SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Copying Burda magazine patterns

Viewed 5537 times
Posted by: newlywedws
photo

 
 
About newlywedws star
FL USA
Member since: 10/4/06
Reviews written: 78
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 6 people
tips added: 12
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 9/4/07 10:35 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   Very Helpful by 9 people   
Featured in the PR book!
This summer, I bought my first ever Burda WOF magazine, and didn't care for how the patterns were arranged...pattern line over pattern line, was enough to almost make me throw this magazine in the garbage...so even after trying to copy the pattern w/ misc techiniques mentioned...I finally found a way that worked for me!

I used my all-in-one printer - which has scan, copy, print capability, and I simply copied and printed the pattern -and while it did take some time to organise the pieces this technique of copying the pattern worked beautifully for me!

<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


10 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
otis said...
Now my projects that were just dreams can happen! Good idea to copy regular multi sized patterns too that need to blend sizes or are for multiple people. and have a heavier pattern to boot!
9/29/07 2:17 PM
Denny1600 said...
Good idea! And I like Seam. simple's idea, too, about reducing the WOF plus patterns, too. I've often looked at the plus patterns, liked them, then turned the page after I realized they would require too much work to fit to my (not yet plus) size.
9/14/07 12:36 PM
JBsewmonster said...
Ah, now I get it! Your tip may help me overcome my reluctance to try BWOF or Ottobre.
9/10/07 2:19 PM
newlywedws said...
Saidee...what I do to "sort the lines" is to take a highlighter, and highlight the main corner points (extending at least 1") , and then using a pen will draw small arrows at various intervals along the cutting lines. So this helps me know which pattern I'm using.
9/9/07 8:23 PM
aunt saidee said...
I'm confused: when you copy the pattern, don't you still have lots of lines to sort through? My studio is all packed up for a re-org right now, so I can't get an Ottobre out to look at it; maybe the answer is obvious...?
9/9/07 1:02 AM
Seamingly Simple said...
Hmmm. It seems to me that this technique could be used to scale those fabulous plus-sized patterns down to regular or petite sizes, by printing at a percentage of the original size.
9/7/07 11:27 PM
eleda said...
Thanks for the great idea. I subscribe to Ottobre and hate having to trace patterns. I'm going to try this.
9/6/07 10:37 AM
Grammy Gin said...
Great Idea!!! I might have to try this technique also. After I just ordered graphite paper for tracing...:)
9/5/07 9:53 AM
JBShag said...
Thanks! Great solution!
9/5/07 6:17 AM
LindaO said...
What a great idea. I have one of these printers too and I'd rather spend time printing and taping than tracing, which I hate. Thanks!
9/4/07 3:46 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Sewn Square One Paper Bag Pant Pattern

Sewn Square One Paper Bag Pant Pattern

Buy Now
Miranda Day Bag

Miranda Day Bag

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.