SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > SEWER

Viewed 5371 times
Posted by: PattiAnnJ
photo

 
 
About PattiAnnJ star
United States
Member since: 12/3/06
Reviews written: 45
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 2 people
tips added: 18
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 10/5/07 11:34 AM
Last Updated: 7/10/11 2:33 PM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 9 people   
Featured in the PR book!
I bought this product several years ago when it was recommend for sewing with metallic thread.

I have used it for cleaning and lubricating cutting tools, but it really saved the day when I found I could use it when sewing sticky-back Velcro.

Not everyone is going to buy sticky-back Velcro for sewing products, but I had about three yards of it that I had recycled from another project and didn't want to throw it out.

My old dog has inoperable tumors on her leg than needs to be wrapped, The expense of first aid products was getting ridiculous, so I had a "brain storm" of recycling an old t-shirt into a wrap for her leg, using the old Velcro.

It worked, except for the needle getting so gummy that I could only stitch an inch or so at a time.

Enter Sewer's Aid! I positioned the Velcro, ran a bead of SA along the edge, where I would stitch and had great success.

Ginger (original spicegirl) now has several wraps that I can change often, wash, sanitize and reuse.

She is 15 years old collie/shepherd mix and our vet calls her the miracle dog. She has the tumors, heart murmur, arthritis and probably a few unknowns, but can still give the neighbors cat a run for it's money!

Since the original posting, Ginger had to be put down. We now have a wonderful dog we adopted from a no-kill shelter and he is at my side 24/7 - a real Buddy!

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


10 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
crashnquilt said...
I apply sewer's aid to my needle if I'm sewing thru anything that has been fused. The needle slides right thru and doesn't get gummy.
10/5/07 1:26 PM
SusiM said...
Thanks for the tip. I've run in to the gummed needle problem, too.
10/6/07 1:05 AM
granny geek said...
Never heard of sewers aid...wow. Sounds like a great product...I can think of all kinds of uses for it. Thanks for the tip. Ill look out for it next time I go shopping. Best wishes to Ginger...it sounds like you are a good dogmom.
10/6/07 1:06 AM
gaginny said...
GO Ginger!
10/6/07 9:42 AM
mtgirl said...
Ginger sounds great.My large 13 yr old black lab/shepard mix has many huge,inoperable but non-cancerous tumors and arthritis also.He is actually doing great.
10/6/07 3:42 PM
DrFill said...
Just to clarify, are you applying it to the Velcro, the needle, or the thread?
10/10/07 8:47 PM
PattiAnnJ said...
Re-read paragraph 6 -- run a bead of SA along the edge (meaning the Velcro).
10/11/07 10:29 AM
keitswiff said...
Sa also overcomes horrific Boo Boo of putting Fray Check onto spool of metallic thread in an effort to prevent breakage! Wish the containers were not so similar!
10/24/07 12:10 PM
PattiAnnJ said...
Use a magic marker - any color but blue- to run a line of color on the cap of the Sewer's Aid so it is not confused with Fray Check, which is the same type and similar size bottle as SA, but with a bright blue cap.
10/25/07 1:52 PM
Sew Alto said...
Thanks for the details. I too was battling with the Velcro sticky goo! I just heard about this at my sewing group and wanted to know more!
7/14/10 1:23 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

DRESS LINES - A CD Book by Kenneth King

DRESS LINES - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems The Ultimate Kinsale Cloak Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems The Ultimate Kinsale Cloak Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.