SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Ironing - in the summer

Viewed 5149 times
Posted by: SewVeryTall
photo

 
 
About SewVeryTall starstarstarstar
NE USA
Member since: 3/2/04
Reviews written: 161
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 63 people
tips added: 68
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 6/30/07 8:46 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   Very Helpful by 3 people   
I'm sure everyone has figured this out, but I thought I'd post it, just in case there's even one person who hasn't thought of it [just how many years did it take me to think of it??? I'm embarrassed to say]...

When it's really warm in the house, set up a little fan so that it blows on you while you iron. Wow, it makes such a difference. No more drips from your forehead.

I have even picked up the fan and aimed it at newly pressed fusible interfacing, still laying on the ironing board, to "speed cool" it.

Pressing is very important. I know it's been said oodles of times here at PR, but if you don't press your sewing, it's gonna look like amateur hour!

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


6 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Denny1600 said...
And, if you live in a dry climate, the spray bottle helps, too. On the fabric, then on me!
8/7/07 2:37 PM
Sewlikecrazy99 said...
I just used this tip and it works!!!!! Thank you SVT!
7/3/07 0:30 AM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
I just finished ironing & saying that I was HOT... cos at 5' I'm close to the iron, eh!! DH suggested: a fan. NEXT time!!
7/2/07 8:55 PM
Annie- oh said...
We do forget the common sense things, don't we? I've started setting up the fan instead of excuses for not when I do Pilates - but I spent a good deal of time yesterday pouring sweat over fusing, fusing, fusing - thanks for the reminder!
7/1/07 12:10 PM
KempCorr said...
I seldom iron these days, but when we were kids we not only had a fan set up, but also wore bathing suits to do the weekly ironing, after a brief dip in a kiddie pool. Evaporation from the drying swimsuit helped us stay cool and by the time the suit dried, the ironing was done and we returned to the pool. My mom must have been really smart to convince us kids doing the weekly ironing was just a normal part of life !!
7/1/07 11:54 AM
Jerry P said...
Great idea. thank you
7/1/07 0:31 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Sew Chic Beatrice Pocket Dress Pattern (ln1310)

Sew Chic Beatrice Pocket Dress Pattern (ln1310)

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Boyfriend Jacket and Shell

Christine Jonson Boyfriend Jacket and Shell

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.