SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Tips & Techniques > Presser foot alternative for sewing suede

Viewed 5274 times
Posted by: leanmeansewingmachine
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About leanmeansewingmachine starstar
OH USA
Member since: 8/20/05
Reviews written: 67
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 25 people
tips added: 2
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 10/24/07 8:09 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people   Very Helpful by 8 people   
Web site/URL: photo
I recently made a jumper with some ultrasuede (facile). Since I don't have a teflon foot and didn't intend to invest in one, I decided to try something new. I put a piece of tape on the bottom of my presser foot. The tape doesn't have a shiny finish and it worked really well, much better than without the tape.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


8 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
ryan's mom said...
Just regular scotch or "scotch-like" tape? This sounds quick and easy to me :) !
10/25/07 6:31 AM
martinanne said...
This is a great tip, that was posted last year as well: http://sewing.patternreview.com/cgi-bin/review/readreview.pl?readreview=1&ID=1286 Such a great alternative to purchasing yet another specialty foot.
10/25/07 9:03 AM
tweedcurtain said...
Martinanne, I had encouraged this poster to put her tip here as I thought it was fantastic and would not get the airplay it deserves buried in her review. I first checked by searching for tape in the tips section and when it did not come up in the report, I figured it should be added. I think the search funtion is not working well as it only listed tips from 2002 and 2003. I'll report it to Deepika.
10/26/07 5:36 PM
Nini28 said...
What was the nature of the sewing issue with ultrasuede that made you feel you needed to put tape on the bottom of the foot or use a teflon foot?
10/27/07 11:58 AM
Huldra said...
Wow! Great tip! At least where I live, and for my machine, presserfeet are terribly expensive. Thank you!
10/31/07 7:46 AM
leanmeansewingmachine said...
Sorry for not responding earlier. I forgot to check the comments on this tip. ryan's mom - It's just regular scotch tape with a matte finish. Nini26 - The issue with the ultrasuede is that the top layer of fabric sticks to a regular presser foot while the feed dogs push the lower layer through so you end up with an uneven seam. The best option would be to invest in either a teflon presser foot or an even-feed/walking foot. These feet make sure the two layers of fabric feed through more evenly.
12/6/07 10:12 PM
Big Dog said...
An inexpensive faux teflon foot can be made with some teflon tape available at your local hardware stores plumbing department. Teflon tape has no adhesive, but it cling to metal easily. Just trim a bit of it to fit the contours of the bottom of your sewing foot and finger press into place. I keep a roll in my notions tray. It's also handy to place a strip on each side of the feed dogs on the throat plate if you're sewing on vinyl.
4/21/08 8:37 AM
Victoria1 said...
great idea! I thought I would have to purchase teflon tape, but never thought clear tape would work
7/19/08 3:48 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

The Technique of Underlining Garments
The Technique of Underlining Garments

Register

Favorite Things Eco Market Tote Pattern

Favorite Things Eco Market Tote Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Fleece-Easy Hats Pattern

SewBaby Fleece-Easy Hats Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.