SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fabulous Fit
Fabulous Fit

Expo Reviews > American Sewing Expo

Viewed 5771 times
Posted by: Therisa

About Therisa starstar
Member since: 4/1/07
Reviews: 139 (expos: 1)
Skill level:Advanced
Favored by: 8 people
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 10/5/07 12:28 PM
Rating: star
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   Very Helpful by 3 people   
Web site/URL: photo
Ok this expo was good for quilters but not so good for garment sewers. The classes were not at a high enough level for me or for my friend (both experienced sewists) and we were not at all satisfied with the offerings in the expo. Most of the fabric was appropriate for quilting, we would rather just drive to the couple of stores that we know about which have high-end fabric. Basically we are experienced in shopping in major world cities and this felt like a state fair. We didn't buy A THING so we are going to Chicago next week to go to Fishman's and Vogue.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Sewing Expo Review    Read All Sewing Expo Reviews

Login to Add a Comment    
linda1010 said... (11/28/07 7:28 AM) Reply
Describe what classes you tried and whether you signed up for advanced classes.
M & M said... (11/14/07 2:09 PM) Reply
While there was lot of quilting fabric there, they apparently missed the great selection of Silk panels offered by many vendors. We took 5 classes. Some were better than others but overall we were well satisfied with the weekend.
Sew_Creative said... (11/12/07 9:45 AM) Reply
My ? to all this is I thought that piggyannie was the winner you know the PR member that went to Paris were these not one in the same contest? I'm confused
Quilter48 said... (10/14/07 5:14 AM) Reply
I also was at the expo & found it very helpful.
Tere Sews said... (10/8/07 7:05 PM) Reply
I agree that it is fun to get out of your local area for a change. I came to Novi from New Hampshire and found some tempting fabric buys that I can't get in the Boston area. I also took the opportunity to do some fabric dying, beading and other creative classes and threw in some Connie Crawford to satisfy my need for sewing education. What I really liked was the variety of vendors. It was a good thing I packed an extra duffle bag! My friend and I hope to come back again sometime.
SillyValley said... (10/5/07 5:27 PM) Reply
thanks for your review. I really wanted to attend but couldn't get out of town and now I don't feel so bad for having missed it. Maybe next year will be a better one?
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
Online Class
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Class Details

Online Class
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Class Details

J Stern Designs Ribbon Skirt Pattern

J Stern Designs Ribbon Skirt Pattern

Pattern Details
Christine Jonson Slit Skirt & Pencil Skirt

Christine Jonson Slit Skirt & Pencil Skirt

Pattern Details

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2015® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.