SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Tips & Techniques > Perfect Quilt Binding (or binding just about anything!)

Viewed 5438 times
Posted by: annsew65
photo

 
 
About annsew65 star
WV USA
Member since: 4/9/02
Reviews written: 12
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 3 people
tips added: 2
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 2/14/08 6:14 AM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 11 people   
The following link was shown on a Yahoo group that I'm on. I don't quilt, but I find her use of Elmer's School glue for binding to be quite good and very precise. I think it could be used by anyone doing any type of sewing - even apparel sewing which is what I enjoy. This is only one of the videos and you can do a search for Sharon Schamber on You Tube and pick up all of them. Here's the link:

http://au.youtube.com/watch?v=4PE0Yq9iGlc

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


13 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Linda Mae said...
WOW, is all I can say about this video! This is the best binding demonstration I've ever seen. I'm running out to buy the school glue right now!
2/14/08 12:55 PM
Babe B said...
EXCELLENT!!! Thank you very much for this tip, Ann. Sharon Schamber's quilts have won Best of Show at the American Quilter's Society Conference both in 2007 and 2006 so she obviously practices what she teaches!
2/15/08 10:24 AM
Karine said...
Thanks for posting this tip - the video is so helpful. I don't quilt, but I the technique is perfect for binding apparel too!
2/15/08 11:24 AM
crashnquilt said...
Man this video has answered a TON of questions for me! And the video is very well taped. Better than most videos you pay for! I love that all you watch is the actual technique and not the person telling you about it.
2/15/08 12:33 PM
quathy said...
So cool! I love these videos - I'm going to watch them all. Thanks for posting! :)
2/15/08 9:23 PM
j222b said...
Wonderful videos!
2/15/08 9:47 PM
Susan M said...
That is a great video. Thanks for sharing.
2/16/08 2:30 PM
Lalena said...
Thanks for posting this--the video was very interesting. She says not to worry about using all the glue because it is water-soluble. So I assume that it means that she washes her quilts after finishing. What happens if you leave the glue in? (I don't like to wash my art quilts that are going to hang on the wall.)
2/16/08 7:58 PM
Patzee said...
What an excellent video! Yes, this binding technique can be useful for so many things. Thanks!
2/17/08 0:56 AM
brandygirl said...
This is a great video and the angel quilt is so beautiful. It makes me want to buy some glue. Thank you for taking the time to make this video.
2/20/08 11:21 PM
CPhT said...

7/5/09 8:29 AM
CPhT said...
It's been a while since this link was posted, but the youtube video is still there. Wow, this is a VERY informative tutorial. Be sure to watch all three parts. Sharon Schamber has a number of other videos on youtube. Another one I highly recommend is how to make a pressing board: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4LGbXou_u4c&feature=related I have an old 30x40 table that I've wanted to make into a pressing board for quite some time. I already purchased Insul-Bright® to use as the padding, but Sharon suggested Warm and Natural® batting instead. I think either will work, and now I am newly inspired to get going on it.
7/5/09 8:29 AM
Sistah said...
Thanks you so much. This is the best video on binding I have ever seen. I don't quilt, but I do make large potholders and this will help greatly. I am off to purchase glue. I can think of many uses for it. I never thought of it as a stablizer. It can stop material from stretching when stitched on bicas. Thank you again.
7/6/09 2:09 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

SewBaby Snappy Wrap Pattern

SewBaby Snappy Wrap Pattern

Buy Now
Petite Plus V202 VHS

Petite Plus V202 VHS

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.