SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Tailor tacks made easier

Viewed 5332 times
Posted by: Debbie Lancaster
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Debbie Lancaster star
CA United States
Member since: 9/18/02
Reviews written: 69
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 12 people
tips added: 26
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 12/11/07 6:07 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 11 people   
When only tailor tacks will do, it's considerably easier to tell which tail goes to which tack if you use two different colored threads. To separately mark your fabric pieces, hold the tail of the one color in one hand, and the tail of the other color in the other hand, and pull the two fabric pieces apart while holding the threads. This is even easier if you use two or three threads of each color of cotton hand embroidery floss, which is a bit softer and cushier than polyester thread, thus somewhat easier to manage.

Edited to add: Use two different colored threads in the needle. Pull the needle and threads through the mark, clip off so that there are thread tails about three inches long. When separating the fabric pieces, hold the tail of one color and the one fabric layer together, and the other colored tail and the other fabric layer together, then pull apart.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


6 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Karine said...
Great idea - thanks for sharing it!
12/12/07 7:46 AM
patsijean said...
I'm confused by this tip. I am not sure about the situations to which this applys and why I would need to mark, in the case of darts, the right front dart with one color and the left with another. Would a photo help?
12/12/07 11:01 AM
ryansmumAria said...
I'm very interested in learning more about tailor tacks. I think it is the most efficient of all methods. Would you please explain a little more. Are you describing two seperate tacks close to each other, so you are using different colors? Thanks for taking the time to inform us - I'm excited about being able to make it an easier process.
12/13/07 8:44 AM
SandyS said...
ryansmum, I didn't write the original tip, but I have used tailor tacks. I think the point is that, with several long thread tails curling around, it can be hard to see which goes with which layer of fabric when you pull them apart. A person might grab both ends of one tack or pull one out entirely, by accident, when they are the same.
1/8/08 7:55 AM
SewPurple said...

3/24/08 5:56 PM
SewPurple said...
Thanks for the tip! I will definitely use this one, as I can't tell you how many times I have pulled my tailor tacks out by grabbing the wrong end!!
3/24/08 5:57 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Fit For Real People DVD

Fit For Real People DVD

Buy Now
Paradiso Designs Tiny Handbag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Tiny Handbag Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.