SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Tips & Techniques > Yet another way to get those pesky patterns back in the envelope!

Viewed 5170 times
Posted by: PattiAnnJ
photo

 
 
About PattiAnnJ star
Member since: 12/3/06
Reviews written: 45
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 2 people
tips added: 18
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 6/29/07 2:25 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   Very Helpful by 7 people   
This works well for me as I like to keep my patterns in their original envelope with no loose strays poking out.

When finished with the project, I layer the pieces of the pattern tissue, beginning with the largest on the bottom.

Then I use the instruction sheet, folded as it was originally, as the guide for getting the tissue bundled just a bit smaller than the folded instruction sheet.

Once folded, use one of the pattern instruction sheets as a "taco" with the tissue as the filling and slip all back into the envelope.

The envelope will not be a 100% as flat as it was new, but all the pieces will be enclosed for the next time it will be used.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


7 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
solosmocker said...
Great idea! Thanks.
6/29/07 9:59 PM
Irene Q said...
Excellent idea!!
6/30/07 1:18 PM
Susan M said...
I press my tissue with a dry iron before I put it in the "taco". It gets the pattern a little flatter. Great verbage of "taco" to get the visual idea.
7/2/07 1:18 PM
vwroby said...
Ironing the folds will make it flatter.
7/7/07 12:38 PM
Happy go lucky said...
I love the taco analogy
7/30/07 9:33 PM
zeoplum said...
Ohhh, I like this tip. Thanks for posting it. :-)
11/17/07 6:19 PM
shoes said...
Actually, I like to take a used pattern envelop and insert it in a gallon zip-lock bag- then fold pieces and insert behind picture. Not so many wrinkles and I have room for a sample of fabric. label the top of bag with a marker("dress" or "jacket". Much easier to find!
2/27/08 3:35 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Petite Plus 603 Pattern

Petite Plus 603 Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things Little Lounge Around Pattern

Favorite Things Little Lounge Around Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.