SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Makeup Brush for Cleaning

Viewed 5744 times
Posted by: Mufffet
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Mufffet starstarstarstar
VT USA
Member since: 8/14/05
Reviews written: 136
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 61 people
tips added: 2
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 11/14/07 0:20 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 23 people   
Featured in the PR book!
While taking a "New Users Class" for my sewing machine last Saturday, the teacher mentioned that she uses a soft makeup brush for cleaning in and around the bobbin area of her machines. She had a nice largish makeup brush to demonstrate, and the difference between the results with that brush and with the rather stiff little brushes we usually clean out our machines with is amazing!

It was the best piece of info I carried away from the class, and I am going to buy a set at the drugstore with a few sizes..the soft brush gets in there and really picks up the fluff without needed to be stuck in forcefully.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


15 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
reallyrob said...
Thanks for this tip! Heck this tip alone is almost worth the cost of membership here! :)
12/24/10 0:25 AM
Snell said...
I use cosmetic brushes on all my machines and have for years. They pick up the lint so much better than the ones that come with the machines.
12/6/07 10:52 AM
bugsnchita said...
at last! an escape from the stiff little brush that came with my machine. Now I have a great use for the underutilized paint brushes in my art box. thanks for sharing this tip!
12/1/07 1:37 PM
akbevjames said...
Been sewing for years and love this tip! Thank you for sharing!
11/27/07 3:47 AM
Joey in Katy said...
Good tip -- I've been using a large fluffy brush I got at Ulta for the last year or so ... works great!
11/15/07 12:39 PM
Grammy Gin said...
I use the "blusher" make up brush on my serger, too. It works wonderfully.
11/15/07 9:56 AM
zeoplum said...
I despise those stiff bristles so I'm going to give this a try next time I clean. Thanks!!
11/14/07 10:48 PM
ginaT said...
Just tried it....works like a magnet. Cheers!
11/14/07 7:47 PM
Deepika said...
Lots of great ideas! I've used a paint brush to clean the bobbin area too.
11/14/07 6:08 PM
seweibhlin said...
good tip, I also use chenille stems(pipe cleaners) to get alot of the fuzz out -works great too.
11/14/07 2:42 PM
Linda Mae said...
I went to a Featherweight 221 maintenance class and the teacher recommended the 1" bristle, cheap brush in the paint department of either Lowes or Home Depot (usually under $1). I have about 4 around my sewing area and use them all the time to get the fuzzies out of the machines.
11/14/07 10:58 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
Brushes, other than what comes with your machine, really do work. I have been using some old sable paintbrushes I use for water color painting and they seem to pick everything up. Love it. So - here is an alternative if you don't want to use a makeup brush.
11/14/07 10:11 AM
Kathy_AZ said...
While I haven't tried this yet, I've also heard that using a clean mascara brush (the testers used at cosmetics counters) is also very effective in cleaning SM's.
11/14/07 9:21 AM
misscoleen said...
Hi Muffet, what a great idea. I have a broken (handle is broken) makeup brush that i was going to toss. Love to recycle. Thanks coleen
11/14/07 7:52 AM
Sanibelle said...
The small stiff brush that came with my new machine doesn't seem very effective at all. Thank you so much for sharing this, muffet. Off to the drugstore....
11/14/07 6:25 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Class Details

Online Class
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Class Details

Shapes Eleven Eleven Skirt Pattern

Shapes Eleven Eleven Skirt Pattern

More Info
Christine Jonson Boyfriend Jacket and Shell

Christine Jonson Boyfriend Jacket and Shell

More Info

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.