show you the same thing over and over again.

Her fitting techniques result in a beautiful and superior fit. I've been sewing for over 40 years and I learned simple and straightforward techniques that I hadn't seen in books or even college pattern classes.

The format is a four day intensive and informal sew-a-thon. Despite the online class description of working on two garments, the reality is that you can make as many garments or get as many fittings as you want. One of us would get fitted and the others could watch and ask questions or keep sewing. We wound up all becoming friends. Peggy is very flexible and class hours were pretty much our decision.

I started out with pants and jacket muslins. and wound up with several blouse muslins, another pant pattern, a new and easy fly front construction method and a great welt pocket procedure. Because I was a similar size with another woman in the class, I was able to trade muslins/patterns.

Peggy wore her fabulous wardrobe that included her gorgeous jackets and fantastic fitting pants and we were able to see her construction methods and fabric choices.

Finally the class was held at Denver Fabrics. Very convenient when you realize you've forgotten your thread or a zipper. A friend and I flew in from San Diego. The only downside was lugging our sewing machines as carry-on. I purchased a great little traveling case from Tutto ( http://tutto.com ) made specifically for sewing machines. Despite the hassle of the luggage this class was well worth it.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Sewing Class Review    Read All Sewing Class Reviews


12 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
DKJ said...
Thank you for the review. I have been tempted to sign up for this. Sounds like a great investment!
6/11/07 12:36 PM
krystalkaes said...
Oh I am so sad. I didn't know about this! I am sorry I missed it.
6/12/07 0:16 AM
Patzee said...
Thank for this review.
6/12/07 7:02 AM
Peggy L said...
Sounds like fun! Did you complete any garments or did you just work on muslins? What were the class hours?
6/12/07 7:40 AM
AndreaP said...
I live in Denver and would have loved to take this class! How did you find out about it?
6/12/07 8:55 AM
lindrix said...
You can work on whatever you want so I decided to maximize my time with Peggy and got four full muslins completed, one pair of pants completed, and one pants pattern adjusted and ready to go. Since it was at Denver Fabrics, I also got quite a bit of fabric shopping in. We started between 8:30-10:00am and finished between 5:00-7:30pm. Peggy got a loaner key set from the store's owner so we could be there when the store wasn't open. The class would agree on meeting time the previous day. Peggy's web site has the seminar dates as well as her NY fabric shopping dates (http://www.silhouettepatterns.com). Generally, she comes to Denver Fabrics once a year. Well worth the time and money spent. p.s. The July class is held at Kay's Fabrics in Dallas. If you've never been to Kay's, doing Peggy's class here would be an excellent choice. If you want to split the cost of your hotel, email Peggy to see if she could match you up with another single.
6/12/07 10:15 AM
Donna H said...
So...how much was the class?
6/12/07 11:17 AM
Marrs said...
I am disapointed too, wish I had known. I am on the Denver Fab e-mail list and was even at the store not too long ago and saw nothing to indicate that this was to happen.
6/12/07 12:28 PM
lindrix said...
I don't feel comfortable quoting the exact price because Peggy may change her prices depending on the venue/time of year/etc. It was between $500 and $1000. You buy your own patterns, fabric, notions, hotel room.
6/12/07 3:01 PM
Sewingmi said...
Sounds like it was an excellent class & worthwhile! I wish I could go!
6/12/07 7:10 PM
Annie- oh said...
Yes, thank you for doing this review. Next time, I WILL decide it's worth the price and travel (though I do live in Colorado). Your review made a difference.
6/15/07 6:25 PM
SaraJay said...
Thanks, I was debating whether to take one of her seminars and this has convinced me!
6/27/10 2:09 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Favorite Things Happy Feet Pattern

Favorite Things Happy Feet Pattern

Buy Now
THE SKIRTS - A CD Book By Kenneth King

THE SKIRTS - A CD Book By Kenneth King

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.