SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Eco-Friendly Iron Cleaner

Viewed 5285 times
Posted by: Elaray
photo

 
 
About Elaray starstarstar
PA USA
Member since: 4/20/05
Reviews written: 164
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 23 people
tips added: 15
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 12/18/07 8:29 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   Very Helpful by 19 people   
Web site/URL: photo
Featured in the PR book!
My 18 year old daughter is very eco-conscious. This tip comes from her. After block fusing 4 yards of boucle, my iron was a gunky mess. I had no iron cleaner and I was preparing to drive 20 minutes to get some. My daughter suggested using canola oil to clean the iron once it cooled. I didn't really want to drive to JoAnn's so I tried it. It worked! I poured a little canola oil on a paper towel and wiped the soleplate of the iron with it. With just a little pressure and circular wiping, the iron was clean! I didn't have to inhale that noxious iron cleaner. I'm not sure if there is something magical about canola oil or if any oil would have done the job.

<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


12 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
katasew said...
Yes... I've had success with WD-40... sprayed on a CLOTH (do NOT spray your iron soleplate directly!). Rub away the mess, and then clean the soleplate to get the oil off of it, before you turn it back on...
12/28/10 9:13 PM
dorothyn said...
I just wanted to note that I tried this last night and it worked like a dream (I used sunflower oil). I was sewing late at night, and we all know what happens when you sew when you're tired! I ironed the wrong side of fusible interfacing - yuck! The good news is that my sewing room smells like popcorn now when I heat the iron!
9/21/08 0:37 AM
solosmocker said...
Thanks so much for the wonderful tip. I will put this one to work tomorrow. My iron has been gunking itself up horrribly since I have been fusing my bags.
12/29/07 7:05 PM
stitchinjj said...
That is great, I have asthma and really hate using those stinky cleaners. I will definitely give this a try.
12/27/07 6:49 AM
Nancywin said...
Thanks for the tip! I have been looking for a "home remedy" for an iron cleaner, and even after searching the internet, have found nothing. My iron is in need of cleaning, so I'm going to give it a try!
12/23/07 0:25 AM
LTsew said...
Thanks for the tip!
12/21/07 4:23 PM
patsijean said...
Very interesting.............. I'll try it.
12/19/07 10:38 AM
Irene Q said...
Eco-friendly - and economical! Thanks!!
12/19/07 10:03 AM
happytobehome said...
Great idea! I'll definitely try it.
12/19/07 8:41 AM
ryan's mom said...
I'm with you on the gunky mess because I've just block fused 3 yards of wool. Thanks for the tip!
12/19/07 6:21 AM
ladybegood said...
Of course! Why didn't I think of that! Esp after the last time I had to clean my iron and my apt. smelled like burnt silly putty for a week... Thanks for the tip!
12/19/07 0:08 AM
MelissaB in WA said...
I'll definitely try this - much easier to have a household item and not have to run to the store after expensive cleaner!
12/19/07 0:06 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Leather 101
Leather 101

Class Details

Online Class
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Class Details

Petite Plus 151 Pattern

Petite Plus 151 Pattern

More Info
Favorite Things Happy Feet Pattern

Favorite Things Happy Feet Pattern

More Info

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.