SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Tips & Techniques > Threading your serger

Viewed 5312 times
Posted by: SandraB
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About SandraB starstar
JAMAICA
Member since: 11/20/03
Reviews written: 74
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 26 people
tips added: 7
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 4/24/08 11:45 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   Very Helpful by 11 people   
Web site/URL: photo
Sometimes threading your serger can be a bit of a challenge, especially if your hands are not too steady or your thread is not cooperating.

I use a dental floss threader to pass the thread through the loopers. You can find these in the dental floss and toothbrush section of your pharmacy. I have added a picture, just to remind you what threaders look like. You place your serger thread through the loop of the threader, and then poke the straight, stiff end of the threader through your looper and pull the thread through. This makes threading the serger so much easier.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


12 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
librarylady said...
Bless you for adding the picture of what I should be looking for! I was seriously puzzled.
4/24/08 7:01 PM
utz said...
Great tip! These things are really flexible; am going to give this a try.
4/25/08 8:29 AM
papago said...
Great idea Sandra!!
4/25/08 9:18 AM
abcameo said...
My tip is to buy a dental mirror to see where to put the needles when changing them out. You can buy also these at the drugstore.
4/25/08 10:05 AM
abcameo said...
My tip is to also buy a dental mirror to see where to put the needles when changing them out. You can buy also these at the drugstore.
4/25/08 10:06 AM
sixcatsterry said...
abcameo-thanks for the idea of a dental mirror. I am always rolling my machine onto its side to see where to put the needle. I have 5 separate position for needles. The dental mirror makes great sense now all I need is my serger home its getting a tune up.
4/25/08 10:58 AM
cindyann said...
Great idea!
4/26/08 11:35 AM
Pyrose said...
I just got braces recently and was given a pack of these for flossing. I soon discovered the flossers were perfect for threading wooly nylon through the loopers. I was going to post this tip myself, but you beat me to it. :-)
4/30/08 10:34 AM
SewTwin said...
Thanks for the post.I have been using these for years.Thought everyone already knew bout them..
4/30/08 10:14 PM
jupitermap said...
great idea especiallly for those of us who are over forty it s great for the myopic
5/3/08 5:58 AM
jupitermap said...
great idea for all of us over 40
5/12/08 10:07 AM
NITAP said...
i have been sewing over 50 years, and this tip is the best. thank you
5/17/08 0:54 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Wonder Wallet

Wonder Wallet

Buy Now
Lolita Patterns Gunmetal

Lolita Patterns Gunmetal

Buy Now

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.