SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Tips & Techniques > Threading your serger

Viewed 5339 times
Posted by: SandraB
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About SandraB starstar
JAMAICA
Member since: 11/20/03
Reviews written: 74
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 26 people
tips added: 7
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 4/24/08 11:45 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   Very Helpful by 11 people   
Web site/URL: photo
Sometimes threading your serger can be a bit of a challenge, especially if your hands are not too steady or your thread is not cooperating.

I use a dental floss threader to pass the thread through the loopers. You can find these in the dental floss and toothbrush section of your pharmacy. I have added a picture, just to remind you what threaders look like. You place your serger thread through the loop of the threader, and then poke the straight, stiff end of the threader through your looper and pull the thread through. This makes threading the serger so much easier.

<< Previous    Next >>

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


12 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
NITAP said...
i have been sewing over 50 years, and this tip is the best. thank you
5/17/08 0:54 AM
jupitermap said...
great idea for all of us over 40
5/12/08 10:07 AM
jupitermap said...
great idea especiallly for those of us who are over forty it s great for the myopic
5/3/08 5:58 AM
SewTwin said...
Thanks for the post.I have been using these for years.Thought everyone already knew bout them..
4/30/08 10:14 PM
Pyrose said...
I just got braces recently and was given a pack of these for flossing. I soon discovered the flossers were perfect for threading wooly nylon through the loopers. I was going to post this tip myself, but you beat me to it. :-)
4/30/08 10:34 AM
cindyann said...
Great idea!
4/26/08 11:35 AM
sixcatsterry said...
abcameo-thanks for the idea of a dental mirror. I am always rolling my machine onto its side to see where to put the needle. I have 5 separate position for needles. The dental mirror makes great sense now all I need is my serger home its getting a tune up.
4/25/08 10:58 AM
abcameo said...
My tip is to also buy a dental mirror to see where to put the needles when changing them out. You can buy also these at the drugstore.
4/25/08 10:06 AM
abcameo said...
My tip is to buy a dental mirror to see where to put the needles when changing them out. You can buy also these at the drugstore.
4/25/08 10:05 AM
papago said...
Great idea Sandra!!
4/25/08 9:18 AM
utz said...
Great tip! These things are really flexible; am going to give this a try.
4/25/08 8:29 AM
librarylady said...
Bless you for adding the picture of what I should be looking for! I was seriously puzzled.
4/24/08 7:01 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Class Details

Online Class
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Class Details

Summer Tote

Summer Tote

More Info
Petite Plus 604 Pattern

Petite Plus 604 Pattern

More Info

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.