SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Cleaning your serger

Viewed 5516 times
Posted by: jhansby
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About jhansby star
CA USA
Member since: 1/9/05
Reviews written: 18
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 3 people
tips added: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 4/16/08 7:39 PM
Last Updated: 5/18/09 8:22 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   Very Helpful by 15 people   
Featured in the PR book!
I just had to have my Huskylock 936 serger serviced for a loud squeaking noise. Turns out it needed a new bearing in the area above the needles. The tech told me when he opened it up it was "just full of junk"...because I had never cleaned and oiled it there!! I didn't even know you should....wasn't in the manual!!. My model has a screw on the left side of it to enable you to remove the cover so you can access this area of the machine. He's instructed me to open this area and clean and oil it as much as I do the rest of the machine....oil every moving part. The new bearing cost me $79 in parts and labor....so hopefully this will help some of you other serger owners out there, too.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


8 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
BJ1400 said...
After reading this, I checked my serger. I was shocked how much lint & thread was inside there! Thanks for this very helpful tip.
5/4/08 4:42 PM
Evemarie said...
Maintenance is always cheaper and better than repair! :)
4/29/08 4:18 PM
Eider said...
Thanks so much, you may have kept me from having a service job on my machine . I went immediantly and checked my machine and wow, it was a mess also .
4/18/08 0:18 AM
jhansby said...
Maybe they omit it because they want you to have to pay for the repair later??? Who knows, but I'm glad to save you all $80 :)
4/17/08 5:10 PM
sewnow said...
I, too, wonder why they omitted that from the manual. I just cleaned and oiled mine on Sat.
4/17/08 12:59 PM
Tricia Plummer said...
Yikes! me too. I just cleaned and oiled mine last night. I wonder why they omitted that info from the manual?!
4/17/08 9:34 AM
petro said...
thanks for the tip, I'm going to have a look at mine now!
4/17/08 8:04 AM
anetJay said...
eek !!! thanks , good to know :) janet
4/17/08 4:52 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

SewBaby Travel High Chair Pattern

SewBaby Travel High Chair Pattern

Buy Now
PerfectFuse Sheer Black

PerfectFuse Sheer Black

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.