SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Temporary and Portable Cutting Table

Viewed 5797 times
Posted by: SandraB
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About SandraB starstar
JAMAICA
Member since: 11/20/03
Reviews written: 77
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 26 people
tips added: 7
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 4/18/08 4:55 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   Very Helpful by 12 people   
Featured in the PR book!
My sewing room is really tiny, so I have no hopes of ever having a cutting table in there. However, I have been using two ironing boards placed one in front of the other, the pointed end of one standing behind the square end of the other. I put my large cutting mat on top of the two boards, and Voila!! A useful and temporary cutting table.

<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


9 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
julie w said...
I'm going to give this a go too, I also have two ironing boards! It beats fighting over the kitchen worktop.
4/23/08 0:19 AM
dollieo said...
What a fabulous idea,you are a genius. Thank-you. Ican't wait to try it.
4/19/08 5:26 PM
MissTaraTara said...
Great idea and easy on the pocketbook! Thanks
4/19/08 1:19 PM
bluefly said...
Great Idea! I can see sewers all over America setting up their ironing boards! I definitely will try it. I'll pick up a cheapo extra board somewhere.
4/19/08 1:12 PM
ladybegood said...
Good idea. This would also probably save my back from hunching over a too low cutting mat!
4/19/08 11:54 AM
SandraB said...
Stitchology, I have two ironing boards because I keep one in the laundry room for ironing laundry and one in my sewing room, exclusively for pressing while I sew. It is just easier this way, rather than moving one board back and forth.
4/19/08 8:47 AM
Stitchology said...
Interesting. May I ask why you have 2 ironing boards?
4/19/08 8:39 AM
AnitaJ said...
What an innovative idea!
4/19/08 3:43 AM
MarthaA24 said...
That's a very interesting idea! I must say it has got me to thinking, much better than using the floor as I have generally done.
4/19/08 2:06 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Ultrasuede Jacket DVD

Ultrasuede Jacket DVD

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Designer Dress Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Designer Dress Shirt Pattern

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.