SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Expo Reviews > Sewing Expo Worcester

Massachusetts, UNITED STATES
Viewed 5395 times
Posted by: hardtosewfor
photo

 
 
About hardtosewfor
Member since: 6/12/06
Reviews written: 1
expos reviewed: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 4/13/08 12:49 PM
Rating: star
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 1 people   
This was my first time going to this, and I have to say that I was disappointed. It was much smaller than I expected, and the emphasis seemed to be more on quilting and crafts, embroidery then on sewing garments. I also had hoped to find lots of fabric, but there were only a couple of vendors with fabric for fashion garments. I did not register ahead for any of the classes, and after spending the day at the expo, I decided not to spend the almost $20 per class to attend any the next day because I was not sure if it would be worth it. I would be interested to hear from anyone who took any classes to see what they were like. Would also like to hear about any other "expos" coming up that might be better.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Sewing Expo Review    Read All Sewing Expo Reviews


11 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
Lucy in Virginia said...
Hardtosewfor, Thank you for posting this. There will be one in Virginia in October and I'm debating whether to preregister for classes or go and see first. I think the latter, having ready your review. Question: I've heard the sewing machines used in the classes are sold at greatly reduced prices at the end of the expos? Is this true? I'm hoping to find an embroidery machine that fits my budget.
4/14/08 3:06 PM
fryman said...
I would be interested in knowing if this was an "away" trip for you or were you able to go back and forth from home to the expo. Were there any "free" demos for notions or such? Sorry it was disappointing for you.
4/14/08 6:45 PM
beginagain said...
I have only attended the hands on classes. They are more expensive because they count as more than 1 session. I think they also fill up faster. I enjoy them because I can try new things and get immediate feedback which I can't do by just listening and watching someone else do things. You can checkout class decriptions and sign up approx 2 months before the show.
4/14/08 8:01 PM
NicholeMc said...
I went to this Expo on Saturday the 12th. I, too, was a little disappointed by the vendors. As you mentioned, most of the vendors were quilting and embroidery oriented - I was hoping for more fashion vendors. The one saving grace was Vogue Fabrics. I would have liked more clothes on display for inspiration. I did attend 2 classes. I pre-registered back in March. I took Cut of the Crotch and the Anatomy of the Collar. Still being on the beginner side, I thought these classes were great. I really took away a lot that I will be able to apply to future projects. I was much more happy with the classes than the vendors and exhibit hall. I'm really glad I signed up for them. Worcester is kind of a haul for me (2.5 hours each way), but it was definitely worth it. I think I would like to register even earlier next year so I can get into some of the hands on classes (they were all booked when I registered). They are a little more expensive, but I'm definitely a "hands-on" type of learner. I'm sorry it was so disappointing for you. I hope you find something coming up! And if you find something in New England, let me know!
4/15/08 8:32 AM
NicholeMc said...
I went to this Expo on Saturday the 12th. I, too, was a little disappointed by the vendors. As you mentioned, most of the vendors were quilting and embroidery oriented - I was hoping for more fashion vendors. The one saving grace was Vogue Fabrics. I would have liked to seen more clothes on display for inspiration. I did attend 2 classes. I pre-registered back in March. I took Cut of the Crotch and the Anatomy of the Collar. Still being on the beginner side, I thought these classes were great. I really took away a lot that I will be able to apply to future projects. I was much more happy with the classes than the vendors and exhibit hall. I'm really glad I signed up for them. Worcester is kind of a haul for me (2.5 hours each way), but it was definitely worth it. I think I would like to register even earlier next year so I can get into some of the hands on classes (they were all booked when I registered). They are a little more expensive, but I'm definitely a "hands-on" type of learner. I'm sorry it was so disappointing for you. I hope you find something coming up! And if you find something in New England, let me know!
4/15/08 8:35 AM
NicholeMc said...
I went to this Expo on Saturday the 12th. I, too, was a little disappointed by the vendors. As you mentioned, most of the vendors were quilting and embroidery oriented - I was hoping for more fashion vendors. The one saving grace was Vogue Fabrics. I would have liked to seen more clothes on display for inspiration. I did attend 2 classes. I pre-registered back in March. I took Cut of the Crotch and the Anatomy of the Collar. Still being on the beginner side, I thought these classes were great. I really took away a lot that I will be able to apply to future projects. I was much more happy with the classes than the vendors and exhibit hall. I'm really glad I signed up for them. Worcester is kind of a haul for me (2.5 hours each way), but it was definitely worth it. I think I would like to register even earlier next year so I can get into some of the hands on classes (they were all booked when I registered). They are a little more expensive, but I'm definitely a "hands-on" type of learner. I'm sorry it was so disappointing for you. I hope you find something coming up! And if you find something in New England, let me know!
4/15/08 8:35 AM
NicholeMc said...
I went to this Expo on Saturday the 12th. I, too, was a little disappointed by the vendors. As you mentioned, most of the vendors were quilting and embroidery oriented - I was hoping for more fashion vendors. The one saving grace was Vogue Fabrics. I would have liked to seen more clothes on display for inspiration. I did attend 2 classes. I pre-registered back in March. I took Cut of the Crotch and the Anatomy of the Collar. Still being on the beginner side, I thought these classes were great. I really took away a lot that I will be able to apply to future projects. I was much more happy with the classes than the vendors and exhibit hall. I'm really glad I signed up for them. Worcester is kind of a haul for me (2.5 hours each way), but it was definitely worth it. I think I would like to register even earlier next year so I can get into some of the hands on classes (they were all booked when I registered). They are a little more expensive, but I'm definitely a "hands-on" type of learner. I'm sorry it was so disappointing for you. I hope you find something coming up! And if you find something in New England, let me know!
4/15/08 8:35 AM
dbsewer said...
I'm glad to see this review. I was planning to write one but you were much kinder than I would have been so it's good you beat me to it. I was disappointed by the vendors, also. The dominance of quilt vendors at these expos has been a sore spot for fashions sewers for a long time. This year Sawyer Brook chose not to participate because it's too much work and I think that was a real loss. Unlike Nichole I do not like Vogue at all. I hear the Chicago store is wonderful but they seem to bring the dregs of their stock to these expos. Yet they do a great business so maybe it's me. The Wool House was there and I did get some nice shirting, but their stock seemed low and though I found a lot to love at the ASG conference in DC two years ago I was let down by their offerings. There were only three button vendors and I thought their stuff was rather ordinary. The Wellesley button store didn't even bring buttons, just quilting fabric. Come on, folks. I only took a Wed. class this year for my 4D software which was great but overwhelming for someone like me who isn't all that good with computers. I didn't take any other classes but spent Thursday shopping. I've taken lots of classes in the past and didn't see anything new. If you haven't taken classes before and want to consider which ones are worth the money, Cynthia G's classes are always excellent IMHO. I hope that whoever organizes these Expos will stop thinking of fashion sewers as the bastard stepchildren of the fabric world and start giving us some respect. Lower the price of the booth and bring in more vendors to make up the difference and make it easier for teachers who don't have anything but their expertise to sell to come to the Expos and offer classes. I lived in No.Va. for years and always attended the Chantilly expo. The few times I came to the Worcester Expo I thought it had much more to offer. But that's not the case anymore, unfortunately. Let's hope they get the message and make the Expo next year worth attending.
4/15/08 10:15 AM
Tere Sews said...
I also went on Saturday and took 3 Cynthia Guffey classes. She always adds maximum value. I was also disappointed not to see Sawyer Brook and walked away with two pairs of scissors from Famore. That said, please express your feedback to the show organizers rather than not showing up. If we don't go to the the shows locally, the vendors and teachers won't return.
4/16/08 12:27 PM
59Terri said...
I was at the Expo on Friday, 4/11, and I, too, was a little disappointed with the vendors. Last year was my first time at the Expo and I thought it was better. Like Dbsewer, I missed Sawyer Brook fabrics and I seem to recall more pattern vendors last year, but I could be mistaken. And I definitely agree with comment about Vogue Fabrics--and I felt that way last year too. Also, there were no bargains on patterns at that booth. Personally, I'm drifting away from quilting and getting back in to garment sewing, so I agree with the comment about too many quilting vendors. A more balanced selection of vendors would be nice. It's good to know that the classes are worth the money. I've never taken one but would like to next year. Also, glad to hear the reviews on Cynthia G. I'm considering ordering one of her one (or two) of her videos. Regarding machine deals, I can't say. I really wanted to get a price on the Janome 11000 but my husband was with me--he would not approve! I saw the Pfaff Creative Vision with a price of (I believe) $7299...not sure, but it may have been at the Button Box booth.
4/16/08 8:32 PM
Swimmymom said...
Hi..I am so disappointed you weren't happy with the Expo. I absolutely LOVED it! I can't wait for next year.I took wall to wall classes and they were top notch and great fun.Next year, i have to leave more time to enjoy the stage presentations and freebie projects to do..I was off and running by 8:30AM-9PM!
4/18/08 10:02 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Technique of Underlining Garments
The Technique of Underlining Garments

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Sport Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Sport Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Fleece-Easy Hats Pattern

SewBaby Fleece-Easy Hats Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.