SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Tips & Techniques > easing in fullness in fitted sleeve caps

Viewed 5449 times
Posted by: anetJay
photo

 
 
About anetJay star
IL USA
Member since: 3/13/08
Reviews written: 83
Sewing skills:Expert/Couture
Favored by: 2 people
tips added: 10
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 4/10/08 4:34 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 15 people   
Web site/URL: photo
Featured in the PR book!
Seams Great 5/8"x10 Yards. Finest seam finish for any fabric, covers seams to stop fraying. Does not add bulk to seams, use on any fabric. 100% nylon, Do not use with hot iron! Washable and dry-cleanable.

* Seam and Hem finish for any fabric
* Does not add bulk
* Size: 5/8'' x 10yd(1.6cm x 9.2cm)
* 100% Nylon
* Washable and dry cleanable
i mainly use this for easing in the fullness in fitted sleeve caps. i sew about 1/2 inch from the cut edge ( with in the seam
allowance ) i pull the seams great taut as i sew the sleeve cap. this causes a slight gathering that is usually just enough to work in nicely into your sleeve opening. i love this stuff and have been using it for years this way !!

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


8 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
ryansmumAria said...
What a fabulous idea! It never occured to me to use it in this fashion. I use biased horsehair to ease in jacket sleeves in the same manner which works beautifully. I am really excited about this concept for blouses. Thank you so much!
4/10/08 8:27 PM
ryan's mom said...
So you match up the edges of the Seams Great with the seam allowance of the sleeve and baste? Then pull the Seams Great taught? Or you pull the Seams Great taut when you are basting? I think one of my sewing books had a method like this but I've never actually tried it. Sounds like a nice method.
4/11/08 6:43 AM
anetJay said...
you pull the seams great taut as you sew it. i sew it into the seam allowance portion of my seam but as close to my seam as possible so, if my seam is 5/8" away, i try to sew the seams great 1/2" away. i hope that helps !! :)
4/12/08 4:34 AM
yorkshire lass said...
Anetjay, thank you sooooo much for this tip. Tried it on Saturday and it worked amazingly on a wool jacket. I was so impressed with how easy it made setting in the sleeve. Will be using this every time I put in a sleeve now.
4/14/08 10:03 AM
jeanharville said...
What length seam do you use when you sew in the Seams Great? 2.5 or 5?
4/14/08 3:22 PM
anetJay said...
jean, i use 2.5 because i dont usually remove it once it is sewn in (it is so lightweight and i tend to be lazy ) :) i think a longer stitch would work if you wanted to remove the seams great afterward, just sew a little slower maybe
4/15/08 4:06 AM
jeanharville said...
Thanks for clearing that up for me. I'm diffinately going to give this a try.
4/15/08 1:28 PM
anetJay said...
welcome :) hope it works for you !!
4/16/08 4:46 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Sewing Workshop Hong Kong Vest Pattern

Sewing Workshop Hong Kong Vest Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop West End Top & Pants

Sewing Workshop West End Top & Pants

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.