SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Picking Up Thread Crumbs on Carpet

Viewed 5182 times
Posted by: BeckyC
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About BeckyC star
MN USA
Member since: 5/8/04
Reviews written: 35
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 14 people
tips added: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 10/4/07 3:31 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people   Very Helpful by 12 people   
Featured in the PR book!
I'm doing a major cleaning of my sewing room and wanted to pick up the thread crumbs on the carpet around my waste basket before I vacuumed. I had an used dryer sheet balled up in my hand -- used to dust corners of dog hair -- and swiped the sheet across my Berber carpet and the thread clung to it! I've been doing it all afternoon and have decided I needed to share this idea with my FoPR!

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


6 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Joey in Katy said...
Cool -- I was about to try a ball of duct tape, but this sounds easier!
10/4/07 6:00 PM
roz blair said...
I wrapped and old spongemop with wide packing tape inside out which works great! I bet you could fit an old dryer sheet into a swifter which would also work.
10/5/07 9:31 AM
PattiAnnJ said...
Neat (cool/sweet) & neat (clean/tidy) both! Could you wrap it around a lint roller, attach to something like a painting pole (no bending) and roll up the thread? There are two swiffer products, one is the traditional/duster/wet mop that I cannot live without (green stick and pad) and the other ("orange"CarpetFlick) is for picking up crumbs, dirt & leaves, in other words, lots of texture. It uses a replaceable sticky cartridge. I think the green one rotates to much to be effective & thread is not "textured" enough for the "orange" one to work that well - if thread were sequins it would be great!
10/5/07 11:59 AM
PattiAnnJ said...
An addendum to my original comment - the Swiffer CarpetFlick does pick up threads when used properly - big DUH for me!
10/5/07 12:07 PM
Karine said...
I have two Golden Retrievers that like to sleep in my sewing room - thanks for the tip!
10/5/07 3:18 PM
OP Gal said...
Great tip. Who of us doesn't have thread crumbs on the carpet in our sewing rooms? I'll use this tip often.
10/10/07 7:43 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Sew Liberated Brynna Dress Pattern

Sew Liberated Brynna Dress Pattern

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Travel Trio Three

Christine Jonson Travel Trio Three

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.