SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Tips & Techniques > Non-Slip Liner

Viewed 5462 times
Posted by: 2BSewing
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About 2BSewing starstarstar
VA USA
Member since: 3/7/05
Reviews written: 79
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 51 people
tips added: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 9/6/07 8:53 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   Very Helpful by 6 people   
I had a problem with my sewing machine foot pedal moving around underneath my sewing table. I had some of this non-slip liner and thought I would give it a try under the pedal. It works like a charm on my carpet and I know it will work great on wood and tiled floors.

Every now and then I will have to reposition my pedal and liner, but that is after several weeks of use.

I also have this liner on my sewing machine table (next to my SM) to keep my notions (e.g. threads, bobbins, pin cushions) from rolling off the table. I also use it near my embroidery machine especially when that machine starts to vibrate the table. It's easy to cut to fit the corners or curves of your sewing table.

This non-slip liner is available at Walmart in different colors. Right now they have some basic colors in stock like beige, blue, white, etc. As you may know, when Walmart stock changes (and quickly) so do the colors.

I have included some photos:

My Sewing Machine Pedal and Non-Slip Liner

Non-Slip Liner label (Walmart)


<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


9 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Susan M said...
I've also purchased this waffle weave liner from grocery stores and Costco. Good idea for an additional use.
9/6/07 10:21 PM
newlywedws said...
I also use non-slip liner for the same thing :)
9/7/07 1:25 AM
martinanne said...
I use the liner for under my machines. I hadn't thought of using it for the foot pedal. Great idea!!
9/7/07 9:26 AM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
Hi! I have hardwood floors. The waffle weave liner works pretty good--lots better than other things!!
9/7/07 12:51 PM
Grammy Gin said...
Wonderful tip, thanks. I used an old mouse pad but since the top was slippery, the pedal moved. Maybe I will just turn it on the other side until I can get some liner.
9/7/07 5:14 PM
solosmocker said...
I use this also. Awesome stuff! It is also great in the bottom of the vegetable drawer in the fridge, Who Knew?
9/7/07 6:14 PM
MaryFran said...
I also put this under my machines and I extend it over about 10" on the right so when I lay my scissors and other tools down on the formica table top , they make no noise, it also works well on my study area table top which is wood. much quiter if someone is sleeping in a nearby room. Thanks for your tip.
9/8/07 10:14 AM
mssewcrazy said...
I have covered my whole sewing tables with recycled carpet pads from daughter's college days. I ran it through the washer and air dryed it before using.
9/14/07 6:59 AM
Aunt Gail said...
I have used this exact stuff in my last 3 moves in the 5 years. I love it. Did you all know that it is MACHINE washable??? Put it in on the GENTLE cycle, air dry and its ready to go.
6/14/08 9:50 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

You Sew Girl Evening Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Evening Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Designer Dress Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Designer Dress Shirt Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.