Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review


Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Find a member
MY Stuff
Friends of PR Benefits
My Pattern Reviews
My Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Widget
Photo Album
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Calendar
Deal Corner
Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine Central
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review Requests
Read All Review Requests
Add a Review Request
Live Chats
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
See all Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
all contests
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Tailors Dummy (Tip/Technique)
Viewed 5564 times
Review rated Helpful by 5 people   Very Helpful by 36 people   
Posted by: Braemar
photo
About Braemar star
Member since: 10/5/06
Reviews written: 9
Favored by: 9 people
tips added: 2
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 1/22/08 2:07 PM
Last Updated: 4/19/10 7:38 AM
Featured in the PR book!
I originally wrote the following as a pattern review, but have included it here following several suggestions!



I have been frustrated trying to get a tailors dummy to match me! I had a bought one with dials which I found very flimsy and wobbly as it had only 3 legs!

Twice I tried making a Duct tape dummy with little success. They were ugly, heavy, and the finish with the tape was very rough.
I decided to have a go making my own and am very pleased with the result! I would like to introduce "Baggy Aggie"



Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!

<< Previous Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


27 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Elaine Dougan said...
Thank you so much for this detailed description.
1/22/08 4:35 PM
mssewcrazy said...
I'm very envious. That is a great project.
1/22/08 8:22 PM
Cecile Owens said...
Very Impressive!! Thanks. I, too, had a duck tape dummy made and was very unhappy with it. We were a group of 4 with an instructor. The girl wrapping me pulled so hard, I almost fell over a few times. It (my name for the fiasco) was so tight, it made me look flat chested which I am definitely NOT. Bad experience. I'm glad you are pleased with your product. It looks very good!
1/23/08 0:12 AM
ClareinStitches said...
Adding the Rigilene was inspired. Well done! I have saved your review for when I get around to doinga a cover for my paper tape "Double". Thank you, Braemar.
1/23/08 7:34 AM
carlton said...
thank you ,I have patternmaker and was thinking of doing this but never thought of rigilene,jane in england
1/23/08 5:01 PM
jhansby said...
This sounds great!...but no pics showing...oops...never mind...found the link. What a great idea!! She is amazing!!
1/23/08 5:21 PM
Peggym said...
Baggy Aggie looks wonderful. I did the Kenneth King's Moulage and have that on my dress form and have stuffed it but not so well as yours. I am going to try to do what you did to mine. thanks very much
1/24/08 6:37 PM
Braemar said...
Peggym, I think the rigilene boning helps by giving it a skeleton to hold its shape, making it easier to stuff. I hope it works for you, as I love using Aggie. Thanks everyone for your kind comments.
1/25/08 5:17 AM
magsann said...
Seems to be an easier way of making a perfect "dummy" than using duct tape or self-adhesive brown tape - no standing around being taped up for hours!!
1/25/08 1:00 PM
ginaT said...
Very inspirational Mary Anne,just love it and the Chrimbo stand lol! You are also lucky to have a very handy DH. Hope you had a great Burns Night :o)
1/25/08 7:12 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Your/DH's application was perfect at every stage. Baggy Aggie is a dream! -Lily
1/25/08 7:47 PM
Braemar said...
GinaT I had a VERY enjoyable Burn's night thanks, and am still recovering! LOL
1/26/08 7:05 AM
Cyinda said...
I want to thank you so much for posting these directions. I've always wanted a dummy, but can't afford one. I'm so tired of trying to pin-to-fit half finished outfits while I'm wearing them!
1/27/08 9:30 PM
Leslie in NZ said...
Wow. Very helpful. Thanks for posting this and in such detail.
1/29/08 0:08 AM
Kim Winson said...
Thanks so much for sharing this! I have tried several DIY dressforms..duct tape, paper tape, and even the My Twin. None have turned out well. But this...may be the ticket.
1/29/08 10:53 PM
lady a said...
what a smart idea
1/31/08 0:10 AM
Alyssa said...
I did this for a friend of mine! Great minds think alike. Personally, I think it is easier than a duct-tape model. I will try using boning next time. I found using a T-connector at the top of the pipe and small pipes on either side helped stabilize the dummy through the shoulders.
2/1/08 3:48 PM
SewPurple said...
I wish I could see photos but I love this idea. I have many sewing customers in different cities, and I'm thinking about doing a version of this for those that have fitting issues. Thanks!
3/24/08 5:47 PM
Miss Fairchild said...
I love the flower pot idea! When I had a DTD done, I couldn't figure out what to do about the neck. Now when I remake my dummy, I'll know! Thank you!
6/8/08 8:14 PM
Aunt Gail said...
Congratulations! What a great idea..and with your explanations and write up. I could visualize each step! I'm guessing that rigilene is a plastic? type of boning?? Also your stitching of the important hip, waist, bust by ribbon is absolutely inspired.
10/3/08 2:58 PM
Braemar said...
Yes rigilene is plastic boning, which worked a treat giving the model a skeleton frame. I do love my model and she works well.
10/4/08 4:42 AM
Katie M said...
What is MDF?
1/27/09 8:52 AM
Iloverowing said...
I just love this idea - and you didn't have to torture yourself to replicate your own shape. Not to mention that she's really pretty! Being pinnable is a major advantage! Brilliant idea.
1/27/09 9:02 AM
ohbejoyous said...
What a great idea! Thanks for sharing your creativity with us all. Have you put a head on Baggy Aggie yet? Her neck is brilliant! I must get busy and make myself a "twin"--maybe I'll call her "Fancy-Nancy". Thanks, Mary Anne! --Joy in Boulder, Colorado
1/27/09 12:06 PM
pink 23 said...
Mary Anne, I too would like dressmakers Dummy. I think you did grand. I'm happy 4u. I have always wanted to try the duck tape dummy. I have not got up my nerve, but I am closer to trying it now. I am so excited for you. Thank you for saying somethings US. I know it is difficult to convert some things. Good luck Always, Susie
1/28/09 2:38 PM
Lou05 said...
Thanks for sharing Mary Anne. This really looks doable and yours turned out so nice. Thanks for the web/url link above so we could see her! I have an old duct dummy that needs to be redone (changed sizes) and I'll use your method for the new version. Thanks for the info and the great inspiration.
2/2/09 2:08 PM
sewingbuddcker said...
wow, i'm impressed. I hope Deepika uses this in her book.
5/13/09 12:02 PM

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us