SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Bag Feet

Viewed 5503 times
Posted by: solosmocker
photo

 
 
About solosmocker starstarstar
NY USA
Member since: 1/23/06
Reviews written: 95
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 48 people
tips added: 5
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 1/7/08 10:37 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people   Very Helpful by 11 people   
Web site/URL: photo
Featured in the PR book!
I have seen mentioned on a couple of forums the possibility of making your own bag feet but no one knew quite how. I decided to take up the challenge. I went to the craft store to the scrap booking aisle and checked out the brads. Many were tiny and assorted shapes. Then I found some bigger brads, appx a half inch across. They had very slender tiny "legs", ideal! They also came in black, brass, silver, and copper colors. There were five of each color in one bag for 2.99.

I went home, took my seam ripper and after measuring, placed a hole in the bag bottom with the seam ripper, just a tiny hole. These were equidistant from the bottom edges. This is all before attaching the lining. I poked the legs of the brad thru, spread them apart, pushed down on them hard and voila, had my bag feet. I tapped my bag on the counter and the legs hit before the cloth so it worked. Back to the scrapbook aisle!

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


8 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Libbee said...
What a great tip!
1/7/10 10:04 PM
LorelleD said...
Great idea. thankyou.
4/11/08 7:47 PM
SarahSM said...
Brilliant! Thanks!
1/14/08 10:17 AM
aunt saidee said...
Good idea. I used largish ball buttons on a bag and they worked well, even though they are round. They were from my own collection, so fit the budget.
1/9/08 6:30 PM
fabricrazed said...
I also made my own bag feet for the ruffle tote from Hot Patterns. I didn't think of the brads from the scrapbook section. I used brass beads and carpet tacks (more detailed info when I post my review of the finished product.) Your idea is definitely less complicated than mine.
1/8/08 12:05 PM
ryansmumAria said...
You have saved me SO much time! I recall reading where someone also had a clever substitution. I did a search but could not find exactly what I hoped for. I am so thrilled that you shared this with us. It sounds exactly like what I need. MUchos Gracias!!!
1/8/08 9:11 AM
Helen near Sydney said...
When (if!) I tackle making bags I'll be sure to remember this ingenious tip.
1/8/08 5:47 AM
Patzee said...
Thanks!
1/7/08 10:41 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

THE MOULAGE - A CD book by Kenneth King

THE MOULAGE - A CD book by Kenneth King

Buy Now
Shapes Nine Lives Vest Pattern

Shapes Nine Lives Vest Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.