SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Tips & Techniques > Tailors Dummy

Viewed 5791 times
Posted by: Braemar
photo

 
 
About Braemar star
Member since: 10/5/06
Reviews written: 9
Favored by: 9 people
tips added: 2
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 1/22/08 2:07 PM
Last Updated: 4/19/10 7:38 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 5 people   Very Helpful by 37 people   
Featured in the PR book!
I originally wrote the following as a pattern review, but have included it here following several suggestions!



I have been frustrated trying to get a tailors dummy to match me! I had a bought one with dials which I found very flimsy and wobbly as it had only 3 legs!

Twice I tried making a Duct tape dummy with little success. They were ugly, heavy, and the finish with the tape was very rough.
I decided to have a go making my own and am very pleased with the result! I would like to introduce "Baggy Aggie"




<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


27 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Elaine Dougan said...
Thank you so much for this detailed description.
1/22/08 4:35 PM
mssewcrazy said...
I'm very envious. That is a great project.
1/22/08 8:22 PM
Cecile Owens said...
Very Impressive!! Thanks. I, too, had a duck tape dummy made and was very unhappy with it. We were a group of 4 with an instructor. The girl wrapping me pulled so hard, I almost fell over a few times. It (my name for the fiasco) was so tight, it made me look flat chested which I am definitely NOT. Bad experience. I'm glad you are pleased with your product. It looks very good!
1/23/08 0:12 AM
ClareinStitches said...
Adding the Rigilene was inspired. Well done! I have saved your review for when I get around to doinga a cover for my paper tape "Double". Thank you, Braemar.
1/23/08 7:34 AM
carlton said...
thank you ,I have patternmaker and was thinking of doing this but never thought of rigilene,jane in england
1/23/08 5:01 PM
jhansby said...
This sounds great!...but no pics showing...oops...never mind...found the link. What a great idea!! She is amazing!!
1/23/08 5:21 PM
Peggym said...
Baggy Aggie looks wonderful. I did the Kenneth King's Moulage and have that on my dress form and have stuffed it but not so well as yours. I am going to try to do what you did to mine. thanks very much
1/24/08 6:37 PM
Braemar said...
Peggym, I think the rigilene boning helps by giving it a skeleton to hold its shape, making it easier to stuff. I hope it works for you, as I love using Aggie. Thanks everyone for your kind comments.
1/25/08 5:17 AM
magsann said...
Seems to be an easier way of making a perfect "dummy" than using duct tape or self-adhesive brown tape - no standing around being taped up for hours!!
1/25/08 1:00 PM
ginaT said...
Very inspirational Mary Anne,just love it and the Chrimbo stand lol! You are also lucky to have a very handy DH. Hope you had a great Burns Night :o)
1/25/08 7:12 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Your/DH's application was perfect at every stage. Baggy Aggie is a dream! -Lily
1/25/08 7:47 PM
Braemar said...
GinaT I had a VERY enjoyable Burn's night thanks, and am still recovering! LOL
1/26/08 7:05 AM
Cyinda said...
I want to thank you so much for posting these directions. I've always wanted a dummy, but can't afford one. I'm so tired of trying to pin-to-fit half finished outfits while I'm wearing them!
1/27/08 9:30 PM
Leslie in NZ said...
Wow. Very helpful. Thanks for posting this and in such detail.
1/29/08 0:08 AM
Kim Winson said...
Thanks so much for sharing this! I have tried several DIY dressforms..duct tape, paper tape, and even the My Twin. None have turned out well. But this...may be the ticket.
1/29/08 10:53 PM
lady a said...
what a smart idea
1/31/08 0:10 AM
Alyssa said...
I did this for a friend of mine! Great minds think alike. Personally, I think it is easier than a duct-tape model. I will try using boning next time. I found using a T-connector at the top of the pipe and small pipes on either side helped stabilize the dummy through the shoulders.
2/1/08 3:48 PM
SewPurple said...
I wish I could see photos but I love this idea. I have many sewing customers in different cities, and I'm thinking about doing a version of this for those that have fitting issues. Thanks!
3/24/08 5:47 PM
Miss Fairchild said...
I love the flower pot idea! When I had a DTD done, I couldn't figure out what to do about the neck. Now when I remake my dummy, I'll know! Thank you!
6/8/08 8:14 PM
Aunt Gail said...
Congratulations! What a great idea..and with your explanations and write up. I could visualize each step! I'm guessing that rigilene is a plastic? type of boning?? Also your stitching of the important hip, waist, bust by ribbon is absolutely inspired.
10/3/08 2:58 PM
Braemar said...
Yes rigilene is plastic boning, which worked a treat giving the model a skeleton frame. I do love my model and she works well.
10/4/08 4:42 AM
Katie M said...
What is MDF?
1/27/09 8:52 AM
Iloverowing said...
I just love this idea - and you didn't have to torture yourself to replicate your own shape. Not to mention that she's really pretty! Being pinnable is a major advantage! Brilliant idea.
1/27/09 9:02 AM
ohbejoyous said...
What a great idea! Thanks for sharing your creativity with us all. Have you put a head on Baggy Aggie yet? Her neck is brilliant! I must get busy and make myself a "twin"--maybe I'll call her "Fancy-Nancy". Thanks, Mary Anne! --Joy in Boulder, Colorado
1/27/09 12:06 PM
pink 23 said...
Mary Anne, I too would like dressmakers Dummy. I think you did grand. I'm happy 4u. I have always wanted to try the duck tape dummy. I have not got up my nerve, but I am closer to trying it now. I am so excited for you. Thank you for saying somethings US. I know it is difficult to convert some things. Good luck Always, Susie
1/28/09 2:38 PM
Lou05 said...
Thanks for sharing Mary Anne. This really looks doable and yours turned out so nice. Thanks for the web/url link above so we could see her! I have an old duct dummy that needs to be redone (changed sizes) and I'll use your method for the new version. Thanks for the info and the great inspiration.
2/2/09 2:08 PM
sewingbuddcker said...
wow, i'm impressed. I hope Deepika uses this in her book.
5/13/09 12:02 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

SewBaby "I Can Do It" Cloth Activity Book Pattern

SewBaby

Buy Now
BRIDAL COUTURE, a CD book by Susan Khalje

BRIDAL COUTURE, a CD book by Susan Khalje

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.