SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Tailors Dummy

Viewed 5883 times
Posted by: Braemar
photo

 
 
About Braemar star
Member since: 10/5/06
Reviews written: 9
Favored by: 9 people
tips added: 2
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 1/22/08 2:07 PM
Last Updated: 4/19/10 7:38 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 5 people   Very Helpful by 37 people   
Featured in the PR book!
I originally wrote the following as a pattern review, but have included it here following several suggestions!



I have been frustrated trying to get a tailors dummy to match me! I had a bought one with dials which I found very flimsy and wobbly as it had only 3 legs!

Twice I tried making a Duct tape dummy with little success. They were ugly, heavy, and the finish with the tape was very rough.
I decided to have a go making my own and am very pleased with the result! I would like to introduce "Baggy Aggie"




<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


27 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
sewingbuddcker said...
wow, i'm impressed. I hope Deepika uses this in her book.
5/13/09 12:02 PM
Lou05 said...
Thanks for sharing Mary Anne. This really looks doable and yours turned out so nice. Thanks for the web/url link above so we could see her! I have an old duct dummy that needs to be redone (changed sizes) and I'll use your method for the new version. Thanks for the info and the great inspiration.
2/2/09 2:08 PM
pink 23 said...
Mary Anne, I too would like dressmakers Dummy. I think you did grand. I'm happy 4u. I have always wanted to try the duck tape dummy. I have not got up my nerve, but I am closer to trying it now. I am so excited for you. Thank you for saying somethings US. I know it is difficult to convert some things. Good luck Always, Susie
1/28/09 2:38 PM
ohbejoyous said...
What a great idea! Thanks for sharing your creativity with us all. Have you put a head on Baggy Aggie yet? Her neck is brilliant! I must get busy and make myself a "twin"--maybe I'll call her "Fancy-Nancy". Thanks, Mary Anne! --Joy in Boulder, Colorado
1/27/09 12:06 PM
Iloverowing said...
I just love this idea - and you didn't have to torture yourself to replicate your own shape. Not to mention that she's really pretty! Being pinnable is a major advantage! Brilliant idea.
1/27/09 9:02 AM
Katie M said...
What is MDF?
1/27/09 8:52 AM
Braemar said...
Yes rigilene is plastic boning, which worked a treat giving the model a skeleton frame. I do love my model and she works well.
10/4/08 4:42 AM
Aunt Gail said...
Congratulations! What a great idea..and with your explanations and write up. I could visualize each step! I'm guessing that rigilene is a plastic? type of boning?? Also your stitching of the important hip, waist, bust by ribbon is absolutely inspired.
10/3/08 2:58 PM
Miss Fairchild said...
I love the flower pot idea! When I had a DTD done, I couldn't figure out what to do about the neck. Now when I remake my dummy, I'll know! Thank you!
6/8/08 8:14 PM
SewPurple said...
I wish I could see photos but I love this idea. I have many sewing customers in different cities, and I'm thinking about doing a version of this for those that have fitting issues. Thanks!
3/24/08 5:47 PM
Alyssa said...
I did this for a friend of mine! Great minds think alike. Personally, I think it is easier than a duct-tape model. I will try using boning next time. I found using a T-connector at the top of the pipe and small pipes on either side helped stabilize the dummy through the shoulders.
2/1/08 3:48 PM
lady a said...
what a smart idea
1/31/08 0:10 AM
Kim Winson said...
Thanks so much for sharing this! I have tried several DIY dressforms..duct tape, paper tape, and even the My Twin. None have turned out well. But this...may be the ticket.
1/29/08 10:53 PM
Leslie in NZ said...
Wow. Very helpful. Thanks for posting this and in such detail.
1/29/08 0:08 AM
Cyinda said...
I want to thank you so much for posting these directions. I've always wanted a dummy, but can't afford one. I'm so tired of trying to pin-to-fit half finished outfits while I'm wearing them!
1/27/08 9:30 PM
Braemar said...
GinaT I had a VERY enjoyable Burn's night thanks, and am still recovering! LOL
1/26/08 7:05 AM
lilyofthevalley said...
Your/DH's application was perfect at every stage. Baggy Aggie is a dream! -Lily
1/25/08 7:47 PM
ginaT said...
Very inspirational Mary Anne,just love it and the Chrimbo stand lol! You are also lucky to have a very handy DH. Hope you had a great Burns Night :o)
1/25/08 7:12 PM
magsann said...
Seems to be an easier way of making a perfect "dummy" than using duct tape or self-adhesive brown tape - no standing around being taped up for hours!!
1/25/08 1:00 PM
Braemar said...
Peggym, I think the rigilene boning helps by giving it a skeleton to hold its shape, making it easier to stuff. I hope it works for you, as I love using Aggie. Thanks everyone for your kind comments.
1/25/08 5:17 AM
Peggym said...
Baggy Aggie looks wonderful. I did the Kenneth King's Moulage and have that on my dress form and have stuffed it but not so well as yours. I am going to try to do what you did to mine. thanks very much
1/24/08 6:37 PM
jhansby said...
This sounds great!...but no pics showing...oops...never mind...found the link. What a great idea!! She is amazing!!
1/23/08 5:21 PM
carlton said...
thank you ,I have patternmaker and was thinking of doing this but never thought of rigilene,jane in england
1/23/08 5:01 PM
ClareinStitches said...
Adding the Rigilene was inspired. Well done! I have saved your review for when I get around to doinga a cover for my paper tape "Double". Thank you, Braemar.
1/23/08 7:34 AM
Cecile Owens said...
Very Impressive!! Thanks. I, too, had a duck tape dummy made and was very unhappy with it. We were a group of 4 with an instructor. The girl wrapping me pulled so hard, I almost fell over a few times. It (my name for the fiasco) was so tight, it made me look flat chested which I am definitely NOT. Bad experience. I'm glad you are pleased with your product. It looks very good!
1/23/08 0:12 AM
mssewcrazy said...
I'm very envious. That is a great project.
1/22/08 8:22 PM
Elaine Dougan said...
Thank you so much for this detailed description.
1/22/08 4:35 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Favorite Things An Everyday Bag Pattern

Favorite Things An Everyday Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Chic Fifth Avenue Dress Pattern (ln1311)

Sew Chic Fifth Avenue Dress Pattern (ln1311)

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.