SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Quick Way to Clean Iron Soleplate

Viewed 5249 times
Posted by: mommietothree0
photo

 
 
About mommietothree0
Member since: 10/19/05
Reviews written: 1
Sewing skills:Intermediate
tips added: 1
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 11/9/07 11:36 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 8 people   
Featured in the PR book!
I have a Rowenta Professional Iron that is fairly old but had sticky, melted on gunk on the soleplate. I think the stuff came from making my son's halloween costume and the fusing web I was using. I was anticipating a lengthy scrubbing session to make it usable again when I came upon a possible solution. I sprayed Dawn Power Dissolve (available in supermarkets next to Dawn dishwashing liquid) on the soleplate. I let it sit about ten minutes and wiped it clean with a handiwipe. I could not believe it! No scrubbing at all. I'm not sure I'd have tried it if the iron had been new. I'm sure glad I did. I did run a half tank of water thru the steam tank to be sure none had gotten inside the iron through the holes. Just fill the iron with water, hold it over the sink and press the burst of steam or self cleaning feature until the water is gone. Hope it works for you guys, too!

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


9 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Snell said...
Great tip. Thanks, going to give this one a try.
12/6/07 10:57 AM
mezzobean said...
This suggestion has been posted by others before, but my favorite way to clean iron gunk is with a used fabric softener sheet - it REALLY works, even on accidental fusible web gunk.
11/25/07 8:37 PM
mcarr719 said...
I have some of this stuff that I bought to clean my outdoor grill -- but I think I will try it on the sole plate of my iron instead.
11/15/07 3:02 PM
blackthumb said...
I tried this and it is great! I have an old Sunbeam dry iron that I bought at an antique store and it is always getting too hot (It works but heating is unstable). The local store stopped stocking iron cleaner. If I wanted any we had to drive 70 miles to buy some.
11/15/07 0:38 AM
blackthumb said...
I tried this and it is great! I have an old Sunbeam dry iron that I bought at an antique store and it is always getting too hot (It works but heating is unstable). The local store stopped stocking iron cleaner. If I wanted any we had to drive 70 miles to buy some.
11/15/07 0:37 AM
MelissaB in WA said...
I'm going to have to try that - I wish my iron had a non-stick sole plate on it, but atlas it doesn't so mine gets gunky too. Thanks for the tip!
11/10/07 11:38 PM
Susan M said...
Whoa, what a great discovery!
11/10/07 3:56 PM
CSM--Carla said...
Thanks, I'll try this!
11/10/07 1:50 PM
Merry G said...
I love this for pots too...it works great!
11/10/07 8:36 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Petite Plus 102 Pattern

Petite Plus 102 Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things A Billfold Pattern

Favorite Things A Billfold Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.