SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Class Reviews > Louise Cutting & Linda Lee Sewing Retreat

Connecticut, UNITED STATES
Viewed 5785 times
Posted by: m/m
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About m/m
Member since: 4/4/05
Reviews written: 1
Sewing skills:Intermediate
classes reviewed: 1
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 4/6/08 3:49 PM
Rating: starstarstar
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people   Very Helpful by 3 people   
Three day sewing retreat at a lovely hotel and spa sponsored by the Connecticut ASG. Twenty seven women attended and we all got lots of personal attention from Linda of Sewing Workshop patterns and Louise (Cutting Line Design patterns). In addition to personal help, we had little group lessons, a trunk show, garment samples to try on, help with fitting issues, and wonderful fabric and patterns to buy. It was fascinating to see how different each pattern line looks made up depending on fabric choices and personal style. Louise and Linda are doing more of these workshops and retreats together. If you get a chance to go to one, by all means go - you will have a wonderful time and return home full of new ideas and renewed enthusiasm for garment sewing. A personal favorite moment was when one attendee reported that someone at the hotel asked why we were all touching eachother so often - people were feeling the fabric, of course.

<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

Add Sewing Class Review    Read All Sewing Class Reviews


9 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
SewTwin said...
m/m do you mind me asking the approximate cost of this workshop??.Instead of the Houston Quilt Show, I am trying to open my mind to other classes, especially garments.I took a class from Linda Lee previously, and love her garments, and tips.You can message me if you wish..Thanks!Fitting issues would be great...
4/7/08 1:37 AM
moushka said...
Thanks for reviewing this seminar. Could you tell us a little about what you worked on yourself and how you personally benefited? Obviously both designers used their own patterns, but what did you make, and were you pleased with the results? Thanks again. Sue
4/7/08 9:31 AM
m/m said...
Sew Twin, the workshop was a birthday present (one ending in a zero) for me; the cost was about $600.00 plus the hotel (I live in NJ) and the cost of one dinner. The hotel rate was good for the location, thanks to the ASG folks who did a wonderful job setting up the retreat. Moushka: What I worked on: three pairs of pants - Louise's One Seams (turned out that I had the right size but thought that my waist was higher than it is - I know that other body parts head south but didn't know that I couldn't find my own waist!) (that was a wearable pair of pants) and a muslin of the Sewing Workshop's Hudson pants. Linda Lee also showed me how to alter her new Valencia pants to fit my flat seat and protruding stomach - she just drew on my pattern and I've made two pairs of them since I got home. The fit is perfect for me, as are Louise's One Seams. Louise also showed me how to redraw the neckline on tops to adjust for the position of my neck without doing the round back adjustment I've done for years - basically I'm now moving the neck openning up 1/2 in. in the back and down 1/2 in. in the the front but keeping the shoulder seam right where it was. I tried that on the top from Louise's "Anything But Ordinary" pattern at the retreat and it works much better than the adjustments I've done in the past. I also made a long-sleeved version of Louise's "A Subtle Twist" at the retreat - Louise put half of the collar on for me as a group demo. I tried to get her to do the rest but she said I needed to learn to do it as beautifully as she does - her tips on edge stitching are fantastic. Basically, I left with three workable pants patterns, two tops, some ideas for altering pants to give more of a fit that I like, wonderful fitting information for tops that I wasn't able to come up with on my own, and lots of ideas for garment assembly and fabric combinations. The other thing is that all of the people at the retreat were delightful ladies with similar interests to share. I knew none of them when I arrived there and had a great time. Louise and Linda bend over backwards to be sure that everyone enjoys themselves. Hope this isn't too much - it's longer than the review!
4/7/08 12:09 PM
SandraC said...
I agree with everything m/m said and more. I am also from NJ and attended this event. Major kudos to the CT ASG in selecting a fantastic hotel. Even more than the accomodations was having Louise and Linda offering their excellent skills and abilities to all. You have no idea how wonderful it is to have the pattern designers/drafters at hand to guide you through fit and fabric. I got major help with two old Sewing Workshop patterns, the Origami top- needed major full bust help and Origami pant- I'm vertically challenged. I'm ready to go again! Sandra
4/7/08 8:29 PM
jeanharville said...
Thanks for the details of what you got out of the retreat. They will be in Tulsa in August and I'm thinking of attending. Your report lets me know it's well worth the money.
4/8/08 2:27 PM
fryman said...
I am familiar with Louise's patterns and have found that they are best suited for a rectangle figure and that a small person, say, . .size 6 or under have more difficulty with wearing the garmet.Would you respond to this? Did you purchase any fabric?
4/11/08 4:41 PM
m/m said...
Fryman: To my mind, Louise's top patterns are generously sized. I usually wear a 14 petite in ready to wear clothes and usually use a small in her top patterns. She says measure the patterns first and compare them to something you have on which you like the fit. Did we buy fabric? Yes, we bought fabric from Linda and Louise. Both women brought some with them, Linda had more shipped in, Louise took orders and shipped some after the weekend, and the shop that provided loaner machines and the incredible irons brought in fabric too. there was rayon, Japanese cotton, silk/linen, coated linen, knit, buttons, kits of bag and coat findings, and lots more.
4/12/08 4:42 PM
fryman said...
Thanks for your comment. Her fabric store was the very best and her sewing knowledge is off the wall. I really liked her details and instructions when I took the one-seam pant class at her studio (now closed). Good luck and Happy Sewing!!
4/12/08 9:34 PM
Mary McCarthy said...
I found this review when I googled Linda Lee as I was deciding to attend one of these workshops in my state. This confirmed what I figured, so I was glad to review this before confirming my plans. Thanks!
10/5/08 11:20 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Sew Chic MyrtleWood Dress Pattern (ln7401)

Sew Chic MyrtleWood Dress Pattern (ln7401)

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Dress Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Dress Shirt Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.