SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Picking Up Thread Crumbs on Carpet

Viewed 5233 times
Posted by: BeckyC
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About BeckyC star
MN USA
Member since: 5/8/04
Reviews written: 35
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 14 people
tips added: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 10/4/07 3:31 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people   Very Helpful by 12 people   
Featured in the PR book!
I'm doing a major cleaning of my sewing room and wanted to pick up the thread crumbs on the carpet around my waste basket before I vacuumed. I had an used dryer sheet balled up in my hand -- used to dust corners of dog hair -- and swiped the sheet across my Berber carpet and the thread clung to it! I've been doing it all afternoon and have decided I needed to share this idea with my FoPR!

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


6 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
OP Gal said...
Great tip. Who of us doesn't have thread crumbs on the carpet in our sewing rooms? I'll use this tip often.
10/10/07 7:43 AM
Karine said...
I have two Golden Retrievers that like to sleep in my sewing room - thanks for the tip!
10/5/07 3:18 PM
PattiAnnJ said...
An addendum to my original comment - the Swiffer CarpetFlick does pick up threads when used properly - big DUH for me!
10/5/07 12:07 PM
PattiAnnJ said...
Neat (cool/sweet) & neat (clean/tidy) both! Could you wrap it around a lint roller, attach to something like a painting pole (no bending) and roll up the thread? There are two swiffer products, one is the traditional/duster/wet mop that I cannot live without (green stick and pad) and the other ("orange"CarpetFlick) is for picking up crumbs, dirt & leaves, in other words, lots of texture. It uses a replaceable sticky cartridge. I think the green one rotates to much to be effective & thread is not "textured" enough for the "orange" one to work that well - if thread were sequins it would be great!
10/5/07 11:59 AM
roz blair said...
I wrapped and old spongemop with wide packing tape inside out which works great! I bet you could fit an old dryer sheet into a swifter which would also work.
10/5/07 9:31 AM
Joey in Katy said...
Cool -- I was about to try a ball of duct tape, but this sounds easier!
10/4/07 6:00 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Sew Liberated Flora Tunic and Twirly Skirt

Sew Liberated Flora Tunic and Twirly Skirt

Buy Now
Paradiso Designs Tiny Handbag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Tiny Handbag Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.