SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Elastic Storage

Viewed 5326 times
Posted by: cindyann
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About cindyann starstar
FL USA
Member since: 8/5/02
Reviews written: 42
Favored by: 39 people
tips added: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 3/28/08 11:30 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 10 people   
I cannot take credit for this tip but I wanted to pass it along because it's just a great idea. In the book Dream Sewing Spaces by Lynette Ranney Black, is the suggestion to use empty baby wipe/cleaning wipe, cylindrical shaped containers to store bulk elastic. I like to buy elastic in bulk because it saves me money, but it's always been a hassle to store. You might have to enlarge the hole so the elastic pulls freely from the container. When you've cut the desired amount just push the end into one of the creases/cutouts on the container and it's ready for the next time.

What a tidy and easy solution to elastic storage!

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


7 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
lilyofthevalley said...
What a clever and tidy solution to all those 'balls' of elastic. Thanks for passing this one along, Cindyann.
3/28/08 1:42 PM
Sarah J Doyle said...
We have quadruplet grandbabies, so we go through bunches of the containers you mentioned. GREAT IDEA! I'll dig out a few, because I also like to buy elastic by the roll and save some money wherever I can.
3/28/08 8:38 PM
Kirstenw said...
Just bought bulk elastic yesterday and it is lying in the drawer all knotted. Dont have babies, will get containers from friends....thank you
3/29/08 0:23 AM
anetJay said...
what a great idea !! thanks for sharing it :)
3/29/08 6:56 AM
leanmeansewingmachine said...
Love this idea!
3/29/08 8:34 AM
solosmocker said...
Awesome idea.
3/30/08 7:48 PM
TLGA said...
My mother used this technique, but she added a red piece of thread to the last two yards of elastic so she knew when to restock!.
6/17/08 1:17 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Christine Jonson Pleat Front Dress

Christine Jonson Pleat Front Dress

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop 8th Avenue Skirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop 8th Avenue Skirt Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.