SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Tips & Techniques > Ironing - in the summer

Viewed 5135 times
Posted by: SewVeryTall
photo

 
 
About SewVeryTall starstarstarstar
NE USA
Member since: 3/2/04
Reviews written: 161
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 63 people
tips added: 68
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 6/30/07 8:46 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   Very Helpful by 3 people   
I'm sure everyone has figured this out, but I thought I'd post it, just in case there's even one person who hasn't thought of it [just how many years did it take me to think of it??? I'm embarrassed to say]...

When it's really warm in the house, set up a little fan so that it blows on you while you iron. Wow, it makes such a difference. No more drips from your forehead.

I have even picked up the fan and aimed it at newly pressed fusible interfacing, still laying on the ironing board, to "speed cool" it.

Pressing is very important. I know it's been said oodles of times here at PR, but if you don't press your sewing, it's gonna look like amateur hour!

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


6 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Jerry P said...
Great idea. thank you
7/1/07 0:31 AM
KempCorr said...
I seldom iron these days, but when we were kids we not only had a fan set up, but also wore bathing suits to do the weekly ironing, after a brief dip in a kiddie pool. Evaporation from the drying swimsuit helped us stay cool and by the time the suit dried, the ironing was done and we returned to the pool. My mom must have been really smart to convince us kids doing the weekly ironing was just a normal part of life !!
7/1/07 11:54 AM
Annie- oh said...
We do forget the common sense things, don't we? I've started setting up the fan instead of excuses for not when I do Pilates - but I spent a good deal of time yesterday pouring sweat over fusing, fusing, fusing - thanks for the reminder!
7/1/07 12:10 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
I just finished ironing & saying that I was HOT... cos at 5' I'm close to the iron, eh!! DH suggested: a fan. NEXT time!!
7/2/07 8:55 PM
Sewlikecrazy99 said...
I just used this tip and it works!!!!! Thank you SVT!
7/3/07 0:30 AM
Denny1600 said...
And, if you live in a dry climate, the spray bottle helps, too. On the fabric, then on me!
8/7/07 2:37 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

BRIDAL COUTURE, a CD book by Susan Khalje

BRIDAL COUTURE, a CD book by Susan Khalje

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop West End Top & Pants

Sewing Workshop West End Top & Pants

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.