SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Using elastic thread for shirring

Viewed 6785 times
Posted by: StacyCK
photo

 
 
About StacyCK
USA
Member since: 2/27/07
Reviews written: 7
Sewing skills:Intermediate
tips added: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 11/7/07 9:08 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people   Very Helpful by 20 people   
Web site/URL: photo
Featured in the PR book!
I use elastic thread all the time in making clothes for my daughter. You can easily make a fitted halter dress for the summer with this technique.

You can find elastic thread at any fabric store with a good notions supply. It can be found with the rest of the elastic, not the thread.

1. Hand wind the bobbin with the elastic thread and don't pull it.

2. Use regular thread for your top thread.

3. Set your stitch lenght to the longest stitch and I usually set the tension around 3-4.

4. Cut your fabric with at least a 2:1 ratio for the size you need. For my daughter I cut a piece 10"x22" for the back of her dress.

5. Hem the top of the piece first. It is difficult to do when it is all bunched up.

6. Start sewing in long straight lines. You can trace your guidelines if you want or just go slowly. I use the sewing lines as a guide for distance. I go down three stitches in between each line.

7. When you are done sewing your lines, tie the two threads together. It is hard to use and anchoring stitch with the elastic thread, so tying them together is necessary.

8. Now if it didn't shirr enough while you were sewing, you can use a steam iron to bring it out. It usually shirrs more when I put the outfit in the dryer, too.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


7 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Leslie in NZ said...
Stacy, thank you for this tip. I have always wondered how hard it is to sew straight lines once the first row of shirring is in. Does the fabric bunch up? Do you have to hold it flat firmly and does that harm the previous shirring?
11/7/07 2:05 PM
StacyCK said...
It is a little bit difficult to sew straight lines once the first row is in as the fabric does bunch up. You have to go slow and I do pull the shirring semi-flat so the next row goes in better. My lines aren't exactly ruler straight, but you don't notice when they are off a little. Unless you look really hard! ;)
11/7/07 2:25 PM
Helen near Sydney said...
Added this to my Favourites file for future use, thankyou.
11/9/07 2:24 AM
AntheaK said...
i am desperate for help!! i have tried every listed by everyone i.e done exactly what you wrote above and more (elastic shirring thread in bobbin, normal for top thread etc etc). The problem i have is that it is like the elastic shirring thread is being sretched tight and then sewn onto the fabric leaving me with no stretch what so ever!! please help!! could you email me at anthea.k@bigpond.com with your response???!!!??
8/31/08 8:03 AM
richellej said...
Anthea I think it has to do with the machine. Some of the computerized ones won't shirr correctly. My Janome did a beautiful job but with my new Pfaff I have the same problem with the elastic being super tight. I've tried everything and can't get it to shirr right.
11/11/08 10:12 PM
kojo said...
i AM A PART TIME DRESSMAKER AND I GAIN ALOT FROM INQUIRIES THAT I OFTEN MAKE. I HOPE TO ALSO CONTRIBUTE SOON FOR OTHERS TO LEARN OR SHARE.
4/28/10 7:49 AM
Scousegal said...
Yeah! Been searching everywhere. The one tip I wanted is here. Hem the top B4 gathering. Simple but needed. Great info
8/19/11 7:07 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Fit For Art Eureka! Pants that Fit Pattern

Fit For Art Eureka! Pants that Fit Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Soho Coat Pattern

Sewing Workshop Soho Coat Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.