SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Stabilizing Rolled Hems on Delicate Fabrics

Viewed 5436 times
Posted by: CharityAK
photo

 
 
About CharityAK starstar
AK USA
Member since: 11/4/07
Reviews written: 91
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 16 people
tips added: 16
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 11/11/07 2:35 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 16 people   
Web site/URL: photo
Featured in the PR book!
While attempting a rolled hem in the sheer above, I kept having problems with the rolled hem perforating and breaking away from the fabric. I tried a variety of stitch lengths and density, but the problem continued.

So I laid the hem along a length of fusible webbing tape as I serged the rolled edge so that about half the tape was cut away and the other half lay under the rolled hem. It was able to grab hold of the webbing and the hem no longer pulled away from the dress skirt. I then pressed the hem (low setting) and the webbing fused the hem even more securely.

Charity

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


10 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Sew_Creative said...
and you said you never sewed on fancy fabrics I think you know more than you led me to believe.
11/11/07 12:24 PM
CharityAK said...
This wasn't fancy fabrics. LOL! This was Wal-Mart cheap garbage. :) And it was STILL a pain-in-the-butt. :)
11/11/07 5:21 PM
nimble said...
Very good tip! Sheer fabrics can be a huge pain to hem. Thanks!
11/12/07 0:54 AM
Grammy Gin said...
Thanks!
11/12/07 12:04 PM
CSM--Carla said...
Thanks for this tip CharityAK. Was this your typical hem bonding tape? Did it leave your hem slightly stiff? Would it be useful when surging a silk scarf? Thank you. Carla
11/12/07 2:32 PM
CharityAK said...
Yes, just the rolled fusible webbing tape. Stitch Witch is one of the brands. The fabric was a stiff sheer. I've only done the tiny-roll-and-hand whip hems on silk. I think I'd try a sample first for what you're considering.
11/12/07 3:29 PM
Seamly Seamstress said...
Neat idea, I am going to have to give it a try. My favorite way to roll hems in sheer lightweight fabric has always been by hand. This is better. Gorgeous little dress, I love the fabric.
11/16/07 6:55 AM
teg said...
What a good idea. However does this stiffen the hem on lightweight fabric. I love the idea and will certainly try it out> to am an avid sewer and cannot remember a time I did not sew. I have four girls all grown up and five grandchildren they have been a pleasure to sew for as I did not have as much to do now the children had left home regards Teg
11/30/07 3:42 PM
OP Gal said...
Great tip. Thanks.
12/3/07 7:56 AM
mssewcrazy said...
Where were you long ago when I was doing the shawl for bridesmaids dresses from matching sheer ? This is a great great tip.
12/7/07 9:18 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

SewBaby Wearable baby blanket Pattern

SewBaby Wearable baby blanket Pattern

Buy Now
Victoria Jones Collection Busy Diva Apron and Star Potholder

Victoria Jones Collection Busy Diva Apron and Star Potholder

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.