SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Fusible Thread for Applying Double Fold Binding

Viewed 5512 times
Posted by: Leslie in Austin
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Leslie in Austin starstarstarstar
TX USA
Member since: 1/30/03
Reviews written: 156
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 245 people
tips added: 4
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 7/1/07 2:55 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 16 people   
Web site/URL: photo
Featured in the PR book!
I see that this is being counted as my 100th review! I love it that my 100th is actually giving a little something back to the community that has given me so very very much. :-D

==========================

I was asked on a recent review for clarification on how I used fusible thread to apply double fold binding, so here's a thrown together demo. Not a couture technique by any means, but it'll save you all those pin pokes!

1) With fusible thread in the bobbin, sew a basting line ~1/8" from the fold on the cut edge that ultimately will be turned to the inside of the item to be bound.

2) sew the opposite cut edge of the binding to the edge on the right side of the item to be bound.

3) turn the binding over the edge of the item to be bound; the fusible thread will come into contact with the interior side of the item to be bound. Press with an iron to melt the thread and fuse the binding in place. No need for pins! To permanently secure the binding in place, topstitch on the right side of the binding.

Follow the Photo URL to see photos of the process.


<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


12 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
ryansmumAria said...
Brilliant - thanks for sharing!
8/12/07 12:05 PM
GrissyG said...
Cool way to do binding. Great!
7/16/07 7:53 PM
CM_Sews said...
SewsLikeCrazy, here's a link to a method for using fusible thread to apply double-fold French binding to a quilt. Could be adapted to garment sewing. Very Short Synopsis: put the fusible thread in the bobbin, sew the binding to the piece (quilt, garment) with a zig-zag stitch (exposes more fusible), then, turn, press, and stitch. Details here: https://www.superiorthreads.com/index.php?option=content&task=view&id=202
7/16/07 7:19 PM
nancy2001 said...
Great idea. I have a spool of fusible thread I've never used. Now I'll be able to use it. Thank you.
7/8/07 8:26 AM
Sewlikecrazy99 said...
This is a good tip if you apply old fashioned style of binding. I like to use french binding where you fold the strip in half to start. You don't want to stitch the fold of french binding - it needs to float until its in place. I guess you could stitch the edge of the fabric you are binding to get the fusible thread in place. But fusible thread is so expensive. I would rather buy steam-a-seam.
7/3/07 0:54 AM
CSM--Carla said...
Great tip Leslie, Thank you for the turotial. I have YKK fusible thread and have had trouble with it falling apart. Has this ever happened to you? Can you use fusible thread in the upper part of the machine. Thanks in advance for your help. Carla
7/2/07 5:49 PM
Hilary said...
Thanks for clarifying this!! I need to get some of this fusible thread :p
7/2/07 4:03 PM
Don McCunn said...
Very nice idea. Great photos. I've used fusible thread a lot for rolled hems but never thought of it for applying bias tape.
7/2/07 10:25 AM
Annie- oh said...
And thank you for the photos, too!
7/2/07 10:13 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
What a great idea. I love this. I have never been able to stitch in the ditch on binding. Maybe this will set me on the right track. Love it.
7/2/07 9:39 AM
Meredith P said...
Thanks, Leslie!
7/2/07 9:09 AM
KempCorr said...
Brilliant ! Thanks.
7/1/07 8:26 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Class Details

Online Class
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Class Details

Sew Chic Starter Skirt Pattern (ln1000)

Sew Chic Starter Skirt Pattern (ln1000)

More Info
Sewing Workshop Hudson Top & Pants Pattern

Sewing Workshop Hudson Top & Pants Pattern

More Info

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.