SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Panty crotch lining

Viewed 5534 times
Posted by: Gigi Louis
photo

 
 
About Gigi Louis starstarstarstar
Member since: 4/4/02
Reviews written: 78
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 251 people
tips added: 17
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 4/18/03 6:13 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   Very Helpful by 7 people   
While I was gathering my supplies to make Kwik-Sew 3167 I became so frustrated because I could only find cotton jersey for crotch lining in white. I knew that would look horrible with my red stretch lace! Yesterday it finally dawned on me that I have access to cotton jersey in any color I want right in my shop: T-shirts! I happened to have a 50/50 blend tee in my reject pile so I used that - I don't think it would matter whether it was 100% or a blend.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


6 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
SandraC said...
Gigi, great tip! I just purchased Wild Ginger's Curves program so I'll be using this tip right away. Sandra
4/19/03 3:09 PM
Shannon Gifford said...
Gigi, I have used the cotton t-shirts for lining myself, and even brought them for use in a lingerie sewing class I taught. It is a great solution! But it DOES matter whether it is 100% cotton or a blend.....you want the 100% cotton. The entire reason for using the cotton for the lining is to avoid the possibility of heat developing in the crotch area (sorry, can't be more delicate about this:)), which contributes to infections. Any of us who have had kidney, bladder, or yeast infections can tell you......no fun! I prefer to take the completely safe route and go with a totally cotton lining, even if it does not match the rest of the garment.
4/20/03 10:20 AM
Tessa said...
I usually make panties from cotton/lycra, and self-line the crotch. Cotton/lycra is about 95% cotton, and that seems fine. I wouldn't use 50/50 either, I agree with Shannon that comfort and health are more important than looks in this area!
4/28/03 12:45 PM
Gigi Louis said...
I've worn the pair of panties where I used a 50/50 blend several times now and saw no difference in comfort at all - there is possibly less difference when the panty body is made of a synthetic. Of course, anyone who has problems with infections should use 100% cotton - probably for the entire panty to be safe.
4/28/03 2:56 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Great tip Gigi - I had missed this when you posted it! Ann
2/28/06 4:46 PM
els said...
I use t-shirts too for crotch linings.
2/28/06 9:37 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Sew Chic Phantom Jacket and Pant Pattern (ln1106)

Sew Chic Phantom Jacket and Pant Pattern (ln1106)

Buy Now
Katy Bags

Katy Bags

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.