SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Inexpensive washcloths

Viewed 5304 times
Posted by: Brine
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Brine star
Member since: 11/21/04
Reviews written: 25
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
tips added: 20
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 8/4/07 12:11 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people   Very Helpful by 16 people   
I always buy an extra matching sheet to make pillowcases rather than purchasing them ready-made because it is much less expensive, so I thought, why not get a matching towel and make my own matching wash cloths? Better yet, I found that some of my favorite towels still had good portions even though they had worn thin in spots. My solution was to cut squares from these good parts and make wash cloths by serging the edges with a wide 3 thread overlock.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


6 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Lynnelle said...
I have done the same thing with tattered towels. Instead of using them for washcloths, I use them for cleaning and giving my DP (dear pooch) a bath. I cut off the worn parts and search the edges.
8/10/07 2:05 PM
HeyJane said...
That is amazingly good ideas.
8/10/07 12:41 PM
SewTwin said...
Great idea for DH's that are hard on pillowcases..I will do this, especially when Target has them on sale after Thanksgiving (for $5ea in 2006) for 400count.
8/10/07 2:06 AM
Patzee said...
I never compared the price of pillow cases vs an extra sheet -- I will now!
8/5/07 3:28 PM
Stilltheone said...
Great idea. I just got a serger. Thanks.
8/5/07 9:11 AM
aunt saidee said...
I LOVE your idea about the extra sheet! I like the wash cloth idea, too, but I'm less apt to use that as I don't have a serger. Thanks!
8/5/07 5:21 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Victoria Jones Collection Men's Classic Hawaiian Businessman's Aloha Shirt

Victoria Jones Collection Men's Classic Hawaiian Businessman's Aloha Shirt

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Reading Pillow

Sew Liberated Reading Pillow

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.