Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review


Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Find a member
MY Stuff
Friends of PR Benefits
My Pattern Reviews
My Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Widget
Photo Album
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Calendar
Deal Corner
Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine Central
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review Requests
Read All Review Requests
Add a Review Request
Live Chats
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
See all Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
all contests
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Cleaning your serger (Tip/Technique)
Viewed 5236 times
Review rated Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 15 people   
Posted by: jhansby
photo
Friend of PR
About jhansby star
CA USA
Member since: 1/9/05
Reviews written: 18
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 3 people
tips added: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 4/16/08 7:39 PM
Last Updated: 5/18/09 8:22 PM
Featured in the PR book!
I just had to have my Huskylock 936 serger serviced for a loud squeaking noise. Turns out it needed a new bearing in the area above the needles. The tech told me when he opened it up it was "just full of junk"...because I had never cleaned and oiled it there!! I didn't even know you should....wasn't in the manual!!. My model has a screw on the left side of it to enable you to remove the cover so you can access this area of the machine. He's instructed me to open this area and clean and oil it as much as I do the rest of the machine....oil every moving part. The new bearing cost me $79 in parts and labor....so hopefully this will help some of you other serger owners out there, too.
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!

<< Previous Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
anetJay said...
eek !!! thanks , good to know :) janet
4/17/08 4:52 AM
petro said...
thanks for the tip, I'm going to have a look at mine now!
4/17/08 8:04 AM
Tricia Plummer said...
Yikes! me too. I just cleaned and oiled mine last night. I wonder why they omitted that info from the manual?!
4/17/08 9:34 AM
sewnow said...
I, too, wonder why they omitted that from the manual. I just cleaned and oiled mine on Sat.
4/17/08 12:59 PM
jhansby said...
Maybe they omit it because they want you to have to pay for the repair later??? Who knows, but I'm glad to save you all $80 :)
4/17/08 5:10 PM
Eider said...
Thanks so much, you may have kept me from having a service job on my machine . I went immediantly and checked my machine and wow, it was a mess also .
4/18/08 0:18 AM
Evemarie said...
Maintenance is always cheaper and better than repair! :)
4/29/08 4:18 PM
BJ1400 said...
After reading this, I checked my serger. I was shocked how much lint & thread was inside there! Thanks for this very helpful tip.
5/4/08 4:42 PM

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us