SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Adding Bra Cups to a dress or blouse

Viewed 12740 times
Posted by: Nancywin
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Nancywin starstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 7/25/06
Reviews written: 275
Favored by: 122 people
tips added: 20
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 7/3/07 5:21 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people   Very Helpful by 29 people   
Web site/URL: photo
Adding bra cups to a sun dress or halter top is fairly simple to do. First, you must choose a lining for the bodice. I chose swim suit lining for this dress as it was comfortable and very stretchy (There are step by step pictures in the above link)

Next, lay the cups on the wrong side of the lining fabric. Leave 1" below the cups for an empire seam. You can also add elastic here if your dress does not have an empire seam. this will create a "shelf bra" Mark the cup placement with a water soluble pen or chalk before you pin.

Now pin the cups to the lining.

stitch around the cups with a zig zag stitch.

If you are using something very stretchy, you are finished! If not, cut the lining close to the stitching to remove it from the inside of the cups. Cover the stitching and raw edge with bias cut lining fabric or strips of tricot.

Lastly, attach this underlining with the bra cups to your bodice. If the bodice has a fitted back, this is all you need (believe me, I wear a DD and it is working for me.) If the bodice has a loose back, you may want to add a back strap of some kind to snug up the front.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


16 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
lesew said...
Thank you. This was helpful. I'll give it a try.
7/18/12 10:51 PM
jynclr said...
Oh, awesome! THANK YOU!!! I just posted in the pattern alterations forum about adding bra cups to a maxi dress. I then did a Bing search for tutorials and was lead right back here to PR and your tutorial. OF COURSE! :D Thank you for posting this tutorial. Now I know how to do this. :)
7/12/12 12:18 PM
Kayseri said...
Excellent tutorial
6/6/10 8:11 PM
Maripat said...
Thank you so much. Very clear and descriptive.
6/1/10 4:19 PM
SewPurple said...
Great tip! Working on a project right now where I will try this!
3/24/08 8:08 PM
SewSewHappy said...
I am certainly going to follow these instructions as I'm not comfortable with strapless bras. THANKS!!
9/19/07 5:23 PM
Daydreamer said...
Excellent instructions and photos. Thanks so much! Mary
9/19/07 11:51 AM
GrissyG said...
I'm new to sewing and this is a project I wanted to do but didn't have the know how. thanks for the tip and pics.
7/16/07 7:49 PM
martinanne said...
Very helpful! Thanks for the pics and descriptions.
7/15/07 11:55 PM
Jodi B. said...
Thank you for posting this, Nancywin. Great tutorial! One question -- where do you find bra cups in a DD? I haven't been able to find them in my size. Thanks! Jodi
7/10/07 0:38 AM
KathySews said...
Great tip - avoids bra straps in sun dresses. I must try this because I have been wanting a summer dress
7/9/07 5:44 PM
Susan M said...
Very clear and well written. Thank you for taking the time to write this tip.
7/9/07 1:46 PM
narcissaqtpie said...
Thanks, I'll be trying this technique soon on a strapless dress.
7/5/07 9:28 AM
Karine said...
Thanks for the great instructions - the photos help so much.
7/4/07 5:09 PM
Rhoda K said...
Thanks for your tip. I remember when one could buy RTW sundresses w/cups included, 1970s, loved 'em! Now I'll try my own.
7/4/07 8:52 AM
ginaT said...
As always your instruction are well described and picture perfect :)
7/4/07 4:19 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
All About Linings
All About Linings

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Sew Liberated Reading Pillow

Sew Liberated Reading Pillow

Buy Now
Petite Plus 303 Pattern

Petite Plus 303 Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.