SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Buttonholes on thick fabrics (or near the edge)

Viewed 5503 times
Posted by: Elona
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Elona star
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 15
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 9 people
tips added: 3
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 1/1/08 12:48 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 5 people   Very Helpful by 15 people   
My old Bernina 930e has a rudimentary kind of automatic buttonholer (a program to click through, although I have to set the buttonhole length myself), and this obedient machine generally makes beautiful buttonholes. However, it really hates making buttonholes near the edges on thick fabrics. I've discovered that the entire foot wants to be on the same level for this. So, I use a fabric shim when I run into this kind of problem. Sometimes, it's as simple as just putting a length of folded fabric under the unsupported part of the foot that has fallen "off the edge." Other times, as when I'm working near the corner of a thick lapel, I actually butt a couple of thick scraps along both edges and hand-baste them in place, so the foot is supported whichever way I turn the fabric.

That often makes the whole process more manageable.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


8 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Mary Stiefer said...
Clever idea. I'll keep this in mind.
1/1/08 1:40 PM
dollieo said...
Good Morning all and Happy New Year. This is a great idea one i will use.
1/2/08 9:39 AM
Jane S said...
What a great suggestion to baste n some extra fabric. I just had to rip out a buttonhole that got jammed when it tried to come back near one of those thick edges. Thanks!
1/2/08 11:36 AM
Pat K said...
I'll try this. I have the worst time with buttonholes near lapels -- never thought of basting down scraps to even out the terrain!
1/2/08 1:46 PM
Brine said...
Thanks for the tip, Elona. This has always been a problem for me when I attempt buttonholes at the top of shirts.
1/2/08 2:30 PM
marjenann said...
I have the same problem and will definitely use this tip next time I am making buttonholes on thick fabric!!
1/3/08 8:06 AM
lilyofthevalley said...
Excellent tip for the most troublesome aspect of finishing a nice jacket. Thank you, -Lily
1/5/08 10:49 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

ZIPPERS - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

ZIPPERS - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Buy Now
Sew Chic The Tia Dress Pattern (ln1312)

Sew Chic The Tia Dress Pattern (ln1312)

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.