SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Discard bottle for dull and damaged needles

Viewed 5139 times
Posted by: Jerry P
photo

 
 
About Jerry P
MD USA
Member since: 9/12/04
Reviews written: 11
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
tips added: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 6/25/07 1:15 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people   Very Helpful by 7 people   
Featured in the PR book!
I keep a used spice jar handy on my sewing table for discarding old sewing needles from my sewing machine, hand needles and pins.

The spice bottles come with holes that are plenty big enough for slipping old needles in and easy to recover the jar cover over them.

<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


7 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Susan M said...
Great idea! I was using the can type spice container. This sounds better.
6/25/07 6:57 PM
aunt saidee said...
Good idea; I use a prescription bottle w/o a child-proof lid: no kids here unless you count the rambunctious 2 yo cats! Sometimes it does seem as tho' they must have opposable thumbs....
6/26/07 4:12 AM
OP Gal said...
Good idea. I especially like the part about not having to drill a hole in the lid.
6/26/07 8:46 PM
Jerry P said...
Good point Aunt Saidee, I have dogs and have seen xrays on TV taken of pets who have swallowed needles and gotten them stuck in their digestive tract. fallen needles are dangerous for cats and dogs.
6/27/07 7:08 AM
Mufffet said...
My gosh, here I have saved some of my old jars like that but didn't know why or when they would com in handy. Now I see. Thanks for a great idea.
6/27/07 4:38 PM
Sandra Mil said...
I do the same and also recycle these old needles to hang pictures and pieces of art without making large holes in my walls.
6/30/07 3:59 PM
Diane Yaghoobian said...
I use an 8 oz (small) water bottle. It's clear so I can see how much is in it, and I have other sharpish metals to throw away - like the wire in ribbons or bent pins. I can often find lovely wired ribbon easier than non-wired, so I just remove the wire, wind it up and put it in the bottle with the needles and pins.
7/18/07 0:54 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Pareau Style Wrap Dress

Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Pareau Style Wrap Dress

Buy Now
Petite Plus 601 Pattern

Petite Plus 601 Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.