Online Sewing Class: Altering Jackets
SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Presser foot alternative for sewing suede

Viewed 5521 times
Posted by: leanmeansewingmachine
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About leanmeansewingmachine starstar
OH USA
Member since: 8/20/05
Reviews: 67 (tips: 2)
Skill level:Advanced
Favored by: 25 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 10/24/07 8:09 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people   Very Helpful by 8 people   
Web site/URL: photo
I recently made a jumper with some ultrasuede (facile). Since I don't have a teflon foot and didn't intend to invest in one, I decided to try something new. I put a piece of tape on the bottom of my presser foot. The tape doesn't have a shiny finish and it worked really well, much better than without the tape.

<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

O! Jolly! Shop


Sweater Knit Fabrics
Web site

Amulet Swim Fabrics


Poly/PBT swimwear fabric
Web site

Vesta Patterns


vestapatterns.com
Web site

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


8 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Victoria1 said... (7/19/08 3:48 PM) Reply
great idea! I thought I would have to purchase teflon tape, but never thought clear tape would work
Big Dog said... (4/21/08 8:37 AM) Reply
An inexpensive faux teflon foot can be made with some teflon tape available at your local hardware stores plumbing department. Teflon tape has no adhesive, but it cling to metal easily. Just trim a bit of it to fit the contours of the bottom of your sewing foot and finger press into place. I keep a roll in my notions tray. It's also handy to place a strip on each side of the feed dogs on the throat plate if you're sewing on vinyl.
leanmeansewingmachine said... (12/6/07 10:12 PM) Reply
Sorry for not responding earlier. I forgot to check the comments on this tip. ryan's mom - It's just regular scotch tape with a matte finish. Nini26 - The issue with the ultrasuede is that the top layer of fabric sticks to a regular presser foot while the feed dogs push the lower layer through so you end up with an uneven seam. The best option would be to invest in either a teflon presser foot or an even-feed/walking foot. These feet make sure the two layers of fabric feed through more evenly.
Huldra said... (10/31/07 7:46 AM) Reply
Wow! Great tip! At least where I live, and for my machine, presserfeet are terribly expensive. Thank you!
Nini28 said... (10/27/07 11:58 AM) Reply
What was the nature of the sewing issue with ultrasuede that made you feel you needed to put tape on the bottom of the foot or use a teflon foot?
tweedcurtain said... (10/26/07 5:36 PM) Reply
Martinanne, I had encouraged this poster to put her tip here as I thought it was fantastic and would not get the airplay it deserves buried in her review. I first checked by searching for tape in the tips section and when it did not come up in the report, I figured it should be added. I think the search funtion is not working well as it only listed tips from 2002 and 2003. I'll report it to Deepika.
martinanne said... (10/25/07 9:03 AM) Reply
This is a great tip, that was posted last year as well: http://sewing.patternreview.com/cgi-bin/review/readreview.pl?readreview=1&ID=1286 Such a great alternative to purchasing yet another specialty foot.
ryan's mom said... (10/25/07 6:31 AM) Reply
Just regular scotch or "scotch-like" tape? This sounds quick and easy to me :) !
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2015 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.