SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Tips & Techniques > Baggy Knees No More

Viewed 5417 times
Posted by: Eme
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Eme star
MA USA
Member since: 7/4/04
Reviews written: 23
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 10 people
tips added: 2
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 1/31/08 5:19 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 5 people   
In working on my entry for the one fabric (wool) contest, I came across a great tip included by Claire Shaeffer in the instructions for Vogue 8156.

"To avoid baggy knees, shrink the front crease slightly at the knee. Place the two fronts together, one on top of the other on the pressing board. Shape the crease into a shallow concave curve, creating small wrinkles along the crease at the knee. Fill the wrinkled area with steam; use your hands to pat the wrinkles flat. Repeat, steaming and patting until you have shrunk out the ease." and so on....

Say no to elephant knees and yes to steam! :)

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


6 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Eme said...
poppyq - this is just the two fronts - before they're sewn to the backs. I will amend my tip to reflect this. :) thx!
2/28/08 7:00 AM
poppyq said...
Is this before front and back of legs are sewn together? I do something similar to shrink out baggy butt - stretch and press the bias 4" or so of the back leg from the crotch seam down...but then you recut the pattern there eliminating extra fabric. Can you please explain more about the knees? Thanks so much!
2/27/08 2:44 PM
Fabienne301 said...
Great idea. It sounds like you put the pants on the ironing board and bend the legs forward so it looks like a forward "c", or that your knees bend in the opposite direction from how they really bend. Then you steam the pants into place. I hope I am right on this. Explaining sewing is very hard to do.
2/20/08 7:43 AM
lilyofthevalley said...
So glad you listed this tip; I recall it from your review of the smashing pants; I wrote it down, pinned it above my pressed area. Thanks, Lily
2/15/08 8:58 PM
Leslie in NZ said...
Very interesting! How long does this last? Does it need to be repeated each time the pants are ironed?
2/3/08 7:08 PM
Lizz said...
Works on elephant elbows, too!
2/1/08 1:09 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Class Details

Online Class
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Class Details

Full Bust DVD

Full Bust DVD

More Info
Making Patterns from Existing Garments - A CD book by Kenneth King

Making Patterns from Existing Garments - A CD book by Kenneth King

More Info

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.