SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Tips & Techniques > Nice facing edge finish

Viewed 5370 times
Posted by: Annelune
photo

 
 
About Annelune star
NT Australia
Member since: 10/28/06
Reviews written: 15
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
tips added: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 8/16/07 7:56 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 8 people   Very Helpful by 14 people   
Featured in the PR book!
How to finish the edge of a facing nicely has been bothering me for a while. I really don't like the simple hem edge, as a bit thick and bothersome. I tried overlocking the edges and that seemed to be ok, but may not sit too well, even when well pressed, often showing through on the right side.(Not so nice to look at either, and I really like my garments to be as nice inside as outside).

My mother (who taught me to sew :-) simply folds the edge over once and hems that, but I usually sew more fray-ing fabric then she does, but it gave me this idea:

I staystitch the edge of the facing, as it is often curved, and this helps it from stretching out of shape. Then I fold over the facing edge once, (maybe about 1/2 to 1 centimetre using the staystitching as my guide because it is easy and works), press, then do a simple embroidery stitch along the edge. The folded edge is neat, and the density of the enbroidery stops the fabric fraying. It sits very flat. And the effect is so pretty!

I can do it in a contrasting colour if I feel like that effect, and it won't show on the right side. Or simply in the same thread colour as the garment.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


10 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
ryansmumAria said...
Great idea! Never thought of it but I can see how wonderful this could be. THANKS!
8/16/07 2:12 PM
KempCorr said...
What a clever idea. Thanks for posting.
8/16/07 9:53 PM
PVA said...
So *Neat*! Thanks for a great tip!
8/17/07 9:41 AM
martinanne said...
What an interesting idea! I usually serge the edge. I will try your idea...it sounds nicer!
8/17/07 10:56 AM
kkm said...
What a wonderful idea! Simple, flat and pretty. Those lovely touches are what makes sewing (and wearing) so rewarding. Many thanks.
8/18/07 7:42 AM
cathy45 said...
What a lovely and practical solution!
8/18/07 8:59 AM
aunt saidee said...
Thanks for this good tip: I'd love to see a picture of it.
8/23/07 5:50 PM
Nancywin said...
great idea. I often serge mine, but sometimes that's not the look I want. I'm going to try it.
8/24/07 9:04 PM
bhenson said...
This is an interesting option--I think I might try it next time. Another method I use often, especially on a garment (such as a jacket) that might be left open and the facing could be visible, is to sew the interfacing to the facing RST in a 1/8 inch seam along the edge you would usually edge-finish. Then turn the facing & interfacings right sides out and press the seam edge (just the very edge, if it is fusible). Then press the whole facing/interfacing combination and continue as usual with the garment construction. This leaves a very tailored, neatly finished edge to the facing. It is, however, slightly more bulky than your method, especially with heavier fabrics.
9/15/07 1:09 PM
magsann said...
Never thought of doing it this way, will give it a go when I next sew a garment with a facing, gives a bit of "pizzaz" to a garment.
2/5/08 2:50 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Beginner Sewing Lab 104 - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Beginner Sewing Lab 104  - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Buy Now
Victory Satsuki Paper Pattern

Victory Satsuki Paper Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.