SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Tips & Techniques > Temporary and Portable Cutting Table

Viewed 5641 times
Posted by: SandraB
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About SandraB starstar
JAMAICA
Member since: 11/20/03
Reviews written: 74
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 26 people
tips added: 7
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 4/18/08 4:55 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   Very Helpful by 12 people   
Featured in the PR book!
My sewing room is really tiny, so I have no hopes of ever having a cutting table in there. However, I have been using two ironing boards placed one in front of the other, the pointed end of one standing behind the square end of the other. I put my large cutting mat on top of the two boards, and Voila!! A useful and temporary cutting table.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


9 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
MarthaA24 said...
That's a very interesting idea! I must say it has got me to thinking, much better than using the floor as I have generally done.
4/19/08 2:06 AM
AnitaJ said...
What an innovative idea!
4/19/08 3:43 AM
Stitchology said...
Interesting. May I ask why you have 2 ironing boards?
4/19/08 8:39 AM
SandraB said...
Stitchology, I have two ironing boards because I keep one in the laundry room for ironing laundry and one in my sewing room, exclusively for pressing while I sew. It is just easier this way, rather than moving one board back and forth.
4/19/08 8:47 AM
ladybegood said...
Good idea. This would also probably save my back from hunching over a too low cutting mat!
4/19/08 11:54 AM
bluefly said...
Great Idea! I can see sewers all over America setting up their ironing boards! I definitely will try it. I'll pick up a cheapo extra board somewhere.
4/19/08 1:12 PM
MissTaraTara said...
Great idea and easy on the pocketbook! Thanks
4/19/08 1:19 PM
dollieo said...
What a fabulous idea,you are a genius. Thank-you. Ican't wait to try it.
4/19/08 5:26 PM
julie w said...
I'm going to give this a go too, I also have two ironing boards! It beats fighting over the kitchen worktop.
4/23/08 0:19 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Stitch 'n' Flip Jacket Construction - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Stitch 'n' Flip Jacket Construction  - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Inventor Shirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop Inventor Shirt Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.