Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review


Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Find a member
MY Stuff
Friends of PR Benefits
My Pattern Reviews
My Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Widget
Photo Album
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Calendar
Deal Corner
Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine Central
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review Requests
Read All Review Requests
Add a Review Request
Live Chats
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
See all Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
all contests
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
SEWER (Tip/Technique)
Viewed 5208 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 9 people   
Posted by: PattiAnnJ
photo
About PattiAnnJ star
Member since: 12/3/06
Reviews written: 45
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 2 people
tips added: 18
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 10/5/07 11:34 AM
Last Updated: 7/10/11 2:33 PM
Featured in the PR book!
I bought this product several years ago when it was recommend for sewing with metallic thread.

I have used it for cleaning and lubricating cutting tools, but it really saved the day when I found I could use it when sewing sticky-back Velcro.

Not everyone is going to buy sticky-back Velcro for sewing products, but I had about three yards of it that I had recycled from another project and didn't want to throw it out.

My old dog has inoperable tumors on her leg than needs to be wrapped, The expense of first aid products was getting ridiculous, so I had a "brain storm" of recycling an old t-shirt into a wrap for her leg, using the old Velcro.

It worked, except for the needle getting so gummy that I could only stitch an inch or so at a time.

Enter Sewer's Aid! I positioned the Velcro, ran a bead of SA along the edge, where I would stitch and had great success.

Ginger (original spicegirl) now has several wraps that I can change often, wash, sanitize and reuse.

She is 15 years old collie/shepherd mix and our vet calls her the miracle dog. She has the tumors, heart murmur, arthritis and probably a few unknowns, but can still give the neighbors cat a run for it's money!

Since the original posting, Ginger had to be put down. We now have a wonderful dog we adopted from a no-kill shelter and he is at my side 24/7 - a real Buddy!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site

<< Previous Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
crashnquilt said...
I apply sewer's aid to my needle if I'm sewing thru anything that has been fused. The needle slides right thru and doesn't get gummy.
10/5/07 1:26 PM
SusiM said...
Thanks for the tip. I've run in to the gummed needle problem, too.
10/6/07 1:05 AM
granny geek said...
Never heard of sewers aid...wow. Sounds like a great product...I can think of all kinds of uses for it. Thanks for the tip. Ill look out for it next time I go shopping. Best wishes to Ginger...it sounds like you are a good dogmom.
10/6/07 1:06 AM
gaginny said...
GO Ginger!
10/6/07 9:42 AM
mtgirl said...
Ginger sounds great.My large 13 yr old black lab/shepard mix has many huge,inoperable but non-cancerous tumors and arthritis also.He is actually doing great.
10/6/07 3:42 PM
DrFill said...
Just to clarify, are you applying it to the Velcro, the needle, or the thread?
10/10/07 8:47 PM
PattiAnnJ said...
Re-read paragraph 6 -- run a bead of SA along the edge (meaning the Velcro).
10/11/07 10:29 AM
keitswiff said...
Sa also overcomes horrific Boo Boo of putting Fray Check onto spool of metallic thread in an effort to prevent breakage! Wish the containers were not so similar!
10/24/07 12:10 PM
PattiAnnJ said...
Use a magic marker - any color but blue- to run a line of color on the cap of the Sewer's Aid so it is not confused with Fray Check, which is the same type and similar size bottle as SA, but with a bright blue cap.
10/25/07 1:52 PM
Sew Alto said...
Thanks for the details. I too was battling with the Velcro sticky goo! I just heard about this at my sewing group and wanted to know more!
7/14/10 1:23 PM

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us