SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Only ZIGZAG pressure foot sews zigzag?!

Viewed 5143 times
Posted by: Rhonda in Montreal
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Rhonda in Montreal star
QC CANADA
Member since: 12/9/04
Reviews written: 41
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 15 people
tips added: 5
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 9/28/07 9:26 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   Very Helpful by 4 people   
Featured in the PR book!
Hi! I just tried out my new (expensive) Teflon foot. Wanted a zigzag stitch, so set everything up. Guess what!? I "drilled" a hole right into the side of my Teflon foot!! (It still works fine... Just has a "piercing".)
I THOUGHT you could zigzag with any pressure foot... Maybe I'm the only clueless one... But, in case there's someone else who doesn't know--thought I'd post this DO NOT tip!!

<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


11 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Merry G said...
does the foot have a narrow opening ...because any foot I have works on zigzag if it is open enough in the center of the foot...ie not a straight stitch foot...I hope this makes sense....
9/29/07 5:31 AM
BillieJean said...
It's nice to be reminded that not every pessure foot has a wide enough opening for a zig zag stitch.
9/29/07 6:33 AM
vasallese said...
Yes, unfortunately experience is the best teacher lots of time. Also, remember that if you have a small hole on your plate (I can change my plate on my Bernina), you cannot zig-zag through that. All you will do is break your needle. We get into what we are doing sometimes & forget to check everything before we change the stitch. But, at least you are having fun.
9/29/07 7:05 AM
BeckyC said...
I have a Bernina too, so I'll have to check my Teflon foot. Sounds like you went through a needle too! Thanks for the warning!
9/29/07 9:46 AM
gaginny said...
I use my teflon foot all the time...straight stitch and zigzag.....no problem.....it is my "foot of preference" for a lot of things. My machine is a Brother .....ULT......I don't know if that makes a difference or not.
9/29/07 9:53 AM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
Hi gaginny! I bought a Janome to fit my Kenmore...
9/29/07 10:29 AM
Brine said...
Rhonda, I think this is something that many of us have inadvertantly done. The best advice I have received is that when you try out a new foot you should hand turn the wheel a couple of times to see if the needle will clear the hole in the foot before you put your foot to the pedal.
9/29/07 12:33 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
Hey Brine!! Wherewazya yesterday!! LOL!!
9/29/07 2:55 PM
Mufffet said...
And when you buy a Janome foot for a Kenmore or vice versa, you also have to make sure that the foot is compatible with your particular machines width possibilities. For example my Kenmore has the 7mm stitch possibility, and the Kenmore foot for the Kenmore machine with only a 5mm width will not work. I tried with the button foot - they are usually delineated as the feet for vertical bobbin OR horizontal bobbin machines. I killed a foot myself - and drilled a hole in my son's Euro-pro's cover plate (plastic) with an improper setting...not the same, but still pretty embarrassing and pretty dumb on my part. Carefully use the hand wheel with your choice of stitch on any new foot really - I killed the overedge foot for my Kenmore that came with it!! Took effort, but I managed...HAHAHhahhhaa....
10/1/07 3:24 PM
Trinity. said...
LOL! I did the same thing with my roller foot. It, too, has a "piercing"!
10/26/07 2:47 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
Timely reminder, xenophea! I'm picking up my new roller foot today!!
10/27/07 10:43 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

You Sew Girl Fan Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Fan Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Now & Zen Shirts Pattern

Sewing Workshop Now & Zen Shirts Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.