SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Inexpensive washcloths

Viewed 5224 times
Posted by: Brine
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Brine star
IL USA
Member since: 11/21/04
Reviews written: 25
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
tips added: 20
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 8/4/07 12:11 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people   Very Helpful by 16 people   
I always buy an extra matching sheet to make pillowcases rather than purchasing them ready-made because it is much less expensive, so I thought, why not get a matching towel and make my own matching wash cloths? Better yet, I found that some of my favorite towels still had good portions even though they had worn thin in spots. My solution was to cut squares from these good parts and make wash cloths by serging the edges with a wide 3 thread overlock.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


6 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
aunt saidee said...
I LOVE your idea about the extra sheet! I like the wash cloth idea, too, but I'm less apt to use that as I don't have a serger. Thanks!
8/5/07 5:21 AM
Stilltheone said...
Great idea. I just got a serger. Thanks.
8/5/07 9:11 AM
Patzee said...
I never compared the price of pillow cases vs an extra sheet -- I will now!
8/5/07 3:28 PM
SewTwin said...
Great idea for DH's that are hard on pillowcases..I will do this, especially when Target has them on sale after Thanksgiving (for $5ea in 2006) for 400count.
8/10/07 2:06 AM
HeyJane said...
That is amazingly good ideas.
8/10/07 12:41 PM
Lynnelle said...
I have done the same thing with tattered towels. Instead of using them for washcloths, I use them for cleaning and giving my DP (dear pooch) a bath. I cut off the worn parts and search the edges.
8/10/07 2:05 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Sewing Workshop Stella and Luna Tops

Sewing Workshop Stella and Luna Tops

Buy Now
SewBaby Alphabet Take-Along book Pattern

SewBaby Alphabet Take-Along book Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.