SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Tips & Techniques > Gathering with Dental Floss

Viewed 5444 times
Posted by: LisaG
photo

 
 
About LisaG
VA USA
Member since: 1/7/05
Reviews written: 13
Sewing skills:Intermediate
tips added: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 4/15/08 10:49 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   Very Helpful by 13 people   
Web site/URL: photo
I'm probably not the first person to post this tip, but it was such a revelation to me! Instead of gathering with a loose stitch and pulling the bobbin thread, I sewed a zigzag stitch over a piece of dental floss, giving it a tug every now and then as I sewed to make sure it hadn't caught in the zigzag. When it was time to gather, all I had to do was pull the dental floss. So easy! I'll never do it the other way again!

<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


8 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
granny geek said...
Never thought of using dental floss...I usually use heavy thread. This is a great idea...Ill use it. Thank you!
4/16/08 0:33 AM
ryansmumAria said...
Lisa, this is a great technique - I love it, too. I taught a section on gathering and this is one of the best ones. YOu will get a different looking gather than if you pull bobbin threads where you get a softer looking gather. They are quite different from each other IMHO. Thanks for a great tip!
4/16/08 1:31 AM
perperella said...
It's very interesting. As a matter of fact i'm doing a top with gathering and tried this method and it's better this way. For me it is eccellent
4/16/08 2:54 AM
ryan's mom said...
I always forget about this method. Thanks for the reminder :) !
4/16/08 6:52 AM
nanahanna said...
Great idea! Thanks!
4/16/08 4:32 PM
Lee-Ellen said...
Gosh, that sounds like it would work perfectly. I avoid gathers because I hate fighting with regular threads. I suppose it should be non-waxed floss, and that other sorts of heavy threads could be substituted. Thanks, Lisa!
4/17/08 9:56 AM
KATHLEEN said...
I'm going to try this technique.
4/17/08 1:02 PM
sewtime said...
Thank you I look forward to trying it!
12/15/08 7:15 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Victory Simone Paper Pattern

Victory Simone Paper Pattern

Buy Now
Acrylic Base In 5 Sizes

Acrylic Base In 5 Sizes

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.