SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Expo Reviews > American Sewing Expo

Michigan, UNITED STATES
Viewed 5536 times
Posted by: Therisa
photo

 
 
About Therisa starstar
MI USA
Member since: 4/1/07
Reviews written: 138
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 8 people
expos reviewed: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 10/5/07 12:28 PM
Rating: star
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   Very Helpful by 3 people   
Web site/URL: photo
Ok this expo was good for quilters but not so good for garment sewers. The classes were not at a high enough level for me or for my friend (both experienced sewists) and we were not at all satisfied with the offerings in the expo. Most of the fabric was appropriate for quilting, we would rather just drive to the couple of stores that we know about which have high-end fabric. Basically we are experienced in shopping in major world cities and this felt like a state fair. We didn't buy A THING so we are going to Chicago next week to go to Fishman's and Vogue.

<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Add Sewing Expo Review    Read All Sewing Expo Reviews


6 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
linda1010 said...
Describe what classes you tried and whether you signed up for advanced classes.
11/28/07 7:28 AM
M & M said...
While there was lot of quilting fabric there, they apparently missed the great selection of Silk panels offered by many vendors. We took 5 classes. Some were better than others but overall we were well satisfied with the weekend.
11/14/07 2:09 PM
Sew_Creative said...
My ? to all this is I thought that piggyannie was the winner you know the PR member that went to Paris were these not one in the same contest? I'm confused
11/12/07 9:45 AM
Quilter48 said...
I also was at the expo & found it very helpful.
10/14/07 5:14 AM
Tere Sews said...
I agree that it is fun to get out of your local area for a change. I came to Novi from New Hampshire and found some tempting fabric buys that I can't get in the Boston area. I also took the opportunity to do some fabric dying, beading and other creative classes and threw in some Connie Crawford to satisfy my need for sewing education. What I really liked was the variety of vendors. It was a good thing I packed an extra duffle bag! My friend and I hope to come back again sometime.
10/8/07 7:05 PM
SillyValley said...
thanks for your review. I really wanted to attend but couldn't get out of town and now I don't feel so bad for having missed it. Maybe next year will be a better one?
10/5/07 5:27 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
All About Linings
All About Linings

Register

Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Designer Dress Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Designer Dress Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Evening Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Evening Bag Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.