SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Pin Cushions

Viewed 5310 times
Posted by: Coot
photo

 
 
About Coot
IL USA
Member since: 10/22/07
Reviews written: 2
Sewing skills:Beginner
tips added: 2
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 4/4/08 7:19 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people   Very Helpful by 10 people   
Featured in the PR book!
I have always had a problem with those pin cushions that fall over or move when I try to stick a pin in them.
My solution is to use a dry unused sponge.
It gives a better area to keep them and it makes them easier to grab one at a time.
Also, the sponge doesn't move when I attempt use it on the cabinet of my machine.
If anyone has a better tip I would like to see it.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


6 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Sarah J Doyle said...
WOW! I would never have thought to try this. Great tip! I also have a problem with my pin cushions tipping over, sliding away from me, etc. I'll be trying this yet today.
4/5/08 3:07 PM
vasallese said...
Great idea!
4/5/08 3:33 PM
MaryFran said...
Great idea! I have found that it helps to cut a round patch the size of the bottom of my pin cushion, out of that rubber shelving that we use to put under things to keep them from sliding . If the pin cushion is cloth I hand stitch this patch to the bottom and if it is not , I use double faced tape to secure it. This works ok for me.
4/5/08 4:48 PM
j222b said...
I'll try this one, thanks.
4/5/08 7:53 PM
KempCorr said...
I've covered a large metal washer with fabric and stitched it to the bottom of my "tomatoe" type pincusions. It keeps them much more stable. I've also attached velco to the bottom of a cushion I use on my ironing board so it stays put when I need it, but will come off easily when I put the board away. (The other side of the velcro is permanently attached to the ironing board cover.)
4/6/08 2:56 PM
corma said...
A magnet works very well. One of these office ones where you keep sledes in to clip paper together. Corma
7/12/09 1:21 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Favorite Things Little Prairie Girl Pattern

Favorite Things Little Prairie Girl Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Zona Jacket Pattern

Sewing Workshop Zona Jacket Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.