Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review


Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Find a member
MY Stuff
Friends of PR Benefits
My Pattern Reviews
My Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Widget
Photo Album
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Calendar
Deal Corner
Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine Central
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review Requests
Read All Review Requests
Add a Review Request
Live Chats
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
See all Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
all contests
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Using Wash-Away Wonder Tape to apply Clear Elastic to stabilize a knit neckline (Tip/Technique)
Viewed 9238 times
Review rated Helpful by 4 people   Needs More Info by 1 people   Very Helpful by 47 people   
Posted by: andrearn9
photo
Friend of PR
About andrearn9 star
NY USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 5
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 4 people
tips added: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 4/2/03 10:38 AM
Featured in the PR book!
I sew a lot of crew-neck cotton interlock knit tops with self-fabric collars. After a couple of washings, I noticed that the neck would stretch out of shape. Knowing that applying clear elastic to the neckline prior to sewing on the collar would solve this problem, I decided to try it.

Clear elastic can be tricky to sew onto a neckline. It has a tendency to stick to the presser foot and the application process itself can stretch out the neckline if you aren't super careful (causing exactly the problem you are trying to avoid).

Wash-away Wonder Tape solves this problem beautifully. After you sew front to back at shoulder, lay out your garment on a flat surface single layer so that the neckline forms a circle. Apply the 1/4" wonder tape about 1/8" from fabric edge around the entire neckline. Then adhere 1/4" clear elastic onto the wonder tape. Now you are ready to sew on your collar. Stitching the collar with a 1/4" seam will catch the clear elastic in the middle. Since the clear elastic is facing the sewing machine bed during collar application, no drag is created on the presser foot. In addition to making it super easy to apply clear elastic, the wonder tape acts as a stabilizer during the collar application so you really can't inadvertently stretch out the neckline while you are stretching the collar to fit.

After the first washing, the wonder tape's "stabilizing" effect is gone and the collar will stretch nicely to fit over your head while the clear elastic ensures good recovery. In addition, I haven't encountered any needle gumming with the wonder tape.

Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

<< Previous Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
SouthernStitch said...
What a great tip!! Thanks, I just bought some clear elastic and was a little worried about these things.
4/8/03 3:16 PM
Deepika said...
great tip andrea. I have a few questions though. Maybe I am not able to visualize this properly but isnt there a chance that the clear elastic might show on the garment front just at the seam line?
4/8/03 4:51 PM
andrearn9 said...
Deepika, apply the wonder tape and the clear elastic on the wrong side of the garment body. Then pin your collar to the right side of the body in quarters and sew with the collar facing up. I just realized that my wording in the comment is incorrect. The clear elastic will actually lay on the sewing machine bed as you are sewing your collar onto the garment with the right side of the garment body facing up. I will edit out the "sandwiching" part. The sandwiching actually occurs once the collar is attached and you press your seam allowances towards the body and double top-stitch them down. I hope this makes sense :).
4/8/03 9:25 PM
andrearn9 said...
Forgot to add, I just edited the comment so it will read properly.
4/8/03 9:28 PM
Deepika said...
thanks andrea its clear now. Also what is wonder tape anything like steam a seam which you fuse in place?
4/8/03 11:58 PM
andrearn9 said...
It's called Wash Away Wonder Tape. It's 1/4" wide, and comes on a roll. Costs something like $2 or so a roll. Like steam-a-seam, it has a paper backing that you have to peel off. But unlike steam-a-seam, it's a non-fusible item. You use it in places where you would otherwise thread-baste or pin-baste (such as zipper applications). The adhesive also acts to stabilize the piece so it doesn't stretch during sewing. The adhesive is soluble, so once the garment is washed it completely dissolves. Think of it as double-sided scotch tape that washes away.
4/9/03 1:43 AM
andrearn9 said...
Here's a link to it at Joann's
4/9/03 1:48 AM
Everyday Sewist said...
I used this for a zipper recently. It made a big difference--I will never use pins for zippers again! I think it's great for things which really need to be held securely and not stretched or wrinkled while you sew. For example, twill tape. I have not used it for clear elastic but I can definitely see how it would work for that.
4/9/03 10:31 AM
Deepika said...
Wonder tape sounds like a useful thing to have. I'll definitely get it next time I am in the store. Thanks!
4/9/03 3:20 PM
Lisa Laree said...
What a great idea! I've used Wonder Tape for years for applying zippers; never thought about using it to make that pesky clear elastic easier to apply. I'll have to try this the next time I add a binding to a knit neckline! Thanks!
4/10/03 11:39 AM
Mbarkle said...
Great idea. I love Wonder Tape. I use it on collar stands when I am topstitching them. Also nice for zippers.
4/11/03 11:02 PM
Deepika said...
andrea another question for you. I just got a few leather toggles to apply on my husbands wool jacket. Do you think I can use wonder tape to hold the tabs in place while I topstitch? Since the jacket will only be drycleaned I am not sure if I should use this. Any other temp. bond you would suggest?
4/14/03 1:38 PM
carolynDaly said...
Iplan to buy wash away wonder tape now.
3/15/04 6:54 PM
gwajean said...
This is a very helpful hint. I would not have thought to do this.
6/7/05 4:05 PM
Sew it seams said...
This sounds like a great tip. I'm glad it was brought back up to the top. Thanks.
6/8/05 8:34 AM
ctirish said...
Why elastic - doesn't it pull on the neckline - how does it lay flat with elastic
11/1/06 7:26 PM
cindy-lou said...
Okay, I'm going to try this trick out today!
1/5/08 2:21 PM
AdaH said...
So glad I found this tip. When I sewed the neckband to the top, it sttretched out of shape. I steamed it hoping it would help....not. I even have some of the wonder tape, just never thought about using it in this application. Thank you
2/23/10 7:26 PM
sewingripper said...
Fantastic idea. I love spending time doing prepwork that saves ripping out or disasters during sewing. This sounds like a perfect method.
8/24/10 7:28 AM

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us