SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Tips & Techniques > Lining a sleeveless dress

Viewed 10809 times
Posted by: Nancywin
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Nancywin starstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 7/25/06
Reviews written: 273
Favored by: 121 people
tips added: 20
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 11/18/07 6:27 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 6 people   Very Helpful by 54 people   
Web site/URL: photo
This is how I line a sleeveless dress or blouse. You can get these steps plus pictures at the link above.

1.First, complete the front and back of the dress and the lining. Sew together only at the shoulders. Here, if you have a yoke, the facing will serve as part of the lining.

2.Now, pin the dress and the lining together at the neck edge. Make sure to line up shoulder seams and CF and CB. Stitch all the way around. Clip curves and trim seam allowance.

3. Press the seam toward the lining and understitch all the way around

4.Turn right side out and edge press the neck edge so that the seam is exactly on the edge or slightly turned to the inside

5. While your garment is still right side out, roll up one side toward the sleeve seam you are getting ready to sew

6. Now, flip one sleeve edge over the roll so that the rolled up fabric is in-between the two sleeve edges. Pin and stitch this seam. Trim seam allowance and clip curves. Pull the entire dress through the shoulder. It seems like it won't work, but it does.

7. After you have pulled the dress through the shoulder seam, press over the side of a ham for a clean finish. Repeat for the other side.

8. Now sew the side seams of the dress and the side seams of the lining in one continuous seam for each side. Finish the hem on your lining and the hem on your dress. That's all there is to it!

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


36 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
hongkongshopper said...
Thanks :)
11/19/07 4:01 AM
petro said...
interesting. the way I learnt maybe similar, you make both dress and lining, but don't do the shoulder seams, then attach the 2, so the lining serves as facing, and turn through, then stitch the shoulder seam of the dress, and slip stitch the dress lining shoulder seam. maybe your way is better because the u-arm part is less visible, so any fudges there would be hidden, unlike shoulder.
11/19/07 4:35 AM
jupitermap said...
NEW TO LINING A DRESS AND THIS MAKES SENSE THANK YOU
6/29/08 11:30 AM
Georgene said...
Thank you! I knew this in theory, but your visual is soooo helpful. I appreciate this more than you know.
6/29/08 12:11 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
Nancy, this is the best tip ever! I can't tell you have often I've needed to know how to do this and I've spent far too long trying to figure out how to do this on my own. Your method works perfectly! Thank you!
7/12/09 11:13 PM
gumbiecat said...
Very helpful article!
7/15/09 7:22 PM
said...
Terrific!!! Very useful.
7/15/09 10:39 PM
lizagm said...
thank you so much for posting this tutorial. I need to do this for a BWOF dress I am making that the pattern doesn't call for a lining. I have heard others on PR talk about lining and "pulling through the shoulder" but I couldn't quite picture how to do it in my head. Your instructions are perfect. Now lets hope my dress turns out that way!
8/14/09 11:32 AM
Laurie Lou said...
THank you so much...something I have struggled with in the past ...excellent tutorial
8/27/09 1:54 PM
BethRose said...
Thank you so much for your clear & concise directions. Easy to accomplish & great looking results. I have had so much trouble getting even decent looking results in the past. Again, THANK YOU!
9/28/09 11:12 AM
LottaTroublemaker said...
Thank you SO much for this! I googled and googled trying to find an explanation, as I knew I had seen one somewhere. I just draped the top of a dress and just could not figure out how to make it nicely "double sewn". But now I know, thanks to you! Super photo tutorial! :)
10/12/09 6:00 PM
jcharp said...
Thank you so much for the detailed instructions and photos. Worked perfectly!
10/24/09 9:50 PM
inkstain said...
Dear Nancy, You have saved my daughter's New Year's Eve "biker dress, 2009" because I had sewn a perfect back including the invisible zipper into a leather-like synthetic as well as the front and sleeves. I knew the 1. neck, 2. sleeves pull backs through to front way, but this time, I was hesitant to rip out the perfect zipper and willing to rip out the sleeves, but sat on the floor for hours trying to figure out how to turn it inside out."Rolling one side towards the sleeve to be worked on" made no sense without your photos, and yes, I didn't believe it until it happened. The dress is perfect, and this is so much better for those of us who can't get fitted at the back by someone else. (We can do all meaningful adjustments at the sides of a sheath, knowing the back was done flat and perfectly. A thousand thanks and best wishes for 2010 Dinah www.dinahleekung.com
12/28/09 11:27 AM
Kirstenw said...
I am busy with a waist coat, I have used this method before but could not remember the method. Thank you for posting this technique. Now on to finishing my waist coat.
1/28/10 0:14 AM
MelissaB in WA said...
Nancy, thank you for sharing this wonderful tip! Leslie pointed me in the direction of it and I'm just sorry I didn't read about it sooner.
2/17/10 5:00 PM
mary in FL said...
I found this tip on AllisonC's blog, and I'm glad to find it.
2/26/10 8:37 PM
Elke said...
Great tutorial... thanks for providing photos!
2/28/10 11:29 AM
SailorM4ev said...
Thank you so much for this tutorial, the photos were a big help!
4/12/10 3:10 PM
fabra said...
I don't understand the use of the terms "sleeve edge" in #6 and "sleeve seam" in #5 when you are talking about a SLEEVELESS garment.
5/9/10 6:12 PM
Nancywin said...
it's referring to the armhole edge - if you look at the photos, it should be clear.
5/10/10 12:52 PM
LindaTheis said...
I knew there was a way but didn't want to mess up the fabrice so did a general search and came upon this directional. Amazing!!! This is fool proof. Follow the directions and anyone can line a sleeveless garment! Thank you.
6/2/10 6:42 AM
Hilary said...
Great tip ~thanks for such clear directions and photos!
6/3/10 7:44 AM
mylittleelephant said...
Great, very clear tutorial as usual, many many thanks for this!
6/20/10 10:56 AM
Stephie Clare said...
Great directions! Can't wait to try it.
6/30/10 2:29 PM
Kristal said...
Thank you! The pictures make it so easy to understand!
7/16/10 12:37 PM
Chardonnay83 said...
Thank you so much for this!! one question.. do you sew the zipper before or after this??
10/19/10 6:05 PM
Nancywin said...
This particular method is for a dress that does not have a zipper. You would want to sew the zipper in before lining a dress.
10/20/10 9:37 AM
Jane S said...
Nancy, love this tip and your illustrations. I just linked to it on my blog entry: http://luckysewandsew.blogspot.com/2011/06/lining-stretch-woven-sheath_10.html Thanks for doing all the work on this great tip.
6/10/11 5:08 PM
michellep74 said...
I just used your method on Vogue 1236, and it worked beautifully. Thank you so much for sharing this--I hate hand stitching!
7/3/11 4:28 PM
Fabricaholic said...
This worked very well! It was such an easy process. Thanks.
9/15/11 11:06 AM
Agnesdotter said...
Mindblowing! Thank you so very very much - there's no way I'd ever figure that out, and it worked a dream, and so simple. I'm so grateful!
11/7/11 7:42 AM
kes said...
You just saved my dress!!! Thanks! I was all set to do a different method and then decided I wanted to add piping and did NOT want to rip out the perfectly match plaid invisible zipper!!! Thanks so much for this tip!
7/8/12 9:52 AM
barbarahf said...
Just getting ready to line a sleeveless dress for a customer (comes with half-lining instructions that aren't nearly as great as your technique. Thanks!
7/27/12 12:11 PM
barbarahf said...
Apparently the pictures are not where they used to be, and without them I'm at a total loss. Is it possible to get a correct link?
8/9/12 4:41 PM
staging lady said...
Yes read the instructions and thanks for them but --- could not visualise the process without the pictures. The pictures are no longer in your link. Is it possible to post them again - I would be so grateful!
5/2/13 11:06 AM
j222b said...
Link no longer working.
5/28/13 10:12 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Sewing Workshop Verona Jacket & Coat

Sewing Workshop Verona Jacket & Coat

Buy Now
10 inch Professional Shears

10 inch Professional Shears

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.