SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Did You Remember To Turn Off The Iron?

Viewed 5264 times
Posted by: PattiAnnJ
photo

 
 
About PattiAnnJ star
United States
Member since: 12/3/06
Reviews written: 45
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 2 people
tips added: 18
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 7/25/07 10:42 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   Very Helpful by 12 people   
It could prove dangerous to leave your iron on when unattended.

I would like to share this information that I saw as a tip on Fons & Porter's Love of Quilting.

To help you remember to turn the iron off, keep a elastic bracelet on the ironing board. When you turn the iron on, out the bracelet on. If you leave the room with the bracelet on, you will know to go back and turn the iron off.

This tip was originally given to a grandmother by her young grandson. It was very clever of him.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


9 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
KatrinaWalker said...
If you have a handy husband, or are handy yourself, you can create the solution my husband did - make an electrical box with a timer. Mine has a long, heavy-duty cord with 3 prong plug attached to an outlet box that has space for a rectangular timer on one side, and two three-prong plug receptacles on the other. It works great - you do have to reset the timer every hour (you can buy different timers...an hour works for me). But I know that my iron won't be left on for more than one hour if I forget.
7/30/07 2:49 PM
Nancywin said...
I love your idea. My iron does not have an "off" button, so I have it plugged into a serge protector with the light. I know that I have to turn off the surge protector in order to turn off the light and the iron.
7/30/07 9:52 AM
OP Gal said...
Great tip. I live in fear of leaving my iron on!
7/28/07 9:23 PM
Mufffet said...
Spicegirl - THAT is a great idea...a little vracelet that reads it out to me. Thanks.
7/28/07 4:46 PM
PattiAnnJ said...
I was thinking of making a bracelet from letter beads that would read - turn off the iron!
7/27/07 5:03 PM
Karine said...
Great idea. I would hate to admit to the number of times I have come into my sewing room to find the iron on from days earlier.
7/26/07 10:02 AM
Karla Kizer said...
I used to do the same thing before cars had those bells that alert you that your lights are still on. Never thought to transfer the idea to the sewing room. Now to find an iron that STAYS ON.
7/26/07 6:07 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
Great idea
7/25/07 11:29 PM
Mufffet said...
That's quite ingenious! Now...if only I could remember why I am wearing this pesky rubber band! HAHA...no - just kidding - it *IS* a great idea!
7/25/07 11:01 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

J Stern Designs Top with two collars and a Peplum Pattern

J Stern Designs Top with two collars and a Peplum Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Kids Hats Pattern

You Sew Girl Kids Hats Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.