SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > marking made easy

Viewed 5104 times
Posted by: Ronda Rae
photo

 
 
About Ronda Rae star
FL USA
Member since: 3/20/06
Reviews written: 41
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 6 people
tips added: 2
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 12/14/07 8:02 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 16 people   
Web site/URL: photo
I can't take the credit for this great idea- saw it somewhere at simplicity site. just couldn't pass up not putting it on here. It's just a great tip.


Transferring pattern markings to the fabric can be a tedious step when you’d rather be sewing. Speed up the process with this method: With a paper punch, place holes in the pattern at the markings, such as the dots marking darts. Place gummed reinforcements (the little white circles you get at the stationery store) over the punched holes. Now you can mark right through the pattern with tailor tacks or chalk without worrying about the pattern shifting.


<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


17 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
solosmocker said...
Brilliant!
12/14/07 9:24 AM
mtgirl said...
I like that!
12/14/07 9:30 AM
HeyJane said...
Really good idea!
12/14/07 5:09 PM
Cristina_TC said...
Great!!!
12/15/07 4:00 AM
Patzee said...
Aha! Now I have a use for all those paper punch reinforcers I've save since my shool days!
12/15/07 3:19 PM
Patzee said...
Aha! Now I have a use for all those paper punch reinforcers I've save since my shool days!
12/15/07 3:19 PM
aunt saidee said...
Very nice--an elegant idea. I just made an old pattern with perforations and liked having them for transferring the markings to my copy, but never thought to punch them out on my copy. Thanks!
12/15/07 6:28 PM
chloeE said...
Great idea!! I have a star puncher left over from my scrapbooking days, now I know what I'll use it for.
12/18/07 4:02 PM
goldenthreads said...
I love this idea!! Thanks so much for sharing.
12/30/07 10:55 PM
goldenthreads said...
I love this idea!! Thanks so much for sharing.
12/30/07 10:57 PM
Arnie said...
Excellent idea!
1/6/08 0:14 AM
JimJam said...
sound good to me.
1/12/08 5:41 AM
ryansmumAria said...
This is a great idea and works well. I have found that if I place a small piece of tape on top and behind the marking to stabilize the area then fold the little marking in half. I can snip it with a paper punch or just use scissors but I do like the reinforcement circle idea!
1/13/08 7:39 AM
Stitchcakes said...
I just used this tip and love it! It keeps your paper pattern in better shape, too.
2/12/08 9:44 AM
patrica said...
Excellent tip. Will certainly use it.
4/13/08 6:13 PM
patrica said...
Excellent tip. Will certainly use it.
4/13/08 6:14 PM
said...
Love it!
6/28/08 8:13 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Jamie Christina Lark Paper Pattern

Jamie Christina Lark Paper Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Stella and Luna Tops

Sewing Workshop Stella and Luna Tops

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.