SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Making thread racks behave

Viewed 5446 times
Posted by: Patti B
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Patti B starstarstarstar
Member since: 9/29/02
Reviews written: 170
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 71 people
tips added: 10
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 10/9/07 3:02 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people   Very Helpful by 15 people   
Web site/URL: photo
Featured in the PR book!
This tip seems to have vanished into the cyber-basement. Recently I posted a plea for help on the PR message boards. I wanted to mount thread racks on a closet door without ruining the door and several great suggestions saved the day. I used the over the door hooks which were lurking in the laundry room and started placing spools on the rack. Yecch! I had forgotten why I hated these things -- the spools would not stay on the racks. Now admittedly, I'm using them for embroidery and serger spools which aren't the size they were made for. A box of plastic straws to the rescue. I cut them approximately in thirds and used them as 'dowel extenders.' Now the spools stay where they are placed. Eureka. Isn't it nice when it takes so little to make someone happy? ;-)

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


14 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Kirstenw said...
Thats exactly the advice I am needing
7/8/08 12:14 PM
Patti B said...
kkoswalt, take a close look at the photo and you will see a white plastic over-the-door hook to the right of the 2d spool on the top row, upper left. You can't see the one on the right end. The photo is enlargable when it opens in the new window if that would help.
10/15/07 10:23 AM
kkoswalt said...
I am not sure what kind of over-the-door hooks she is talking about
10/14/07 4:04 PM
runnerchicki said...
EXCELLENT TIP!! My husband just mounted pegboard for me, and I hung my thread racks on it..only to discover that the large spools would not stay on the rack because the pegs were too short. I used this tip, and it works great! Thanks a lot.. this saved me a lot of money because I was ready to go buy the more expensive racks with the longer pegs.
10/13/07 12:09 PM
BeckyC said...
What a great and simple tip! Thank you!
10/12/07 8:11 AM
cathy45 said...
Simply brilliant.
10/11/07 7:25 PM
Campbell said...
Patti B, I do the same thing but with my table top thread rack and my embroidery thread. If I need to change bobbin color, I place the bobbin on the straw extension with the thread and then it reminds me to change the bobbin .
10/10/07 11:22 AM
craftyrose said...
What a great tip, thanks so much!!
10/10/07 9:20 AM
Mary in MS said...
VERY clever idea, thanks :)
10/10/07 8:58 AM
OP Gal said...
What a clever idea. Thanks for posting it.
10/10/07 7:40 AM
NoraNora said...
The coolest thing is you can store different types of thread on the same rack! Thanks for the tip.
10/10/07 7:23 AM
Rebecca D said...
I love this tip! Thanks so much. I end up laying my wooly nylon spools on the top row, which isn't the greatest and now I will do this instead.
10/10/07 6:47 AM
Nancywin said...
I do remember reading this tip a long time ago. Thanks for the reminder. I do have different size racks for different kinds of thread, but there's always that time when you need a little extra.
10/9/07 5:20 PM
SouthernStitch said...
Oh Patti B, thank you! This is just what I needed.
10/9/07 4:28 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Class Details

Online Class
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Class Details

You Sew Girl Beauty Case Pattern

You Sew Girl Beauty Case Pattern

More Info
Sewing Workshop Oasis Skirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop Oasis Skirt Pattern

More Info

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.