SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Discard bottle for dull and damaged needles

Viewed 5198 times
Posted by: Jerry P
photo

 
 
About Jerry P
MD USA
Member since: 9/12/04
Reviews written: 11
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
tips added: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 6/25/07 1:15 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people   Very Helpful by 7 people   
Featured in the PR book!
I keep a used spice jar handy on my sewing table for discarding old sewing needles from my sewing machine, hand needles and pins.

The spice bottles come with holes that are plenty big enough for slipping old needles in and easy to recover the jar cover over them.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


7 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Diane Yaghoobian said...
I use an 8 oz (small) water bottle. It's clear so I can see how much is in it, and I have other sharpish metals to throw away - like the wire in ribbons or bent pins. I can often find lovely wired ribbon easier than non-wired, so I just remove the wire, wind it up and put it in the bottle with the needles and pins.
7/18/07 0:54 AM
Sandra Mil said...
I do the same and also recycle these old needles to hang pictures and pieces of art without making large holes in my walls.
6/30/07 3:59 PM
Mufffet said...
My gosh, here I have saved some of my old jars like that but didn't know why or when they would com in handy. Now I see. Thanks for a great idea.
6/27/07 4:38 PM
Jerry P said...
Good point Aunt Saidee, I have dogs and have seen xrays on TV taken of pets who have swallowed needles and gotten them stuck in their digestive tract. fallen needles are dangerous for cats and dogs.
6/27/07 7:08 AM
OP Gal said...
Good idea. I especially like the part about not having to drill a hole in the lid.
6/26/07 8:46 PM
aunt saidee said...
Good idea; I use a prescription bottle w/o a child-proof lid: no kids here unless you count the rambunctious 2 yo cats! Sometimes it does seem as tho' they must have opposable thumbs....
6/26/07 4:12 AM
Susan M said...
Great idea! I was using the can type spice container. This sounds better.
6/25/07 6:57 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Beginner Sewing Lab 103 - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Beginner Sewing Lab 103  - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Buy Now
Favorite Things The Classic Shirt Pattern

Favorite Things The Classic Shirt Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.