SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Tips & Techniques > Pin Cushions

Viewed 5306 times
Posted by: Coot
photo

 
 
About Coot
IL USA
Member since: 10/22/07
Reviews written: 2
Sewing skills:Beginner
tips added: 2
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 4/4/08 7:19 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people   Very Helpful by 10 people   
Featured in the PR book!
I have always had a problem with those pin cushions that fall over or move when I try to stick a pin in them.
My solution is to use a dry unused sponge.
It gives a better area to keep them and it makes them easier to grab one at a time.
Also, the sponge doesn't move when I attempt use it on the cabinet of my machine.
If anyone has a better tip I would like to see it.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


6 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Sarah J Doyle said...
WOW! I would never have thought to try this. Great tip! I also have a problem with my pin cushions tipping over, sliding away from me, etc. I'll be trying this yet today.
4/5/08 3:07 PM
vasallese said...
Great idea!
4/5/08 3:33 PM
MaryFran said...
Great idea! I have found that it helps to cut a round patch the size of the bottom of my pin cushion, out of that rubber shelving that we use to put under things to keep them from sliding . If the pin cushion is cloth I hand stitch this patch to the bottom and if it is not , I use double faced tape to secure it. This works ok for me.
4/5/08 4:48 PM
j222b said...
I'll try this one, thanks.
4/5/08 7:53 PM
KempCorr said...
I've covered a large metal washer with fabric and stitched it to the bottom of my "tomatoe" type pincusions. It keeps them much more stable. I've also attached velco to the bottom of a cushion I use on my ironing board so it stays put when I need it, but will come off easily when I put the board away. (The other side of the velcro is permanently attached to the ironing board cover.)
4/6/08 2:56 PM
corma said...
A magnet works very well. One of these office ones where you keep sledes in to clip paper together. Corma
7/12/09 1:21 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Register

Shapes Nine Lives Vest Pattern

Shapes Nine Lives Vest Pattern

Buy Now
9 inch Bent Handle Scissors

9 inch Bent Handle Scissors

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.