Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review


Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Find a member
MY Stuff
Friends of PR Benefits
My Pattern Reviews
My Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Widget
Photo Album
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Calendar
Deal Corner
Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine Central
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review Requests
Read All Review Requests
Add a Review Request
Live Chats
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
See all Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
all contests
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Binding, nicely finished on the wrong side, by machine (Tip/Technique)
Viewed 5163 times
Review rated Helpful by 2 people   Very Helpful by 12 people   
Posted by: SewVeryTall
photo
About SewVeryTall starstarstarstar
NE USA
Member since: 3/2/04
Reviews written: 161
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 63 people
tips added: 68
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 6/24/07 4:25 AM
I recently finished a queen-sized quilt, and had every intention of hand sewing the back side of the binding. As far as I knew, hand stitching was the only way to get a truly nice finish.

After machine stitching the 400 inches [10 M] of binding to the right side, I decided there had to be a way to stitch the final step of the binding, by machine. I like to hand stitch, but give me a break!

There are ways I've seen this done...stitching in the ditch on top, or topstitching the binding. The way this looks on the back side is, in a word, yuck. Topstitching seems to fall off and on the back side of the binding. Stitching in the right side's ditch can be uneven looking on the back, at best.

After some thinking, I came up with the solution. I took the quilt to my nice comfy couch [room for me and the quilt to sit], and spent some quality time pinning. Here's the trick...pin 'in the ditch' on top, catching the binding on the back along its "topstitching line". By pinning exactly where you'll be sewing, in the ditch, the pin shows exactly where the stitching line will be on the back.

My pins are 1 7/8 inches [47mm] long...very nice to use for this purpose.

The pinning was time consuming...many pins had to be adjusted...but it was so much faster than hand sewing. It may not be perfectly perfect, but it pleased my perfectionistic tendencies. I'll be using this technique for binding necklines, armholes, etc. too.

Photo links:

Shows Pinning, front and back

Shows Back of Finished Binding


Edited 6-28-07 to add link to the bedspread review.
Edited 7-4-07 to fix the pinning photo link, when this site dumped the "plus sign" in the photo's address.
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
christine A said...
I plan on using this for other types of bindig too! Thanks!
6/24/07 10:05 AM
crashnquilt said...
I also machine finish my bindings on quilts. Instead of pinning I use the 1/4" STEAM A SEAM fusible tape. First I apply the tape to the binding. I do "fuse" it down a bit with my craft iron, then while pulling off the tape, I place my binding just over my stitching and fuse into place. Then I can stitch in the ditch from the top and always catch my binding underneath without the need to remove pins. Once you wash the quilt all of the steam a seam is gone. You may want to give it a try.
6/24/07 12:32 PM
Jeanette P said...
I use the steam a seam too - but between the 2 of your suggestions, I think I just cut my time in half! Thanks ladies...
6/24/07 2:13 PM
Nancywin said...
great ideas. I'll definitely have to try them.
6/25/07 0:11 AM
PoppyB said...
I just did the same thing yesterday, but did a 'quick and dirty' job of it, since the little wall hanging was just a sampler that already had some not-too-perfect techniques in it. As usual, though, I regret the 'quick and dirty' and wish I'd been more careful. You've inspired me for my next effort. Thanks!
6/25/07 7:26 AM
PVA said...
Ardis, thank you for this tip -- I've just finished a quilt about a month ago & did the backside of the binding by hand because I was donating it to a Relay for Life silent auction. Next time I'm going to try this method. I truly appreciate that you put it in the tips section. Now I know for sure where to find it!
6/25/07 10:52 AM
OP Gal said...
I've wished for a solution to this dilemma for a long time. Thanks for the tip--I'll be using it. I have a question, though: how and when do you remove the pins as you're stitching?
6/25/07 8:01 PM
Sadlesor said...
Will be giving this and the "Steam A Steam" tips a try the next time I have binding. Thanks for taking the time to offer this suggestion
6/25/07 9:52 PM
Sewingmi said...
Thanks for the tip, I'll have to try it. Binding is my least favorite thing! Not only that, but my handstitching always looks awful! This method would look much nicer!
6/26/07 7:16 PM
showmee said...
A big Thank You for this tip, as I have to cut a King size down to a Queen and it has a binding that I have to take off and reput it back on the spread. I would like to do a good job and this is a big help.
6/27/07 2:10 PM
miri said...
Good old-fashioned basting works for this too. I think it's easier to do with the quilt on a table (pinning is too) and basting is fast and can be pulled out after the machine stitching. Besides, it won't prick your flesh or the fabric as you maneuver the quilt.
6/27/07 5:35 PM
SewVeryTall said...
Thank you for all the nice comments!

OP Gal...As I'm stitching, and the next pin gets near the presser foot, I put my fingers on top of the area where I'm going to pull the pin out, so it can't move, and then pull the pin out with my other hand.

showmee...oh my, I wouldn't take all the time to remove the old binding to reuse it, since you're cutting the quilt down in size. I'd buy new fabric [it doesn't need much] and make new binding...it'd be SO MUCH easier and faster.
6/28/07 0:28 AM

Sewlikecrazy99 said...
If I ever run out of steam-a-seam to use with my french binding, I will definitely use this tip. Thanks!
7/3/07 1:07 AM
saftasaba said...
can no longer link to photos, just too old.
5/7/12 3:46 PM

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us