SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Tips & Techniques > Crayola Fabric Markings

Viewed 5297 times
Posted by: Gelbean
photo

 
 
About Gelbean starstarstar
PA USA
Member since: 2/17/08
Reviews written: 125
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 31 people
tips added: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 4/29/08 6:08 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 5 people   Very Helpful by 25 people   
I have several different types of fabric marking pencils but I find that using my son's washable Crayola markers works well for marking all of those dots. It bleeds through the fabric so I only need to mark one side. It has washed out of every fabric I have used it on and it is something I have plenty of lying around the house. I've been relying on these for years.

ETA: To test the washability of the markers on your chosen fabric, simply make a mark on the selvage prior to prewashing. If for some reason it doesn't wash out, you have not ruined your fabric.

<< Previous    Next >>

Add Tip/Technique    Read All Tip/Techniques


15 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
crazycurlgirl said...
OMG I'm an art teacher! Why didn't I think of this! Thanks. you rock
5/20/10 4:34 PM
craftygamma said...
Great tip! I had some laying around for the grandkids, but now they are in my sewing room.
9/5/09 6:27 AM
strongnow said...
Yikes!! I mean "markers".
6/11/09 9:58 AM
strongnow said...
Thanks for the tip. I am going to get some of those washable Crayola makers.
6/11/09 9:51 AM
RobinMCPA said...
I will have to go out and get some of those markers now! Thanks!
7/31/08 8:10 AM
cactus jack said...
I tried using the crayola hard lead colored pencils. They wash out, but they are hard to mark on fabric, the lead seems to not be soft enough. I'll try the washable Crayola markers. Thanks for the tip.
7/30/08 2:03 PM
Lady Dragonfly said...
Thanks so much! Lots & lots of Crayola-brand products, but none actually say "Washable." I now will look for the words "Washable" written all over the box. Thank you, Linscree!
7/16/08 8:08 PM
frame said...
This is such a great idea and to test washability before prewashing fabric! Why did I never think to do that? This is like a tip in a tip! And I like both of them. Thanks. Lady Dragonfly, The washable markers say WASHABLE all over the box in big bold letters.
7/10/08 10:48 AM
TexasPat said...
I was wondering about these washable markers. I use them all the time for muslins; will start using on all washable fabrics (will test first). Thanks for writing this tip.
5/20/08 10:01 PM
Lady Dragonfly said...
Wow, great idea, GelBean! Yesterday I went to several stores looking at the muriad of Crayola markers, but I couldn't decide what exact product to buy; none stated "washable." At the risk of sounding dumb, would you please describe in more detail which Crayola markers I should purchase? Thanks a bunch in advance...
5/10/08 9:43 PM
kaitlin said...
I have found that the Crayola Brand works great but beware of generic washable markers. They don't all come out no matter what you do
5/5/08 5:30 PM
Josephine said...
Wow, the bleed-thru factor sounds great, and timesaving! I'll check these out. Thanks :-)
4/30/08 8:25 PM
granny geek said...
Great idea! I'll go out and get some very soon. I can think of lots of times I have needed just that. Thanks for the idea.
4/30/08 0:24 AM
Kim Winson said...
i bought a pack of these with this very thing in mind but stopped because I wasn't sure if they would truly wash out of every fabric. Thanks for the FYI!
4/29/08 11:35 PM
Sarah J Doyle said...
OUTSTANDING observation!! With 2 1/2 year old quadruplet grandbabies, and their older brother who is 3 1/2, I also have LOTS of those washable Crayola markers. These will be my new markers from now on. Thanks so much for the tip!
4/29/08 6:28 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Class Details

Online Class
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Class Details

Victoria Jones Collection Busy Diva Apron and Star Potholder

Victoria Jones Collection Busy Diva Apron and Star Potholder

More Info
PerfectFuseTailorUltra White

PerfectFuseTailorUltra White

More Info

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.