SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Expo Reviews > Quilt, Sewing and Craft Expo 2008

California, UNITED STATES
Viewed 5394 times
Posted by: Medeiros
photo

 
 
About Medeiros star
CA USA
Member since: 3/17/03
Reviews written: 9
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 3 people
expos reviewed: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 3/29/08 2:18 PM
Rating: thumbsdown
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people   Very Helpful by 2 people   
Web site/URL: photo
I paid $8.00 to park and $7.00 to enter this three-day event at Cal Expo (a huge exposition facility). The entry fee was good for three days. The square-footage occupied by this Expo was smaller than my house. I do not quilt, embroider or do crafts. I am interested only in garment sewing. There was NOT ONE exhibitor related to sewing. The exhibitors were all embroidery machine sellers, quilt fabric merchandisers, beads, embellishments, "artsy" buttons, etc. There was one guy selling chamois rags to wash your car. I cannot imagine spending three days here, even if I were interested in quilting and crafts. Big disappointment.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Sewing Expo Review    Read All Sewing Expo Reviews


6 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
jhansby said...
Thanks for the heads-up on this one....I almost went and will know in the future not to bother.
3/30/08 1:34 AM
Linda Mae said...
I've been to this company's sew expos in both WA and AZ and I like them. I'm mostly a quilter with some garment sewing so understand when you say that they seem to be geared to the quilters. I will go again when they return to WA in the fall. Our show here in WA is held at the Puyallup fair grounds and is very large--the same in the Phoenix area.
4/6/08 10:52 PM
pin-up girl said...
Phew! I almost took time off from work to go, glad I didn't, because I am a clothes sewist too would have been real sorry,thanks for the FYI.
5/12/08 2:42 PM
Judy E. said...
hmmmm...I believe I attended the same expo, although the one I attended was in Del Mar, CA. but you described my experience! I was disappointed as well - and the entire time I was there I kept asking myself who could spend three days here?
8/12/08 8:57 PM
msbillie said...
wow, thanks for the headsup, very unfortunate.
8/28/08 2:12 PM
ryansmumAria said...
yes, this has been a major disappointment for several years now. It use to be wonderful but now is a waste of money and time.
9/2/09 0:19 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Sewing Workshop Equinox Jacket Pattern

Sewing Workshop Equinox Jacket Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop 8th Avenue Skirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop 8th Avenue Skirt Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.