SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Expo Reviews > Creativ Festival

Ontario, CANADA
Viewed 5448 times
Posted by: hattrickmom
photo

 
 
About hattrickmom
Member since: 2/3/08
Reviews written: 1
Sewing skills:Beginner
expos reviewed: 1
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on: 4/29/08 6:12 PM
Rating: thumbsdown
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people   
Web site/URL: photo
I was quite excited about this "festival". This is from the webpage: "
your ticket to 'free'
seminars by artists, designers & tv hosts, industry expert how-to demos, mini hands-on workshops, make 'n take projects, interactive in-booth activities, creative industry trends, jewellery making & embellishment tips, fashion & couture sewing techniques, scrapbooking & paper arts how-tos, decorating & design ideas, dazzling & inspiring displays, and a chance to win exciting door prizes"

I went on two different days, Friday and Saturday. I only saw two make 'n take projects. Many of the booths look as though they had seen one trade show too many. I was expecting fresh and new ideas; but all I saw were tired and stale projects and vendors. I love all crafts...I couldn't find anything of interest! I was hoping for new yarn, fabric, patterns, ideas...anything.

I drove from Michigan by myself (my friend was unable to come at the last minute). So, for $120 hotel/night, $63 to fill up my van, and $30 for tickets, I could have gotten some nice yarn and stayed home.



<< Previous    Next >>

Add Sewing Expo Review    Read All Sewing Expo Reviews


6 Comments
Login to Add a Comment
boppingbeth said...
I've been to every Needlework festival since it opened, and I have to agree with your assessment (sadly, I might add). This has been my show of preference for years; I can bring my girls and they get GREAT seminars. This year, we didn't even go for day three (a first, I might add!). No Wild ginger or cochenille. Mostly quilting booths for fabric, although Linda's booth was nice. Lots of scrapbooking, not a lot of sewing that inspired me. It was depressing, to be honest. And, I did spend money--but on books and very little fabric. But, it didn't inspire me to get back to sewing and create the way other years have.
5/18/08 12:46 PM
hattrickmom said...
Thanks to you Canadians who responded...no apologies necessary! I think the organizers of these type of Expos just get in a rut and keep having the same vendors every year. We have an Art Festival here in Rochester Hills, MI, that you actually have to apply and qualify to get in! That would really bring in some fresh ideas and great talent! Thanks, also, to SewTwin in Texas...we'll be seeing you in the Western Conference Final of the Stanley Cup Playoffs!
5/5/08 12:15 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
Jeepers!! We have so much LESS going on here in Canada--it's especially important that any event be top-notch!! Apologies from this Canadian...
5/4/08 8:55 PM
carolynw said...
I am so sorry you travelled all that way for such a disappointing show. It used to be that this show was held only in the Fall and had good speakers, lectures and classes. Then the idea came up to have it twice and unfortunately this has not been very successful and has also detracted from the Fall show. I and many other fellow Ontarions no longer attend but here's hoping you will give us another chance and attend some other sewing expo in Canada
5/3/08 11:02 AM
Monique said...
I myself went to that April 2008 CreativFestival in Ontario for the first time and I must admit that I was actually expecting much more. I thought that you could see at such an event a lot of different types of fabric to choose from at great prices, new notions, buttons, sewing lamps, cabinets, etc... I had travelled from Montreal and came back a bit disappointed. I did attend some of the workshops and there was one that I really liked. It was on the subject of shirts with the Islander system. I doubt I'll be going again.
5/2/08 1:37 PM
SewTwin said...
Bummer! I went to one almost that bad in San Antonio, TX; but the next year was better. It is sad there are so few exhibits in smaller towns. Fortunately, I live close to the Houston International Quilt festival.Even though it is the biggest in the world, it hasn't changed that much in the last several years..Suggest to PM another member that has been to that Expo to find out if it has been "worthwhile"!..Good Luck!!...
5/2/08 0:24 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Class Details

Online Class
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Class Details

Christine Jonson Wrap Top

Christine Jonson Wrap Top

More Info
Sewing Workshop Now & Zen Shirts Pattern

Sewing Workshop Now & Zen Shirts Pattern

More Info

Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Shipping Rates | Returns & Refunds | Contact Us | About | New To PR | Advertising

Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.