SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Tips & Techniques > Panty crotch lining

Viewed 5504 times
Posted by: Gigi Louis
photo

 
 
About Gigi Louis starstarstarstar
Member since: 4/4/02
Reviews written: 78
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 251 people
tips added: 17
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 4/18/03 6:13 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   Very Helpful by 7 people   
While I was gathering my supplies to make Kwik-Sew 3167 I became so frustrated because I could only find cotton jersey for crotch lining in white. I knew that would look horrible with my red stretch lace! Yesterday it finally dawned on me that I have access to cotton jersey in any color I want right in my shop: T-shirts! I happened to have a 50/50 blend tee in my reject pile so I used that - I don't think it would matter whether it was 100% or a blend.

<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


6 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
SandraC said...
Gigi, great tip! I just purchased Wild Ginger's Curves program so I'll be using this tip right away. Sandra
4/19/03 3:09 PM
Shannon Gifford said...
Gigi, I have used the cotton t-shirts for lining myself, and even brought them for use in a lingerie sewing class I taught. It is a great solution! But it DOES matter whether it is 100% cotton or a blend.....you want the 100% cotton. The entire reason for using the cotton for the lining is to avoid the possibility of heat developing in the crotch area (sorry, can't be more delicate about this:)), which contributes to infections. Any of us who have had kidney, bladder, or yeast infections can tell you......no fun! I prefer to take the completely safe route and go with a totally cotton lining, even if it does not match the rest of the garment.
4/20/03 10:20 AM
Tessa said...
I usually make panties from cotton/lycra, and self-line the crotch. Cotton/lycra is about 95% cotton, and that seems fine. I wouldn't use 50/50 either, I agree with Shannon that comfort and health are more important than looks in this area!
4/28/03 12:45 PM
Gigi Louis said...
I've worn the pair of panties where I used a 50/50 blend several times now and saw no difference in comfort at all - there is possibly less difference when the panty body is made of a synthetic. Of course, anyone who has problems with infections should use 100% cotton - probably for the entire panty to be safe.
4/28/03 2:56 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Great tip Gigi - I had missed this when you posted it! Ann
2/28/06 4:46 PM
els said...
I use t-shirts too for crotch linings.
2/28/06 9:37 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Sewing Workshop Equinox Jacket Pattern

Sewing Workshop Equinox Jacket Pattern

Buy Now
Petite Plus Patterns Easy Wrap Dress

Petite Plus Patterns Easy Wrap Dress

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.