SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Gathering with Dental Floss

Viewed 5607 times
Posted by: LisaG
photo

 
 
About LisaG
VA USA
Member since: 1/7/05
Reviews written: 13
Sewing skills:Intermediate
tips added: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 4/15/08 10:49 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   Very Helpful by 13 people   
Web site/URL: photo
I'm probably not the first person to post this tip, but it was such a revelation to me! Instead of gathering with a loose stitch and pulling the bobbin thread, I sewed a zigzag stitch over a piece of dental floss, giving it a tug every now and then as I sewed to make sure it hadn't caught in the zigzag. When it was time to gather, all I had to do was pull the dental floss. So easy! I'll never do it the other way again!

<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


8 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
sewtime said...
Thank you I look forward to trying it!
12/15/08 7:15 PM
KATHLEEN said...
I'm going to try this technique.
4/17/08 1:02 PM
Lee-Ellen said...
Gosh, that sounds like it would work perfectly. I avoid gathers because I hate fighting with regular threads. I suppose it should be non-waxed floss, and that other sorts of heavy threads could be substituted. Thanks, Lisa!
4/17/08 9:56 AM
nanahanna said...
Great idea! Thanks!
4/16/08 4:32 PM
ryan's mom said...
I always forget about this method. Thanks for the reminder :) !
4/16/08 6:52 AM
perperella said...
It's very interesting. As a matter of fact i'm doing a top with gathering and tried this method and it's better this way. For me it is eccellent
4/16/08 2:54 AM
ryansmumAria said...
Lisa, this is a great technique - I love it, too. I taught a section on gathering and this is one of the best ones. YOu will get a different looking gather than if you pull bobbin threads where you get a softer looking gather. They are quite different from each other IMHO. Thanks for a great tip!
4/16/08 1:31 AM
granny geek said...
Never thought of using dental floss...I usually use heavy thread. This is a great idea...Ill use it. Thank you!
4/16/08 0:33 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

SewBaby Quick Kitchen Gifts Pattern

SewBaby Quick Kitchen Gifts Pattern

Buy Now
Jamie Christina Abbey Coat Pattern (JC314AC)

Jamie Christina Abbey Coat Pattern (JC314AC)

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.